We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful rooms, attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful rooms, attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We were sorry to leave our room after three nights. Lovely, comfortable room, bathrobes and slippers, free bikes, delicious breakfasts, and a staff that went out of their way in every way. It really felt like home, only better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bistroparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    111
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
97
295
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The location is perfect for spending time in Lucca and for exploring nearby towns by car. The hotel staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly. Our room was large and spacious. The hotel is literally within the walls of Lucca, which is a great town for walking around. We also explored surrounding towns in the Tuscany area from here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennik
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I was hesitating to book a hotel in Pisa, San Giuliano di Terme or Lucca...boy am I happy that I went for the San Luca Palace hotel in Lucca!

Our experiences are as following:

Positive items:

+ great location (within the city walls of Lucca and with easy parking posibilities close by)
+ private parking of the hotel (15EUR per day at this moment of writing)
+ friendly staff in general
+ big rooms with all the necessary facilities
+ nice breakfast buffet including bottle of prosecco
+ clean property in general
+ very nice lounge area
+ excellent sleep quality! (we heared almost no noise with all windows closed)
+ superb check-out, the guy at the reception promptly helped us with our luggage and put it even in our car+++++

Some negative items:

- check-in missed some personality...the lady was not overfriendly and gave no explanation about the breakfast, bar, lounge, ... nothing!
- no water boiler available

All in all the San Luca Palace Hotel is a higly recommended hotel and Lucca is such a wonderful small city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We found this gem on trip advisor and all of the reviews are spot on. I would recommend this hotel and town as a place to see in Italy. We stayed 5 nights and used as our central location for Florence, Pisa, Cinque Terre and winery stops . The staff was amazing and very attentive. Breakfast included in the morning with cappuccinos... Happy hour with snacks.... Bikes to ride on top of the wall and the rooms were really nice size and very clean. Thank you for the best stay ever can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessie0989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

My husband and I spent one night in Lucca during our anniversary trip to Italy. Although the hotel was a bit hard for us to find with our car GPS and we probably broke some laws regarding driving in pedestrian only zones trying to find it, it was well worth the trip. The location right next to the walls and on the "main drag" of lucca could not have been better. We had an enormous room with a window overlooking via San Paolino. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was very large especially for European standards. There are lovely rooms on the main floor of the hotel to sit and have a drink. We took advantage of their happy hour and had a lovely drink at the outside patio of the hotel's bar. The staff was extremely helpful and gave us great recommendations on where to eat. Top notch service.

Room Tip: Get a room that overlooks the street, fun to people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lologeorge69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our favorite hotel during our trip to Italy. Very large and nicely decorated room with all amenities. We asked for a quiet room and the room we were given fitted the bill perfectly. Very friendly and helpful staff who gave us great recommendations for restaurants in Lucca and assisted us with forward travel arrangements. The breakfast was the best we encountered in Italy. You will not be disappointed if you choose this hotel and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Very well placed with the most helpful staff who went out of their way to provide us with all the information we needed, including train times. We stayed there for 14 days and really enjoyed it, including its excellent breakfast.

Room Tip: If you go to Lucca be aware of the location of the train and bus stations, and where their destinati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.4 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Property: San Luca Palace Hotel
Address: Via San Paolino 103, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#2 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing