We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wine and food”
Review of Fattoria al Dotto

Fattoria al Dotto
Ranked #1 of 154 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're the closest winery to the walls of Lucca (4.5KM) & are a small family run winery producing our own grapes for structured wines, as well as olive oil, which can be purchased in the Cantina or shipped internationally since 2005. We grow and pick the grapes as well as produce the wines all within 1 KM ( .6 miles) of the winery. We invite you to taste our wines (2 whites - Vermentino & a Vermentino with 5% semillon, a Rose' & 5 reds - (San Giovese, Merlot & Syrah - in purity, a blend of the 3 & a "Lucchese Chianti") which are each paired with excellent foods produced locally. Feel free to visit us & learn more about our fantastic wines & their production. We are open Monday-Saturday (1630-2000) for tastings. Closed on Sundays. Also closed the following Italian holidays: Jan 1, 6, Easter Sunday & Easter Monday, Apr 25, May 1, Jun 2, Aug 15, Nov 1, Dec 8, 25 & 26. Large groups feel free to contact us for prices and hours. Contact us for any questions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We booked an evening based on TripAdvisor's rating and weren't really sure what to expect.

We had a fantastic evening full of wine and excellent food. 6 wines, numerous meats, salad and cheese. What more could you want?

It's extremely relaxed and you'll feel at home right away.

Highly recommended

Also, the views are also spectacular.

Thank Domm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Domm N,

Thank you for coming by and enjoying our wines, it was a true pleasure meeting everyone and more laughs then I remember in a long time. Have a great trip back and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 17 reviews
"wine home"
in 3 reviews
"food pairings"
in 3 reviews
"wine making process"
in 3 reviews
"the cantina"
in 2 reviews
"designated driver"
in 2 reviews
"host mark"
in 2 reviews
"winery experience"
in 2 reviews
"chestnut honey"
in 2 reviews
"spent three hours"
in 2 reviews
"cold cuts"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 2 reviews
"eating and drinking"
in 2 reviews
"informative tour"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2018

My wife, brother-in-law, sister-in-law and myself went to this small winery and had an absolutely great time. If you drive, allow yourself extra time to get to and find the winery as the winding country roads and beautiful views will slow you down. We were about two hours late for our tasting and Mark and the staff took it in stride and made us feel welcome. We upgraded to the 6 wine tasting and we were not disappointed. They brought out the first two wines, a rose and a white, with a salad and toast with salmon, which was delicious. Then they brought out a couple of reds and a large meat plate of salamis, proscuitto, mortidella, soprissata, and others. I don't like salami but the salamis and meats were absolutely delicious. With the final two wines they brought out a large platter of bread pieces that had spreads of olive, raddichio/mayo, mushroom, beef and vegetable. They also brought out a cheese tray with a chestnut honey, which is harvested on the winery. All of the produce and meats are from local farms. I'm probably missing something and have something out of order but just be aware that you will have a great time with great food and great wine. We received a very informative tour where the wine making process was described that I enjoyed a good bit. By the time the evening was done, Mark and Vittorio had made us feel like family. I would have liked to see the vines up close and see how they work with the vines, which they may do, but it was late by the time we got there and it got dark.
there and it got dark on us.

1  Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Harry H,

Thanks for coming out and spending the afternoon evening with us. Had we known you did not like salami we may have been able to provide another option for you to make your evening even better. Next time I guess right? Next time you come out, although now you know where we’re at, bring your GPS and plug in our coordinates which are on the website and I’ll take you right to the parking lot. . Again we look forward to your next visit and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Time slows down here. The service is haphazard, the hosts are extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you. Vittorio and his family lovingly explain their wines to you as they serve.

They provide simple fresh food while you sit and enjoy the wonderful view across the valley.

This is definitely a must if you are anywhere near Lucca.

Thank dewitteseep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

dewitteseep,

Thank you for coming out and allowing us to serve your wines. Hopefully the wines made up for the service and we look forward to your next visit which hopefully will be soon.

Thank you again and have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

My husband, son, daughter in law and myself visited during our stay in Lucca. Short taxi ride or bus ride from Lucca. We found Mark and Vittorio to be so nice and open about sharing their family history as well as the wine making process. The wines they produce are hand crafted and delicious! Mark gave us a tour and answered all of our questions and explained all about the grapes they have and the history of their land. Vittorio made us delicious local foods to pair with the wines. This experience topped any organized tour in the area. We loved Fattoria al Dotto and shipped some wine home to enjoy after our trip is over!

Thank susanking39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Susanking39,

Thanks for coming out & enjoying our wines. Please come back anytime & visit with your fabulous family... until then safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

Set in the beautiful mountains overlooking Lucca, this unassuming vineyard sits among a magnificent backdrop of lush green tress and cultivated vines. There is ample parking for those adventurous enough to drive here, but to the uninitiated the picturesque mountain roads are very narrow with few pass points in places, so take a cab if you're a nervous driver. Its about 15 mins from Lucca, or 40 mins from Forte dei Marmi, where we stayed. Once you arrive you make your way to the rear of the Cantina which opens out into a marquee covered dining area overlooking the mountains on all sides. The main house is a little further down the hillside from the cantina and is where the family live and work from. Mark (Marco) greeted us and to our surprise, had an American accent coupled with all the Italian charm. His family are Italian and he grew up in the US. The story of how he and his family came to live at the vineyard is told by numerous family members who join you at your table as the afternoon progresses. The talk is married with a tour of the organic wine making machinery whilst work goes on around you. The wine tasting was unlike any I have ever experienced. €60 paid for a three course lunch and six wines. When I say six wines, you are given the whole bottle and can drink as much or as little as you wish! With each wine comes a commentary on the grape(s), year and how best to serve it with the food being delivered to your table to complement the wines being tried. We tired a Rosé, a white and four reds, which were all very good and with the most expensive coming in a €10 a bottle before bulk buy discount, this was excellent value too. This is a whole afternoon experience where you will feel like you have been invited by the family to join them for lunch and drinks. Very personal and very informative, with a wonderful welcome and hospitality and some great wine to boot. If you are looking for a wine tasting experience, look no further. Truly wonderful.

Thank SteveHart5422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

SteveHart5422,

Wow! Thank you for the great review & spending the afternoon/evening with us! We truly enjoyed your visit & look forward to talking more next time around! You would not believe the request I received today but I’ll give you a clue... it involved the request your GF had for the winery for another Brit couple! How coincidental!
Again... it was great having you visit & we look forward to seeing you soon...

be safe brotha!! (Secret UK Marine/USAF handshake. :-) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fattoria al Dotto also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Fattoria al Dotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing