We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute must-do when in Tuscany!”
Review of Fattoria al Dotto

Fattoria al Dotto
Ranked #1 of 126 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're the closest winery to the walls of Lucca (4.5KM) & are a small family run winery producing our own grapes for structured wines, as well as olive oil, which can be purchased in the Cantina or shipped internationally since 2005. We grow and pick the grapes as well as produce the wines all within 1 KM ( .6 miles) of the winery. We invite you to taste our wines (2 whites - Vermentino & a Vermentino with 5% semillon, a Rose' & 5 reds - (San Giovese, Merlot & Syrah - in purity, a blend of the 3 & a "Lucchese Chianti") which are each paired with excellent foods produced locally. Feel free to visit us & learn more about our fantastic wines & their production. We are open Monday-Saturday (1630-2000) for tastings. Closed on Sundays. Also closed the following Italian holidays: Jan 1, 6, Easter Sunday & Easter Monday, Apr 25, May 1, Jun 2, Aug 15, Nov 1, Dec 8, 25 & 26. Large groups feel free to contact us for prices and hours. Contact us for any questions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 25 May 2018

After reading past reviews, I knew I had to book this for my family of 8 during our recent trip to the Tuscany region. Mark was always very quick to respond and was extremely helpful with information. About a week before our trip, we had to change the date of our visit to the winery and, once again, Mark was very accommodating.

We traveled around Tuscany in a van, so I cannot speak to getting to the winery via taxi or bus. Driving in Italy is quite different from the United States and it definitely took a couple of days to adjust. I highly recommend using Google Maps over Via Michelin. We had absolutely no problem getting to the winery from the center of Lucca or getting back to our hotel using Google maps. The winery/cantina itself has ample parking.

Once we arrived, we were quickly greeted by Mark and Vittorio, and in short order were given chips and a delish glass of rose. Unfortunately, it was raining the day of our visit, but the views cannot be beat, absolutely gorgeous! They also have a large and beautiful area for outside seating and I hope on my next visit I'm able to enjoy the outdoor area and spectacular views on a sunny day!

Mark took us on a tour of the winery and production facilities, which was very informative! We were all astounded at the labor of love put into this winery and their product. They truly have a passion for wine and put in an enormous amount of manual labor for their craft.

Once the tour concluded, we headed to an upstairs seating area where tables were beautifully set, then the true highlights of the evening began! We had one of the best meals of our Italian adventure, everything was beautifully presented and extremely fresh. If memory serves, we had salmon on crostini with salad, large platters of meat, cheeses, spreads, etc., honey and cheese, and so much more. Needless to say, we did not leave hungry! Vittorio and Mark did a fabulous job explaining the pairings of wine and food. If you've done wine tastings or wine/food pairings before, this will not disappoint. Everything is paired to perfection and every single wine was divine!

There are a few people in our group who do not drink and/or do not like wine and they raved about this experience. They said it was one of the best meals and experiences they had while in Italy and would come back in a heartbeat.

In sum, if you are in the area, absolutely come to Fattoria al Dotto! I highly recommend doing the 30 euro option which gets you 6 wines and food pairings - it's an amazing deal and you will not be disappointed! I also recommend emailing Mark ahead of time to double check hours and availability, and also to reserve a spot for your group. Lastly, make sure to set aside a good 4-5 hours for your visit...again, you will not be disappointed!

Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Courtney S,

Wow! You wrote a book! Thanks! It was truly great meeting you & the family.. Thank you for allowing us to serve you our wines & we hope to see you back soon. Be safe & have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"wine tasting"
in 28 reviews
"food pairings"
in 4 reviews
"tasting experience"
in 3 reviews
"cold cuts"
in 3 reviews
"the cantina"
in 2 reviews
"were welcomed with open arms"
in 2 reviews
"shipped home"
in 2 reviews
"host mark"
in 2 reviews
"chestnut honey"
in 2 reviews
"spent three hours"
in 2 reviews
"excellent wine"
in 3 reviews
"amazing evening"
in 2 reviews
"wine making"
in 3 reviews
"informative tour"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 2 reviews
"prosciutto"
in 3 reviews
"few hours"
in 4 reviews
Filter

71 - 75 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

Our family was in Tuscany and one of us saw this come up, so we added it to our trip itinerary, and we are so glad we did.
Mark gave us our tour and was funny and educational. We found out he grew up in Kenosa WI. We are from Green Bay. How ironic! Small world.
It was raining, so we were unable to tour the vineyard, but we don't feel bad. The views made up for it.
Then we went inside to begin the tasting with food pairings. The presentation of the food (of which there was plenty) was beautiful. We even took pictures of our plates. Also, it was delicious!! Locally sourced foods served fresh, who can do better than that?
It was done in true European style, slowly and with 5 courses. They did not rush us out at the end of the evening. We were there for 5 hours.
I don't drink and was the designated driver. However, Mark offered to order taxis for those who needed it.
I would recommend this! A great time for anyone.

Thank kimhgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Kimhgb,

Thanks for coming out and spending the afternoon/evening with us. It was great getting to know you guys & hopefully the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to your next visit so come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We booked an evening based on TripAdvisor's rating and weren't really sure what to expect.

We had a fantastic evening full of wine and excellent food. 6 wines, numerous meats, salad and cheese. What more could you want?

It's extremely relaxed and you'll feel at home right away.

Highly recommended

Also, the views are also spectacular.

Thank Domm N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2018

Domm N,

Thank you for coming by and enjoying our wines, it was a true pleasure meeting everyone and more laughs then I remember in a long time. Have a great trip back and hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

My wife, brother-in-law, sister-in-law and myself went to this small winery and had an absolutely great time. If you drive, allow yourself extra time to get to and find the winery as the winding country roads and beautiful views will slow you down. We were about two hours late for our tasting and Mark and the staff took it in stride and made us feel welcome. We upgraded to the 6 wine tasting and we were not disappointed. They brought out the first two wines, a rose and a white, with a salad and toast with salmon, which was delicious. Then they brought out a couple of reds and a large meat plate of salamis, proscuitto, mortidella, soprissata, and others. I don't like salami but the salamis and meats were absolutely delicious. With the final two wines they brought out a large platter of bread pieces that had spreads of olive, raddichio/mayo, mushroom, beef and vegetable. They also brought out a cheese tray with a chestnut honey, which is harvested on the winery. All of the produce and meats are from local farms. I'm probably missing something and have something out of order but just be aware that you will have a great time with great food and great wine. We received a very informative tour where the wine making process was described that I enjoyed a good bit. By the time the evening was done, Mark and Vittorio had made us feel like family. I would have liked to see the vines up close and see how they work with the vines, which they may do, but it was late by the time we got there and it got dark.
there and it got dark on us.

1  Thank hhambrick813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2018

Harry H,

Thanks for coming out and spending the afternoon evening with us. Had we known you did not like salami we may have been able to provide another option for you to make your evening even better. Next time I guess right? Next time you come out, although now you know where we’re at, bring your GPS and plug in our coordinates which are on the website and I’ll take you right to the parking lot. . Again we look forward to your next visit and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2018 via mobile

Time slows down here. The service is haphazard, the hosts are extremely friendly and cannot do enough for you. Vittorio and his family lovingly explain their wines to you as they serve.

They provide simple fresh food while you sit and enjoy the wonderful view across the valley.

This is definitely a must if you are anywhere near Lucca.

Thank dewitteseep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2018

dewitteseep,

Thank you for coming out and allowing us to serve your wines. Hopefully the wines made up for the service and we look forward to your next visit which hopefully will be soon.

Thank you again and have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fattoria al Dotto also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Fattoria al Dotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing