We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Highlight of my Holiday”
Review of Fattoria al Dotto

Fattoria al Dotto
Ranked #1 of 153 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: We're the closest winery to the walls of Lucca (4.5KM) & are a small family run winery producing our own grapes for structured wines, as well as olive oil, which can be purchased in the Cantina or shipped internationally since 2005. We grow and pick the grapes as well as produce the wines all within 1 KM ( .6 miles) of the winery. We invite you to taste our wines (2 whites - Vermentino & a Vermentino with 5% semillon, a Rose' & 5 reds - (San Giovese, Merlot & Syrah - in purity, a blend of the 3 & a "Lucchese Chianti") which are each paired with excellent foods produced locally. Feel free to visit us & learn more about our fantastic wines & their production. We are open Monday-Saturday (1630-2000) for tastings. Closed on Sundays. Also closed the following Italian holidays: Jan 1, 6, Easter Sunday & Easter Monday, Apr 25, May 1, Jun 2, Aug 15, Nov 1, Dec 8, 25 & 26. Large groups feel free to contact us for prices and hours. Contact us for any questions.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went here on our last night. We emailed that morning requesting a tasting with 6 wines and they got back to us quickly! (Their website has the tasting booking form). We got the bus along, to find a stunning view from our table of the hills, villages, and vineyards at sunset. The view alone made the evening perfect. The food and wine however made it UNFORGETTABLE. Each plate of locally sourced food was amazing and paired perfectly with their delicious wines. We got a tour of their family owned winery and my biggest regret is that I didn't have a checked suitcase to bring some of their wine home. Would recommended this unique experience to anyone visiting Lucca or Tuscany in general.

Thank wee_sophs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

wee_sophs,

THANKS! for the great review & spending time with us in the winery. we look forward to seeing you back soon & remember that we do ship, in case you are needing our wines ;~)

safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"delicious wine"
in 5 reviews
"wine home"
in 3 reviews
"the cantina"
in 2 reviews
"food pairings"
in 2 reviews
"rosé"
in 2 reviews
"host mark"
in 2 reviews
"spent three hours"
in 2 reviews
"winery experience"
in 2 reviews
"wine making process"
in 2 reviews
"wine tasting experience"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 2 reviews
"eating and drinking"
in 2 reviews
"informative tour"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"rainy day"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"prosciutto"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful setting, good wines, but most of all, we felt extremely welcome, and had great fun here. We enjoyed the positive energy, as other guests around us were also enjoying themselves. Price was extremely reasonable.The pours were double/triple the standard tasting pour. We were getting a full glass of wine with each taste. The food was good and plenty. We could not finished all the food that were brought to us. its definitely a great place to relax, enjoy each other over good wine, and beautiful Tuscany scenery. Thank you to the owners for being friendly, accommodating, and respectful. We will definitely come back....

Thank heninfinity23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

heninfinity23,

Thanks for coming out & enjoying the wine. So glad you were comfortable with us & we look forward to your next visit.
Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My sister, brother in law, husband and I celebrated our anniversaries together at the winery yesterday, chosen due to amazing TripAdvisor reviews. We definitely had high expectations because of the reviews, but we were still blown away by the wonderful family atmosphere, welcoming staff, priceless views and of course, amazing wines and food. Make sure you arrive hungry and hydrated!! Mark is extremely knowledgeable and fun, and Vittorio spent personal time telling us about the history and his life on the vineyard. We felt like we were personal guests and part of the family. We had an absolute blast!!! Thank you for an amazing visit Vittorio and Mark!! And Vittorio, send us a Snapchat video!!! Hahahaaa!

Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Kristen B,

it was our absolute pleasure having you, your husband as well as your sister & her husband spend the evening with us. You guys were great & hilarious!. Remember to let us know as soon as possible for your next trip & we'll see what we can do to get you guys closer to the winery!

have a great rest of your vacation & be safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading past reviews, I knew I had to book this for my family of 8 during our recent trip to the Tuscany region. Mark was always very quick to respond and was extremely helpful with information. About a week before our trip, we had to change the date of our visit to the winery and, once again, Mark was very accommodating.

We traveled around Tuscany in a van, so I cannot speak to getting to the winery via taxi or bus. Driving in Italy is quite different from the United States and it definitely took a couple of days to adjust. I highly recommend using Google Maps over Via Michelin. We had absolutely no problem getting to the winery from the center of Lucca or getting back to our hotel using Google maps. The winery/cantina itself has ample parking.

Once we arrived, we were quickly greeted by Mark and Vittorio, and in short order were given chips and a delish glass of rose. Unfortunately, it was raining the day of our visit, but the views cannot be beat, absolutely gorgeous! They also have a large and beautiful area for outside seating and I hope on my next visit I'm able to enjoy the outdoor area and spectacular views on a sunny day!

Mark took us on a tour of the winery and production facilities, which was very informative! We were all astounded at the labor of love put into this winery and their product. They truly have a passion for wine and put in an enormous amount of manual labor for their craft.

Once the tour concluded, we headed to an upstairs seating area where tables were beautifully set, then the true highlights of the evening began! We had one of the best meals of our Italian adventure, everything was beautifully presented and extremely fresh. If memory serves, we had salmon on crostini with salad, large platters of meat, cheeses, spreads, etc., honey and cheese, and so much more. Needless to say, we did not leave hungry! Vittorio and Mark did a fabulous job explaining the pairings of wine and food. If you've done wine tastings or wine/food pairings before, this will not disappoint. Everything is paired to perfection and every single wine was divine!

There are a few people in our group who do not drink and/or do not like wine and they raved about this experience. They said it was one of the best meals and experiences they had while in Italy and would come back in a heartbeat.

In sum, if you are in the area, absolutely come to Fattoria al Dotto! I highly recommend doing the 30 euro option which gets you 6 wines and food pairings - it's an amazing deal and you will not be disappointed! I also recommend emailing Mark ahead of time to double check hours and availability, and also to reserve a spot for your group. Lastly, make sure to set aside a good 4-5 hours for your visit...again, you will not be disappointed!

Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Courtney S,

Wow! You wrote a book! Thanks! It was truly great meeting you & the family.. Thank you for allowing us to serve you our wines & we hope to see you back soon. Be safe & have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family was in Tuscany and one of us saw this come up, so we added it to our trip itinerary, and we are so glad we did.
Mark gave us our tour and was funny and educational. We found out he grew up in Kenosa WI. We are from Green Bay. How ironic! Small world.
It was raining, so we were unable to tour the vineyard, but we don't feel bad. The views made up for it.
Then we went inside to begin the tasting with food pairings. The presentation of the food (of which there was plenty) was beautiful. We even took pictures of our plates. Also, it was delicious!! Locally sourced foods served fresh, who can do better than that?
It was done in true European style, slowly and with 5 courses. They did not rush us out at the end of the evening. We were there for 5 hours.
I don't drink and was the designated driver. However, Mark offered to order taxis for those who needed it.
I would recommend this! A great time for anyone.

Thank kimhgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M F, Director of Sales at Fattoria al Dotto, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kimhgb,

Thanks for coming out and spending the afternoon/evening with us. It was great getting to know you guys & hopefully the rest of your trip went well. We look forward to your next visit so come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fattoria al Dotto also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Fattoria al Dotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing