We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent situation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helvetia
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent situation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is unbelievably close to the tower and surrounding attractions. It was charming as was the owner who greeted us on our arrival at nearly midnight and advised us to go round to see the tower immediately while it was quiet. Great advice. The tower, duomo etc were illuminated and looked so beautiful in the clear night. It was much busier the following day! I would recommend this lovely hotel for situation and for friendliness

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasa5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    194
    77
    28
    6
See reviews for
76
161
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

You can't get any closer to the Tower of Pisa! This place is not fancy - and would be rated at a 1 start hotel, but is clean and the people running it are very nice and helpful. It is literally right around the corner from the Tower! Rooms are very tiny, but so are all of the rooms in Europe! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick the lowest floor you can since there are no elevators! No air conditioning so I wouldn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMKoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Helpful staff here, nice enough room and bathroom. The key point is location - it's just yards from the tower, baptistery etc. Consequently you can allow about 1 minute from bedroom to those key sites, and you're near lots of good bars, restaurants, gelateria etc. Job done.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We had a huge delay problem with our flight so we weren't able to arrive at checking time. We arrived next day to cancel the reservation and hotel staff was amazingly kind and nice. They accepted this late cancellation with no cost. That speaks really well about the kind of people they are. Congratulations! Thanks a lot!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
435 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very basic hotel, no breakfast. Nicely decorated with wall paintings. Bed matrass a bit to soft for me. Private bathroom, no frills. Friendly staff. Only 5 minutes walking to the tower.
Would return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A simple and comfortable base from which to explore the local area. Very well located, close to the tower and train station. The staff were really friendly and spoke good English. They also had some lovely cats :-) We stayed for 8 nights for a very reasonable price. We had an en-suite bathroom with shower that worked very well, and the room was kept clean throughout our stay, with fresh towels etc. All in all a very pleasant experience, and would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

I stayed at this pensione for 5 nights in room 27 (at the top floor). The room was clean, spacious, with an amazing view. If you stayed in the bed you could see out the window the beautiful view with palms and blue sky.
The towels were changed every day and the sheets were changed after two nights. In the bathroom we had shampoo and soap.
On the first night we had a little problem: the bed was making a weird sound (it was made from metal and it was squeaking at every move). Unfortunately we could not sleep very well. But the next day we talked to the owners and they immediately changed our bed. They were very friendly and gave us information were to eat good local food.
The pensione is very near to the Tower of Pisa and in a good neighborhood. A bit noisy but it was not a problem for us.
An important information would be that it does not have a elevator and if you are an elderly person or you have a big luggage you may have a problem if you are on the top floor. Nevertheless the owner helps you with carrying your luggage in case you need it.
I truly recommend this beautiful pensione!

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for the view and for the windows. The windows from top floor are upgraded an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bianca_Gruia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Property: Helvetia
Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing