We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic hidden gem right by the tower” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Helvetia
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Basic hidden gem right by the tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staying at this hotel currently and very pleased so far. 2 min walk to the tower and plenty of restaurants. Yes it is basic but for a few nights and the price, I think its great value.

Tip - we arranged to be picked up from the airport by the taxi company suggested by the hotel. They didn't turn up so after waiting for 40 mins we got a taxi from the stand outside and it was nearly half what we had planned to pay the other taxi company (around 11 euros)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boos_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    191
    76
    28
    6
See reviews for
75
159
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for a short stay, good price/quality. It has an excellent location about five minute walk to Pisa tower & monuments. If you want more comfort or extensive choice, I recommend you a other hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki Cutts W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel Albergo Helvetia is only 2 minutes walk from the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It's in a very quiet location. Reception staff were both very nice and helpful speaking very good English. I stayed twice at the hotel at the beginning and end of my 10 day stay in Italy. Both rooms 25 and 16 were beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The tv was nice and large and had approx. 100 channels. Unfortunately none were English speaking. The shower in room 25 was nice and simple to operate and there was a powerful supply of water. ( Room 16 did not have a shower or toilet - these were just along the corridor - also very clean and worked well ) The bed was very comfortable. The view from room 25 was superb. Room 16 has a view of the hotel courtyard and other rooms. Room 25 is on the 4th floor and room 16 on the third. There is no lift so people with mobility problems would find it difficult walking up the stairs.
The hotel does NOT do breakfasts. After staying in Florence and having a poxy continental breakfast I found this to be a blessing in disguise. I popped around the corner to a café and had a very good Full English breakfast when I wanted it.
This is a lovely hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 25 on the 4th floor has a great view, is very quiet and is on-suite. Room 16 on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were only in Pisa for the weekend, so we needed somewhere central and reasonably priced - this place certainly fit the bill! The room was pleasant and clean and the staff were indeed welcoming, friendly and helpful with any questions we had about the hotel or anything else!
We had a triple room with two of us staying as there were no doubles with bathroom available when I booked, but still the room was good value. There was very little room in the in the shower, and there is only the basics provided in the room -no hairdryer or glasses for water and etc, (although free wifi throughout!), but I really liked it here. It's right in the thick of it, and I didn't miss not being able to get food at the hotel being surrounded by other lovely restaurants and bakeries to pick up a fresh pastry for breakfast! You don't have to go far to get away from the restaurants which take advantage of their position next to the tower, we found lovely, quiet, 'local' restaurants just round the corner (in the other direction from the tower) which boast 'no pizzas' outside! I'd definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel was simply fabulous. We got there at 10:30 am and they let us check in since the room was ready! We were able to roll right up and nap, which was necessary after an early train!

The room had a sink and mirror, which was nice. The bathroom was on the floor above us, which was a little pain but we were only there one night and I never had a problem getting into the bathroom when necessary. But as a contact wearer I had to ensure glasses were nearby in bed. The positive about the bathroom was the shower was separate so you didn't have to worry about waiting for people who were showering.

The hotel is literally around the block from the whole downtown square. We walked to the area early and again at night. Then on our way to the train station early the next day!

We truly enjoyed our stay here as it was perfect for a day trip in Pisa!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dmama1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is unbelievably close to the tower and surrounding attractions. It was charming as was the owner who greeted us on our arrival at nearly midnight and advised us to go round to see the tower immediately while it was quiet. Great advice. The tower, duomo etc were illuminated and looked so beautiful in the clear night. It was much busier the following day! I would recommend this lovely hotel for situation and for friendliness

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jasa5758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

You can't get any closer to the Tower of Pisa! This place is not fancy - and would be rated at a 1 start hotel, but is clean and the people running it are very nice and helpful. It is literally right around the corner from the Tower! Rooms are very tiny, but so are all of the rooms in Europe! Enjoy!

Room Tip: Pick the lowest floor you can since there are no elevators! No air conditioning so I wouldn't g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMKoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,574 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Property: Helvetia
Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing