We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Helvetia
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after a late plane arrival at Pisa. It was a good choice - clean, quiet, comfortable and a great location (2 minutes) for a walk around the Duomo complex (and the tower!) next morning. Very cheap for such a nice first floor room which looked like it had been refurbished recently. No breakfast but you can find a coffee and pastry at one of the many coffee shops close by. A useful tip is local bus 21 from the airport goes straight to the gateway near the Baptistry and the hotel is a maximum 10 minute walk from there. It's a half-hour walk from the station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dedaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    194
    77
    28
    6
See reviews for
76
161
39
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Gorge, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

This small yet efficient hotel is perfect for a 1 night stay. It offers a patio open till 11 and a sitting room w vending machines and big screen tv as well as a take a book leave a book stack in many languages. Our room was small, but had large bed, wardrobe, end table flat screen and ceiling fan. We opted for a bathroom in our room, again it was small with sink, shower and bidet but better than having to share. We basically slept there, showered in the AM and left. Would stay again. Worth the price and less than a 2min walk to the tower.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel is simple but clean and very well situated being a short walk from the tower and cathedral and close to a good selection of bars and restaurants. The owners were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was not provided but there are plenty of places to eat within a short walk. The only niggle was about the towels which were very thin and more like pillow cases. Would certainly recommend the hotel and would use it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lacey1949uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Simple but very nice and clean hotel.
Very good price/value ratio.
The owners are nice and friendly they recommended us one very nice pizzeria "La Mura" and an excellent Osteria "Santi".
Can recommend it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Johan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Staying at this hotel currently and very pleased so far. 2 min walk to the tower and plenty of restaurants. Yes it is basic but for a few nights and the price, I think its great value.

Tip - we arranged to be picked up from the airport by the taxi company suggested by the hotel. They didn't turn up so after waiting for 40 mins we got a taxi from the stand outside and it was nearly half what we had planned to pay the other taxi company (around 11 euros)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boos_thoughts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for a short stay, good price/quality. It has an excellent location about five minute walk to Pisa tower & monuments. If you want more comfort or extensive choice, I recommend you a other hotel.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Niki Cutts W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Hotel Albergo Helvetia is only 2 minutes walk from the Leaning Tower of Pisa. It's in a very quiet location. Reception staff were both very nice and helpful speaking very good English. I stayed twice at the hotel at the beginning and end of my 10 day stay in Italy. Both rooms 25 and 16 were beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The tv was nice and large and had approx. 100 channels. Unfortunately none were English speaking. The shower in room 25 was nice and simple to operate and there was a powerful supply of water. ( Room 16 did not have a shower or toilet - these were just along the corridor - also very clean and worked well ) The bed was very comfortable. The view from room 25 was superb. Room 16 has a view of the hotel courtyard and other rooms. Room 25 is on the 4th floor and room 16 on the third. There is no lift so people with mobility problems would find it difficult walking up the stairs.
The hotel does NOT do breakfasts. After staying in Florence and having a poxy continental breakfast I found this to be a blessing in disguise. I popped around the corner to a café and had a very good Full English breakfast when I wanted it.
This is a lovely hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 25 on the 4th floor has a great view, is very quiet and is on-suite. Room 16 on the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiggyofIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Property: Helvetia
Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi 31, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Helvetia 1*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing