We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Hotel La Torre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Torre
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed here on a budget for 4 nights with my sister and mum for their birthdays. Was great that it was located less than 5 minute walk from the station. When we got there at about 10.15am - due to very early Ryanair flight - there were men building/roadworks right outside the building. However we were met by a lovely lady, we left our bags and we headed off exploring nearby sights. We werent however given a map and had to pick one up by ourselves. The map was good, waant too far to walk, id say about 20 mins from the hotel. there is a supermarket named Pam by piazza vittotria emanuele.

when we read reviews we thought the staff would be multilingual, when we finally checked in at about 6pm we were met with by a lady who spoke no english. she asked me to sign a piece a paper but didnt explain what it was, also not knowing italian i didnt understand it. she just said its 'for police' when i kept asking why i am signing this form.

Room was a disappointment. it was sark and smelt damp, the so called air con was no where in sight, nor was the hairdryer which we had to ask for. we were given a fan which was noisy and kept us awake at night, as did the noise from the streets and men working. no joy in getting decent nights sleep. breakfast was also poor. there was hardly anything available- we were there at 8.30am! The staff were rude and talking amongst themselves and didnt speak english. when i asked for latte, i was just given a pot of milk and when i said i wanted half milk half coffee, she was ranting under her breath whilst talking to a male and slammed the drink down-we were not asked if we wanted a hot drink like the other guests were asked, we had to ask ourselves. I went back to get the pot of 'latte' and she put my tea on top of my plate. so much for politeness and service. you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lola_lily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    64
    69
    28
    22
See reviews for
39
79
18
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Torino
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

No air conditioning, old furniture and common toilet. The hotel room was on a noisy street and because of the heat and the lack of air con, it was hard to sleep in the morning. On the plus side though, the people were really nice, and the hotel was clean. I found it expensive but I guess it is okay for such a touristic city like Pisa. I spent there 5 nights, I guess that if it is for one or two nights the hotel is great. Good location, 200m from the train station and 50m from the bus station and from the info center.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreaturineis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay due to an early flight from Pisa. This was my last night in Italy after holidaying in Santa Margherita Ligure.

On arrival at Pisa, I was surprised at just how close this hotel is to the central station. I crossed the road from the station and walked to the end of the block opposite. I stood on the corner and suddenly spotted the sign 'La Torre' approximately 50 metres to my left, on the left hand side of the road. Despite being only 12.30 pm, I was informed my room was ready.

Although a solo traveller, due to limited availability, I had booked a first floor, double room, which was somewhat limited in space albeit adequate. The bathroom on the other hand was large with a wet room at one end, plus another shower attached to the wall at the side of the toilet. Everywhere was clean and nicely furnished with a safety deposit box in the wardrobe. To obtain the key I had to leave a £10 deposit on reception which was refunded on departure. The air conditioning was good, of which I was grateful due to the hot weather. I later spent a lovely day around Pisa, a city I have visited in the past and which I find extremely useful due to its close proximity with the airport.

Overall I would recommend this hotel which I found quirky in many respects. Space has been used well throughout and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate, nicely presented and I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Pisa. There are also plenty of eateries nearby and the entrance to the shops in the 'centro storico' is just around the corner. Piazza Garibaldi and the tower are a straight walk through the centre and over the River Arno Bridge. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Unable to comment as room was adequate for overnight stay only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheshG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiara M, Proprietario at Hotel La Torre, responded to this review, 7 April 2016
Google Translation
Grazie per aver soggiornato presso la nostra struttura. La soddisfazione dei clienti è la nostra priorità. La tua opinione è molto importante per noi! Altro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Good location is near the railwaystation. and 20 minutes walking from the centre.
Our room had no shower and toilet. The were outside in the hall.
Simple hotel with value for money for a short stay in pisa

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hans V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Missed train to Lucca (where we had booked) so found ourselves stuck at 10 at night in Pisa. 2 minute walk and we found La Torre. Night Porter incredibly helpful and friendly and kept the bar open for us until really late! Room was pretty basic with no ensuite but was clean, fresh and quiet and the shared facilities were directly opposite the room, so no complaints here. Plenty of pretty little sitting spaces dotted around and a lot of effort has gone into updating the public spaces. Breakfast wasn't bad by Italian standards (continental but more than enough choice) and the waitress and chap at reception were bright, breezy and pleasant. Great basic hotel if you just want to get your head down or be close to things (train and bus stations only 2 mins walk). Will be great when they get round to modernising the rooms. Thoroughly satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#18 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#44 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Touring Pisa
Hotel Touring Pisa
#50 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#43 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torre

Property: Hotel La Torre
Address: Via Cesare Battisti 17, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 22 recently renovated rooms equipped with every comfort and can accommodate individuals and families.! A tasteful but attention to detail makes our bright and comfortable rooms, easy access for customers both in passing or long stay. Each room, made soundproof, has a private bathroom, satellite TV, telephone, minibar, safe, air conditioning, hair dryer and orthopedic beds. In addition to single and double rooms, on request of the customer, you can add a third bed or cot. Always on demand are available sets for sewing and set ligiene and personal cleanliness (combs, toothpaste, etc.). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing