We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, great food”
Review of Osteria dei Mille

Osteria dei Mille
Ranked #135 of 957 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This restaurant is in the old town of Pisa, so access is best by foot. It is about a ten minute walk from the river and the main bridge at Piazza Garibaldi. It is also about 5 minutes from the leaning tower of Pisa. From the several restaurants I have visited in this area, I liked this best for its atmosphere and general "classiness". The prices are maybe a bit higher than in the myriad of pizza places, but the quality is also better. I had an insalata caprese which was excellent. So this is a good choice if you want to dine out rather than just eat. That being said, it is not super snobby - just about right for an older part of town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraJVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    150
    67
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian Food and wonderful service”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We would like to recommend a wonderful retaurant we came across while visiting Pisa. After feeling quite frustrated from most restaurants in Italy, we came across a cornered restaurant, not close to the touristic attractions. The food was very tastey and special, and the service was very warm and helpful.Our children were very content as well, finishing for the first time their plates...... It is worth while walking a bit further in order to come across special and unique places, outside the touristic zones.
gznn2013

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Galit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simple and nice”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Only had the pasta, but enjoyed the simple flavours. House wine was very acceptable, both red and white. Ravioli with truffles was the favourite, but the pasta ragu and ravioli neri were quiteok too. Nothing fancy, but good value. Deserts were a bit ordinary.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandCatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
390 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We took a punt for a late lunch at Osteria Dei Mille at Via Dei Mille 30/32, away from the tourist path.

We tried oriechette with fresh tomato and aubergine (8E); ricotta and spinach ravioli with truffle cream and mushrooms (9E); aqua minerale (2), and a bottle of Morellino Di Scansano (15). Coperto was 2 euro each.

Service was good and servings ware generous.

The oriechette was just al dente, but there was no aubergine flavour - only tomato. The ravioli was a little better, with the truffle flavour dominating.

I probably wouldn't return.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glynis031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant in April and really enjoyed it. The food and wine were delicious and we felt that they were both reasonably priced. We had the owner wait on our table, and he was very personable and helpful. Good food, warm atmosphere, all added up to a very nice evening. We would definitely go back if we visited Pisa again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria dei Mille also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Osteria dei Mille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing