We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in Pisa”
Review of NH Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Pisa
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Roxburghshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Quality in Pisa”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

Stayed at the Jolly Cavalieri for 3 nights in August. Very hot weather, so good job the air-conditioning worked a treat. High quality hotel, right opposite the station, about 25 minutes walk from the Leaning Tower. Rooms modern and airy, big plasma tv screen and staff helpful though not much English spoken. A few bizarre events (unrequested 6.30 alarm call, a second tv remote delivered though we had not asked for one, and, when we took it back, told that our room was unoccupied !) suggest they are a bit disorganised, but otherwise excellent, and a decent breakfast too.

  • Liked — High standard rooms
  • Disliked — Slightly disorganised Reception
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,776 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    750
    361
    111
    79
See reviews for
246
840
118
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

We had failed to book a hotel in advance for our one night in Pisa. My wife walked into the reception with our six year old and enquired to the price of a room for a family of four. She was quoted 280 euros for the one night. Somewhat taken aback I walked in a while later and took a brochure from the stand. I called the hotel booking line and was offered a family room for 85 euros! (including breakfast)
However the hotel was barely worth the price we paid! They have glossed up the reception and dining space but our room interior had been unchanged since the early 1980's. It had a strong smell of tobacco smoke. Just like the old days! Everything was well past it's sell-by-date. The writing desk was falling apart. The room had not had a deep clean for a very long time, if ever. The television was "Antiques Road Show" quality.

It is not a four star hotel in my opinion. Isn't a porter supposed to take your bags at reception on arrival at a four star? ( we had a few heavy suitcases) It seems low on staff numbers. The receptionist and all of the staff seemed remote and disinterested.

Breakfast just about OK. But there was no warm welcome as we arrived in the dining room. Sorry, but I think that's important.

Plan your escape route in an emergency as the central fire escape staircase has no fire-check doors on each floor. It would form an excellent smoke distribution system in the event of a fire and would not comply with UK Building Regulations.

  • Liked — next to the station for a quick getaway
  • Disliked — Lack of welcome and service, poor cleanliness, antiquated furniture and fittings, below par bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThaneOfGlamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Stayed at this hotel for just one night before an early flight. The public areas of this hotel are nice however our room was terrible! The furniture was very cheap. The carpet was dirty and the electrics were dodgy. The A/C worked but was very noisy The bathroom was recently installed but needed a good clean - especially the toilet. From looking at the other reviews I can only assume that we had a room which is still to be renovated however we were really disappointed as we had paid 120 Euros. I will certainly never stay here again. It was well located for the station but the area surrounding the hotel was a bit seedy.

  • Liked — Handy location for airport
  • Disliked — It wasn't clean
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shopkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Just returned from 3 night stay in Pisa and found this hotel pretty much ideal. We travelled as 2 couples and room rate was a very reasonable £77/night B&B through HotelsRus.com.
Had read reviews before booking and they were all spot on. 3mins from airport in cab (8euros). Hotel is undergoing renovation but there was no disruption to us. Our room was on 2nd floor and it felt like we were first to us it. Decent size room, huge bed, flat screen tv, safe, refridgerated minibar, very modern bathroom and excellent aircon. Friends were in unrenovated room on 5th floor and this was of a good standard although the aircon was a little noisy during the night.
The lack of noise reaching inside the room from outside despite the fact you are facing the main railway station and a busy road is incredible! Breki was also good and plentiful.
Although the hotel has a bar it lacks any atmosphere which is a shame as it has the potential to. We sat opposite the reception with a g&t nightcap but were alone in doing so! Staff were friendly and efficient (though our key card had to be reset after each use!). Beware the staff recommendation when it comes to restaurants, we ended up with a bill for 145euros at Bruno's which the hotel guy said was the best restaurant in Pisa! You live and learn!
As other reviewers have said, Pisa is the tower and done! However the rail links to Florence and the beautiful Lucca make them a must to visit.
All in all dont think you can go wrong with this hotel!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of decent bar
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howboths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Jolly Cavalieri Hotel Pisa - now part of the NH Group of hotels - for four nights late July. I had a what I think was a good deal using the Active booking service - 320 euros on a B&B basis.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishment and we had a room on the 4th floor which looked as it had only recently been finished , good size room , wall mounted flat screen TV , refrigerated mini bar , safe , modern bathroom , with bath and shower.

Breakfast was a buffet style and was excellent with a very good selection to choose from. We did not eat at the restaurant.

The hotel is directly opposite the railway station, which made trips to Florence , Liverno and Lucca very easy. Florence is a must, and Lucca is certainly recommended.

It is probably 20 min walk to the Tower from the hotel , but buses are available.

We ate at four restaurants / pizzerias

The nearest was Da Michel, food was good , but not so happy waiter.

We did find difficultly in finding a restaurant on Monday night, and finally ate at Cafe Pisa located very close to the Tower, good food and excellent service we would certainly recommend it.

I stumbled across a pizzeria 5 mins from the hotel , Le Scuderie, it is at the end of Via Del Carmine. Great atmosphere , food and cheap house wine. The pizza is charged by the metre . Definitely recommended.

  • Liked — Modern design and location
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SwanseaJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We read the reviews on the hotel before we travelled and they were pretty acurate. The hotel room we stayed in was on the 5th floor and i would advise that you ask for a room on the 5th.It is state of the art and only just renovated.The view was great and an advantage was a balcony.Even though you are opposite Pisa station there is no noise at night.The plus part to the hotel is that breki is good and it is excellent to travel around.The downside is that there are no other extras,no atmospere,no bar (although you can order a drink but it is pricey).The reception staff were polite and helpful.Get the train from the airport,buy a ticket in the arrival hall before you leave (1.10 Euro PP) and it takes 10 min to the station.The taxis are expensive and public transport, be it train or bus is excellent. The bus station is around 5 min walk from the hotel and a bus to Pisa Marina costs around 3.5 euros return.It is well worth the visit as well as historic Pisa as the beach front is great.A visit to Florence costs around 11.50euros PP return.great weekend had architecture mega impressive

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no facilities/atmosphere
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlazeWestYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

Currently being refurbished but there was no disruption. Modern, comfortable (A Con) and clean. Excellent location for travel links (frequent city & airport buses stop outside, rail station is across the road) especially if you have an early flight as the bus or train only take 5 - 10 mins. Very nice staff. Great buffet breakfast. Will happily stay here again.

  • Liked — location & modern interiors
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mrandmrsmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,655 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Pisa

Property: NH Pisa
Address: Piazza della Stazione 2, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly NH Cavalieri)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pisa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Cavalieri offers an extremely convenient location in the scenic city of Pisa, right by the train station and just ten minutes from the airport. Pisa is a historical city, well-known for its famous Leaning Tower of Pisa, but also for its many marvelous monuments, churches and cathedrals, shops, university, and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Cavalieri Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing