We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure crud.”

Antica Trattoria Antonietta
Ranked #831 of 965 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Pure crud.”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Worst food I've had in Italy so far. Get a soda/beer and enjoy view. Dirty glasses. Awful and rude waiter

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    53
    75
    92
    283
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't eat here - they will try to rip you off.”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

So they have the best view of the tower since they are literally the first restaurant on the street, with an unimpeded view. However, the food is very average, not terrible, but it really is the staff that are rude and try to rip you off.

Firstly - when you ask for the bill the waiter comes and writes a few illegible numbers on a scrap of paper. When you show confusion about why the price is so high - they point you to the 15% surcharge on top of the menu price, written in small font in the corner.

But that's not all - we realised that even with the 15% surcharge the price was still too high. We grabbed a menu to double check the prices of the things we ordered, only to have the waiter come back over (twice) and try and take the menu away from us so we couldn't look at it. The waiter tried to tell us each item we ordered was about 1euro more than it was listed, PLUS the 15%....after some arguing we finally got the price down from 42euro, to 31euro which was the correct price.

We were given some dirty looks by the staff as we left, the waiters exchanged loud remarks in Italian as we left.

Don't eat there, great view, but it stops there.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank bobbiee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blune, Proprietario at Antica Trattoria Antonietta, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
I apologize for what happened, not 'our consuetude of scribbling on a sheet accounts it' much less steal the money to our customers, I kindly ask if you can 'describe the waiter who wrote the bill on a paper, or better yet if you can scan your bill and send it to the restaurant mail.
Best regards

The owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coronado, California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice mid day break.”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Stopped here for a quick snack while at the Tower of Pisa. Evereything we had was good, and the service was good. The price was a bit high, but considering it had a view of the tower from its outdoor seating, it was not too bad.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eljusto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great mid day meal”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Reasonable price, takes credit cards, good food, lots of people, and a palce to sit out of the rain to watch people. Food was really ood -- salad, pizza, coke, and bottle water for $15e close to the Duomo.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Typical italian restaurant for tourists who won't come back”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

This restaurant is across the street from pisa tower, and that is the only reason we chose it (beside we were hungry and were looking for a quick bite before hitting back to florence. The view was amazing (unobstructed view of the leaning tower).
The food was mediocre; antonietta pizza was edible, the pasta was OK, and the bruschetta was just fine. Service was attentive. So, in a nutshell, choose this place for the view not the food.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TOURtheWORLDMexPal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Antica Trattoria Antonietta also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Antica Trattoria Antonietta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing