We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look only...”
Review of Torre di Pisa

Torre di Pisa
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.28*
and up
Leaning Tower of Pisa Tickets
Ranked #2 of 167 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Tower of Pisa (180 feet in height) was begun in 1173 and, due to its faulty foundation on unstable soil, leans precariously more than 14 feet out of line, preventing visitors from climbing its 300-plus steps to the top.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a look only...”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

It's definitely worth seeing the tower as it's a unique sight, but if you have limited time in Italy, there's really no reason to stick around Pisa for long. Note that the nearest train station is "Pisa S. Rossore" and not "Centrale" but also note, the street traders seem more prevalent here than most other places in Italy. Our suggestion is to stop and have a quick look but head off to Lucca or something for the remainder of the day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cruwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,643
    4,385
    1,395
    286
    162
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Leaning tower of Pisa”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Must see this place and gather so many beautiful experience of world most famous landmark, stand beside the Cathedral and Baptistery, near by the border to the French Riviera.
JP No. 141393291

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Subhra Jyoti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A must see!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

THE must see of Pisa and I highly recommend climbing it, too, as it's an unusual experience. As soon as you step in, you will feel strange. Climbing up the stairs was a struggle at times (as in feeling dizzy!) but it was well worth it when you got to the top from which you get a lovely view over the Piazza dei Miracoli and Pisa.
We bought our tickets online a couple of weeks beforehand to avoid any queues.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank madnadtf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“It really does l-e-a-n, folks!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I had seen it in books, on tv, in the movies, but there's something genuine about seeing it in person. The tower leans at a crazy angle and as we walked around the base, we were almost afraid to cross the leaning side. Apart from its glittering facade, here's a perfect example of how a mistake can become a national icon and a giant money-spinner!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank K_b0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
352 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A tower that leans!”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

An absolute must see when in Tuscany. We spent the day in Pisa and were not disappointed. The weather was perfect, which made for many perfect photo ops. We did not climb the tower, 15 euro ticket required, but got to experience it just as well from the ground. There were no lines one crowds on our Wednesday visit in early December.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reagan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torre di Pisa also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Torre di Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing