We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at night”
Review of Borgo Stretto

Borgo Stretto
Ranked #12 of 172 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spend some time, and money, at Pisa's arcaded shopping street.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Avoid at night”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We passed through here after dark on our way back from a meal, and don't recommend it. The street is poorly lit and feels quite threatening with people hanging around in the shadows. We strayed into a nearby square thinking it sounded lively, but there were hundreds of dropouts hanging around, so we made a hasty exit.

I'm sure the architecture is interesting so it's a pity we didn't see it during the day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RDH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    178
    64
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Its cute... that is all”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

It is okay... I think the best shops can be found while walking the small city of Pisa. This street has shops with over priced stuff that can be easily found in some outlet in the USA.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EthelBustamante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“nice typical street”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

shops a little more expensive but there are some lovely cafés and ice cream places. nice walk down and loads of locals. don't miss the market off the sideroad to the left.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank serena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shopping!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Some lovely shops and cafes down this road. Walk along the colonaded pavements and take in some of the gorgeous architecture. A great place to sit and watch the world go by over an espresso.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“AVERAGE!”
Reviewed 29 August 2012

There are several shops here but mainly their prices are out of most normal peoples league with handbags at 1000 euros and jackets at multiple 100s some shops.Variety of goods are limited and there are more places to eat than shop in this area.If you want shops walk over the ponte di mezzo bridge onto the Corso Italia

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m-s-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Borgo Stretto also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Borgo Stretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing