We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bags are forbidden!”

National Museum of San Matteo
Ranked #13 of 171 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: National Museum of San Matteo, which is housed in the Benedictine Monastery, features a group of paintings from the 12th- to 18th- centuries, and a rich collection of sculpture from the Pisano School.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“bags are forbidden!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The first day we tried to visit, the museum was shut because of shortage of staff. The next day we were told that we had to put all our belongings into the locker - purse, phone, valauables - everything except the locker key, so we left! In other National Museums women were able to keep their handbags & my husband had his small camera bag, although he didn't take photos with the camera. No wonder we never saw any other visitors! Most disappointing!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seaviewlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    71
    22
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“This is where the art is”
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Much of the medieval art from Pusa's churches has been moved here. It is a very quiet and contemplative place to appreciate these works, much better than the madness of the field of miracles.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This museum is beautiful - if you like Italian art from the 12th to 15th centuries, then you will love it. It is slightly difficult to find from the map but it's well worth persevering until you find it. We could not believe that we appeared to be the only people in the museum! The exhibits are fantastically displayed in this beautiful old building.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank steveR11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“the complement to the Cathedral”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is the place where one can see and experience the great Pisan art of the time of the buildings of the famous monuments.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank burgundio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
1,068 reviews
626 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“good to see”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Has many collection of statues from catholic religion, good to see but I was not very impress.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Museum of San Matteo also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to National Museum of San Matteo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing