We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we stopped to check it out”

Chiesa di Santa Maria della Spina
Book In Advance
More Info
US$142.84*
and up
Pisa Segway Tour
Ranked #7 of 167 things to do in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located on the bank of the Arno River, this church is Pisa's finest example of Gothic fancy.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Glad we stopped to check it out”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We passed by this lovely little church walking back to the train station after climbing the tower. Its so pretty right on the river that we just had to stop in.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MerSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    208
    78
    18
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
254 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Art treat by the river”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This beautiful building is easy to miss, but worth the walk. The Gothic features of the little church are exemplified by sculptures on the facade. Every character is rendered in exquisite detail. It's the surprise art treat that most tourists miss.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFOPhD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
140 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Little chapel”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

An architectural gem but difficult for the tourist to access. Non the less, look at the detail. Note the wonderful detail, keeping in mind the relic from the crown of thorns is supposedly inside. Then cross the bridge and look back at the river that once was home to the largest navy in Italy. Enjoy.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dropback10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Conspicuously white, small church on the bank of Arno”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Conspicuously white, small church on the bank of Arno, on top of small, thin, Gothic turrets. It’s also special for me because I had seen just large Gothic churches. Opening hours: October to March: Tuesday-Sunday 10-14.; April to September: Tuesday-Friday 10-14 and 15-18 Saturday and Sunday 10-14 and 15-19. Closed on monday.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Gy0ngyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“When is it open?”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Very beautiful from the outside and apparently housing a Holy relic, but although listed as being open at the weekend, we never found it so.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Estelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chiesa di Santa Maria della Spina also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Chiesa di Santa Maria della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing