We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Buca San Ranieri

La Buca San Ranieri
Ranked #221 of 940 Restaurants in Pisa
Price range: US$30 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived late at the railway station on a Sunday, checked into our lodgings and looked for a place to eat at 10.30pm in the evening. We found this gem. The waitress was friendly, the seafood soup had big, juicy, fresh mussels, the grilled cuttlefish were
sweet and delicious, the grilled swordfish "alla livornese" with tomatoes and capers was very tasty, the spinach was flavourful, and the ceci (chickpeas) were good. The homemade lemon sorbet housed in a lemon finished off a really great meal. We had 2 glasses of house red as well, all for 49 Euros. GO TO THIS RESTAURANT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gman014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    73
    50
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect for good food near station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had 45 mins for lunch before heading to airport. Food was delicious and served quickly. Risotto with squid ink was nice and polpo with potatos impressively tender. Swordfish carpaccio rather salty. Very decent house white for just EUR2 a glass. Friendly, helpful service and a good bet if you're near the station in Pisa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sirerrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cosy, good food, relaxed and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

I fancied the swordfish for starters but then asked the waitress to recommend something nice for the main. She brought me a Sea Bass dish with veg which was beautiful! [As was she, actually :-) ] 40Euros for a lovely meal and two large beers was ok for me.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter77j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“One year on, one minor change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

This is still one of the few places in Pisa which does not condescend towards the beach louts who proliferate in Pisa.
It is not expensive and the standard is high whilst the price is still reasonable.
The only change is the price of the Tignanello; I think Gianfranco must have run out of the old stock and the new supply has pushed up the price but never mind there are still exceptional wines to be had for 20 euros.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richardmilner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Italian food in a family atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We found this close to our hotel after a late arrival (10pm) on a Sunday evening. Initially worried by empty tables, we found that the "cellar" restaurant was in full swing and full of locals - normally a good sign. We were welcomed and service was excellent from the start. The food was hot, full of flavour and served with a smile. Despite the language barrier, we had a really enjoyable evening that got our holiday off to a brilliant start. It was that good we returned the following evening for another excellent meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buca San Ranieri also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Buca San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing