We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Christmas Meal”

La Buca San Ranieri
Ranked #255 of 965 Restaurants in Pisa
Price range: US$30 - US$45
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Christmas Meal”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

On a Christmas Day visit to Pisa, we did not think we could find a place to eat. On the way to the train station, we ventured down a street a block from the station. We found this restaurant, which had a trip advisor sticker. We went in and had a great meal. They had a fixed menu for Christmas. Luckily, it was lobster and pasta. Looks like a favorite for locals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gigm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    79
    52
    20
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“True home cooking Tuscan style”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

No frills, good Tuscan seafood nd meats. A variable menu, with choices that look strange as they are repeated. It seems they made a mistake, but it is the pricing you look at. You can order either a larger main course or a smaller one. An example is the veal Scallopini at 7 or 10 euros. The 7 was large enough for us after a sumptuous seafood entree. The decor was a good mix of Tuscan styles. I liked that Mama was still working the tables. The pricing was just right at around $40 for two with two courses and a shared dessert. We had two bottles of water and a glass of Chianti each. We liked this charming eatery, so near our hotel and station.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This family restaurant was a very lucky find. Don't miss it if you are in Pisa. It is tucked away quite near the station so much better value and more genuinely Italian than some of the restaurants in the main tourist area. Go down to the Piazza V Emanuele II, walk towards the station and you will find it on the left in the Viale Bonaini. There are outside tables, but the main dining area is downstairs.
I chose mussels for my starter which were delicious, cooked in a tomato sauce. My husband had veal for his main and I had swordfish which melted in the mouth. The panacotta dessert was the best we had found - creamy and not too sweet, with caramel. We chose the Chianti Classico for our wine and, again, it was one of the best of our entire holiday.
The waitress seemed to be a member of the family. She helped us out with our Italian, despite speaking good English and was unobtrusive and charming. The whole atmosphere of the restaurant was calm and relaxed. If we go to Pisa again, the San Ranieri will be top of our list for a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hutchy68_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good fresh homely food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Walked around and couldn't see a place we fancied eating in. Came across this place. Walked in and was greeted by friendly staff. I think its family owned. Food was really good and our waitress was great. I think this was our best meal in Pisa. Shame it was our last night. If this was home it would be a weekly regular.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramosseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We arrived late at the railway station on a Sunday, checked into our lodgings and looked for a place to eat at 10.30pm in the evening. We found this gem. The waitress was friendly, the seafood soup had big, juicy, fresh mussels, the grilled cuttlefish were
sweet and delicious, the grilled swordfish "alla livornese" with tomatoes and capers was very tasty, the spinach was flavourful, and the ceci (chickpeas) were good. The homemade lemon sorbet housed in a lemon finished off a really great meal. We had 2 glasses of house red as well, all for 49 Euros. GO TO THIS RESTAURANT!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gman014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Buca San Ranieri also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Buca San Ranieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing