We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunningly beautiful rooms in a gorgeous villa...”
other travellers have booked this property
Enter the parlour on the ground floor ....
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enter the parlour on the ground floor ....
.. enjoying the frescos featured at the bottom of the stairs Climb the stairs .......
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Enter the parlour on the ground floor ....
.. enjoying the frescos featured at the bottom of the stairs
Climb the stairs .......
..... while admiring  Minerve and Bacchus on the walls, .....
....... the Muses on the ceiling........
... and Apollon, the God of music and beauty, at the very top of the vault
Simona Parra and Leonardo Sgroi performing 'Traviata' at Villa Di Lupo Parra
Welcome at Villa Di Lupo Parra!
The Three-Centuries-of-Art apartment at Villa Di Lupo Parra
You are now in your apartment: three centuries of arts featured in this room
Enjoy the bright atmosphere of the living room
....... with a breathtaking view .....
..... and a piano just for you to play
The Three Centuries of Art as the set of a film about Lauretta Cipriani's adventurous life
Admire the precious antique furnishings featured in this room .....
.... under this beautiful frescoed ceiling, .....
...delight at its precious details, ..........
...... marvel at a 18th-century fresco emerging under a 19th-century one
Play music composed by count Antonio Parra in 1863.
After playing the piano, have a good night in the bedroom
The symbol of painting welcomes you in the bedroom
Wake up among the symbols of arts
The allegory of architecture joins sculpture's
The allegory of architecture joins sculpture's
Enter the trendy kitchen
Have a shower in the stylish bathroom
Relax in the west garden, under the coat-of-arms of the Di Lupo Parra family
Sunbathe in the east garden
Enjoy the white acanto flowers in Spring ........
..... and the beautiful fejoia flowers blooming in May
Have a drink at sunset
read a good book in the south garden and get ready for a trip: .....
the Field of Miracles in Pisa is just a few minutes driving, ....
as well as  large white beaches ......
and pretty villages in the countryside.There is everything for a delicious holiday!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Castle -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pisa, Province of Pisa, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Newtous
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful if you like old Italian castles”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The owners of this delightful old castle are simply wonderful hosts, endlessly helpful and very dedicated to restoring what was once a very dilapidated building. They have made the apartment as up to date and comfortable as possible, with a new bathroom and kitchen, and the gardens are vast.

The building is just fantastic, the amount of work already done is daunting.
If you have any interest in art your stay there will be an absolute feast. It is a very imposing building with beautiful frescos which have been exposed and an enormous amount of untreated rooms and walls still to tackle. Very exciting if you are keen on Italian art.

However you should know that this castle is in a very mixed residential area on the outskirts of an industrial estate. There really are no bars or cafes within walking distance that are interesting. More pizza and such takeaways etc. There is a very nice Medieval town just about 10 minutes drive away with plenty of good restaurants.

If you have transport there are many lovely places nearby. Florence, Lucca, Pisa, also many gorgeous Tuscan mountain villages to visit, all within 30minutes to an hour or so. . And - it is only 5 minutes drive from the airport. You can get the train or the bus from the apartment but it is far from being the most convenient way of getting to these cities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely hosts
Liked least: The location was very disappointing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2013
Thank you for your review.
However I would like to point out a few inconsistencies.
It is true that the castle is in a residential area, but it is not in the outskirts of an industrial estate: there are no industries in this area. The main industry in Pisa province is that of leather, but leather factories are 45 km from the house. There is a shopping area with department stores and supermarkets 3 km from the castle, where our guests have always been pleased to shop.
There are two restaurants within 500 metres, one which offers the most particular dishes from Sardinia gastronomic tradition, and one which offers Tuscan dishes. A third restaurant is closed in the summer as it is open at the beach. There are also two pastry shops and cafés within walking distance, they are called “La Piazzetta” and “La caffetteria di Giulietta”. Maybe you hadn’t seen them.
As for the nice medieval town with plenty of restaurants, a car is not necessary to get there: there is a bus every 20 minutes and it take just 7 minutes’ time to go to the town centre.
I don’t agree with you when you say that train or bus are not the most convenient way to get to the art cities. Actually I think the they are the easiest way to go there as one can get off directly in the city centres (where cars are prohibited) without having to drive in traffic, wait in traffic jams and waste time looking for a car park with available places, which is difficult to find and expensive, while public means of transport are inexpensive in Italy. The guests who reviewed this apartment under the title “Perfection” are an elderly couple from Scotland who have stayed with us one or two weeks every year since 2009. Though they have never hired a car, they have easily visited not only Florence, Lucca, Pistoia and the other main cities of Tuscany, but also Volterra, San Miniato and further medieval towns up in the hills as well as the beach. If they come every year it means that staying in our area is not as bad as you say.
I was surprised by your rating, which doesn’t’ correspond to your favourable comments upon your departure.
I see you assigned a medium rating to the kitchen, but the furniture is new and high-quality and the crockery as well. I asked you not to hesitate to ask for anything you should need, but you never mentioned anything which means that everything was working properly.
You also rated the service as medium-quality, but you didn’t explain why, nor did you ever complain during your stay. Even if this is a self-catering apartment and not a hotel with a concierge, we have always been available to help our guests, who indeed have appreciated our service. Though it is stated in the advertisement that check in is from 15:00, we complied with your request to make the apartment available for you by 12:30.
I would like you to note that all the other guests have rated the property as excellent from each point of view; most of them have returned to stay with us again and recommended the holiday rental to their friends, who, in turn, enjoyed their stay here very much.
You state that the property was as advertised, therefore I feel you may have been looking for a different kind of holiday but you didn’t check carefully the details in the advertisement before booking.
Anyway, thank you again for staying with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim L
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunningly beautiful rooms in a gorgeous villa, great hospitality.”
Reviewed 30 April 2013 for a stay in June 2012

An absolutely fabulous place to stay in Tuscany on the outskirts of Pisa. It is nearly a year since our visit but the place lingers in my mind. Donatella and her husband were such wonderful hosts and the beauty of the palace is something else!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous restored frescos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2013
What a great pleasure reading your review and learning that you still have such a vivid memory of your stay with us.
Thank you very much
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2012
Thank you for yur prompt and kind review of your stay in the castle. I am happy to read that you got the feel of the house and the friendly atmoshere of living in Tuscany.
You have seen many places, but there are further beautiful sites to visit in the area; see you soon!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Familyman...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A True Tuscan Experience”
Reviewed 12 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We have just arrived back from our stay at the villa and we are missing it already.
I can honestly say that we never said that about anywhere we ever went on holiday no matter how good it was. Donetella and Antonio who own the villa are so nice and welcoming. We did not feel as if we were staying in a apartment but rather in a welcoming home. The villa on the outside is deceiving and does nothing to convey what is inside. When you walk into the hall and continue to the stair case you are struck with how special a place this is and we felt that we were so lucky to be there.
Our apartment was the same, the ceiling the view of the mountains, and the general feel of the place was really special. Our children loved the space and settled in straight away. The train station and bus service is only 15-20 minutes walk and the near by town Navacchio, the same . On Sunday morning my daughter and I went for a walk up the road just outside the villa and walked by the corn fields and were greeted by the local farmers and people walking by and we just soaked up the Tuscan atmosphere. For the short walk we had, it was well spent. It is a great location if you want you visit, Pisa , Florence and Lucca. Also in the near by town Navacchio,on the main street call into Gelateria Da Claudio for some of the best ice cream I have ever tasted !! and my kids agree. I hope that we get the chance to return some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the atmosphere
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 13 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Donatella and Antonio pay attention to the smallest details to make guests comfortable
Liked least: What is not to like in this magnificent villa?
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2012
Thank you so much for getting the feel of the house and sharing our love for the villa and its story. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at villa Di Lupo Parra
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 July 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with teenagers Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Apr 2012
Warm thanks again for your wonderful and flattering review. And now, my dear friends, it is time for your fourth visit. We are so happy and really looking forward to welcoming you once more in "your" house. See you soon at Pisa airport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jacques D
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2018
Grand merci pour vos mots gentils. Cela nous a fait beaucoup de plaisir de vous accueillir et de partager notre demeure avec vous. Nous espérons vous voir encore, vous serez toujours les bienvenus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing