We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Santa Caterina - CLOSED

Osteria Santa Caterina
Price range: US$8 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

This gem was tucked in a side street away from all the busy pedestrians and peddlers, it was a nice getaway from the crowd after a day of sightseeing in Pisa. Cozy and friendly atmosphere inside and outside. Service was excellent, the waiter patiently helped explained each question and recommended the drinks with the meal. The meal itself was very memorable for us, it was fresh and the meat melts once you have it in your mouth! We had coffee afterwards and it was good as well. If I can only have one single meal in town, I have no doubt this will be my first choice. Price is decent for Pisa and the food portion is more than enough for us after coffee. Definitely worth the time spent to look for this place - which is just next to the main street. Look out for the sign!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calvinchok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    100
    54
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Welcoming, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We didn't want a full meal and there was no problem about choosing exactly what we wanted from the menu and in what order. The Caprese salad (mozzarella and tomato) was the best I had whilst in Italy and all the other dishes were good or excellent too. The waiter spoke English which was helpful as my Italian isn't good. They were helpful when we asked where to go for a taxi and ordered one to pick us up at the door and no rip off/weighted charges.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
156 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had a memorable dinner in this Osteria. Everything was good and protions were fine, unless you need a lot to be satisfied. No frills about decoration, however. The waitress was ok.
Our dishes, as I said, were extremely good. Nice antipasti ( we paid 16 euros for two). One special point to the rabbit ravioli (9 euros) which were excellent, I advise you to try them! Their ragù pasta (9 euros) was good too, and so was the meat (9 euros).

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“osteria dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

very friendly staff
excellent food (dessert a little dissapointing)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank monika c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

Nipped in after spotting it on a wander. The food was delicious, and the staff were able to handle my terrible Italian! Recommend it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kingothebingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Santa Caterina also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing