We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
BC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The location could not be much closer to the famous leaning tower. If you have a room at the front of the hotel, you can lean out of the little balcony window and see the tower. On the other hand, that side of the hotel is a bit noisy with street activities. You may prefer the rear of the hotel to have a dark quiet room and get caught up on sleep.
As other reviews say, the hotel has the feel of faded splendor. The lobby, the staircase, the chandeliers are all reminiscent of former times. However the rooms are OK ... I had a spacious bathroom with a nice shower, a WC and a bidet. The 'double bed' was the usual two single beds pushed together as is common in Italy. The TV was an up-to-date LCD screen model, but it didn't receive much in the way of English-language programming.
Breakfast was a bit of a disappointment. It never seems to be a strong point of Italian hotels, but one usually gets a great cup of coffee made by a person using an espresso machine. Here there was a particularly awful pushbutton machine which dispensed a coffee-like liquid which the average Italian would refuse to drink. The hotel restaurant had a nice looking menu for lunch and dinner but I didn't eat there because of the fantastic variety of good restaurants all around in the city.
The hotel provides wi-fi coverage but the signal was so weak in my 4th floor room that I had to walk down to the 2nd floor to be able to do my e-mail. Even then, it was a restricted service which did not allow all my programs/apps to work. (The free wifi at a restaurant almost next door was perfect, and all one had to do was order a cup of coffee.)
As other reviews said, the staff at the front counter were always helpful, the hotel is clean, and the room rates are fine. It's a perfectly OK place to stay, especially if you don't plan to spend too much time in your room.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are noisy but have a million dollar view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nh525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    334
    281
    183
    129
See reviews for
210
426
57
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel must have been top of the bill when constructed in 1959.. The decor now would suit the most fashionable restaurants in London or new York .. But it is all original.. The few alterations that have been made should be reversed.. The breakfast should be served in the restaurant .. And they should remove the plants in the lobby .. But even without those measures: better value for money is almost impossible: 80 euro for a double room with a view of the leaning tower!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yonnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduomo011, Public Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Duomo, responded to this review, 26 July 2012
Thank you for your really nice review! It's important for us to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable! We are very happy to discover that you loved our Decor charmingly 60s and our choise to remain faithful to the origins! Grand Hotel Duomo is a family business and for us it's important to preserve this nature, our warm and homely atmosphere and in the same way to transmit the enthusiasm by which we carry out our task .Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again!!!
Natalia Barale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
125 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

I spent two nights at Grand Hotel Duomo. The location is great--right near the tower. The staff were friendly. My room was a good size--and the bathroom was huge. Great water pressure. The hotel does feel slightly old (interior looks like it's from the 70's). The rooms were clean. If I am in Pisa again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewBVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Very well sound proofed if a little small rooms
Breakfast plentiful and varied. Roof terrace is nicely shady in am a sun trap in evening. Guests rarely ventured up to these heights but are rewarded with great views of field of miracles and hills in distance.
Staff very helpful and organise taxis as well as helping us with bus services. Nearby San Rossore station good for Lucca
Better eating places are near Calivera piazza.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSTEELE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

hotel was dated but the rooms were very well kept they were cleaned daily the hotel is so near the leaning tour if you go on the roof you have a very private view all to your self staff friendly and the bar man is exactly what is said in every review about him very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel and listen to the activity in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnchaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I surprised my husband with a trip to Pisa and Florence for our anniversary in June this year. I was impressed with Hotel Duomo before we even arrived as the manager emailed me in advance to inform me of a festival that was happening in Pisa the night we were there - La Luminara which is a festvial of lights that happens every year on the 16th of June. He was very friendly and accomodating. I requested a room with a view and the staff obliged. Never in my life have I had such an amazing view, right out of our window was the duomo and the leaning tower, it was magical and a wonderful start to our trip. The hotel is full of original features and rooms are of a good size, it's very clean and in a perfect location, literally footsteps from the leaning tower of pisa. It could do with refurbishment and I probably wouldn't say it was 4 star, but we loved it. The staff were very warm and welcoming and very friendly, they provided us with a map and advice of where to go without even having to ask. They allowed us to leave our luggage after check out and were very accomodating on the two occassions I returned to retrieve things.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ifu03618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

Best location- just 2 minutes walk to leaning tower of Pisa ; Very good view of the tower from the hotel room during the night time as well. Very comfortable to stay in this hotel having a good size bedroom with very well designed bathroom. Great staff and we had a reasonable breakfast. The train station is about 10 minutes in a cab (charges about 11 Euros) but not walking distance. Overall pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Property: Grand Hotel Duomo
Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing