We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“room on 3rd floor with view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #22 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“room on 3rd floor with view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Clearly has been a stately hotel in the past. Reception staff friendly and spoke English.
Room and facilities were very good except that as a street facing room, all the noises, including early restaurant deliveries and late waste disposal were easily audible through the single pane large "french windows" that had the original fittings.
The roof top does indeed have superb views of the tower and all the bell towers of Pisa. It would have been absolutely super to have had a bar or something similar to sit and enjoy the evening sky.
Breakfast was just about average but the waiters were very helpful. Ask for an espresso or espresso based coffee and they'll ftech one (at a small extra cost)
Location is central to everything Pisa has to offer

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    327
    278
    177
    129
See reviews for
201
418
57
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Great location, just round corner from Tower. Looks lovely & grand when you walk in. Grand piano & chandlers! The rooms are a million miles away from this!! Dated decor but clean! Buffet in morning ok, mostly cold savoury or sweets. One night here is plenty. Nothing to see but the tower!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Although I can understand why some folks have said the place is a bit tired, it is clean and our room was spacious. Just fine for a tourist type hotel. The staff are brilliant, from reception to the garage man to the bar tender. The location is perfect.. you can almost touch the leaning tower! Don't miss a trip to the roof top terrace in the evening with a cold beer (bring it up from the bar)!

We reserved a parking place and although it was 25 euros I am glad we did as parking looks a bit challenging elsewhere. The garage is a bit tight but the hotel help with parking and we had no problems.

Breakfast was fine. There are a lot of restaurants just a few yards away from the hotel so evening meals are no problem at all other than choosing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

This hotel is about 30 seconds walk from the Leaning tower. It was clean, functional and ideal from a night or longer stay. There are plenty of restaurants locally. Breakfast not the best - typical Italian. If you want somewhere to stay in middle of city, its a good spot. Take LAM bus from airport to Tower and walk across square.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian499608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here in mid August 2013. It was supposed to be a 4 star Hotel and was expensive for a one nights stay. What can I say but spend your money else where. The rooms were poor, outdated and not very clean. The breakfast was awful, everything cheap and nasty and the coffee was like dishwashing water, nothing at all we could eat. I was told if I wanted proper fresh coffee I had to pay for it. We complained but nothing else was offered to us. I wanted some still water and was told to get it from the machine it tasted like it had been there for months because I could taste metal and not nice. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This was supposed to be a romantic break away but we were left feeling we were conned.

Room Tip: Stay near Pisa Central and travel by bus or walk to see the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margerine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

I really do not know where to start with this review... We stayed in this hotel for one night in August 2013 for a stopover at the end of our holiday before leaving from pisa airport (which is about 10 minutes on a bus from the hotel). The purpose of staying in this hotel was to visit the leaning tower and we picked this solely on location.

Firstly the location is excellent, the tower is a stones throw from the hotel and was super easy to find. There are a few restaurants around and the area in which the hotel is situated is nice. This however is about as far as it goes as being a good hotel.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were quickly checked in and the man at the desk was most helpful and placed us in a room on the top floor with a view of the tower itself.

When we arrived at the room it was instantly clear the decor was dated and has not been modernised since the late 70's/80's. The bed was hard and not comfy the tv had plugs hanging out from behind it with no english channels and there was no tea or coffee in the room. Having said that the room was stocked with clean towels and the a/c worked fine and kept the room at a decent temperature.

Upon investigating a little further I was disappointed that the phone in the room had some sort of brown liquid over the speaker and earpiece and had clearly not been cleaned prior to our arrival.

The room did smell a bit musty as well and could have been cleaned a lot better than it had been.

The hotel itself is incredibly dated and although the staff are helpful we would most defiantly not return, it seems such a shame because if this hotel was brought upto standard (it is more like 2 star hotel than a 4) its location coupled with the staff who do try their best would make it an excellent place to stay.

Lastly breakfast... One of the worst I have ever had in a hotel, the coffee is from a machine and tastes awful, the meats they stock did not look to brilliant so I did not attempt to eat it.. and the fruit looked like it had seen better days... I ended up with 2 pieces of toast and a yogurt and was most disappointed.

Overall... the location of the hotel is amazing, the staff are decent and helpful but it needs a major renovation to bring it close to being 4 star standard.

I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B0wz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We had a great stay here when visiting the city . The hotel is fantastically positioned , we had a great room with a separate but adjoining room for our son & a balcony with a great view of the tower & church. The room & bathroom were clean but the furniture was rather worn in places .
Even though the temperatures were very high , the air con & quiet position meant we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was plentiful , with a large choice .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cornj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
0.0 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#28 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Property: Grand Hotel Duomo
Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing