We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel 200 m from the tower”
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Meant to stay one night only but ended up staying three instead. Great location as only a few hundred meters from the tower. Take the elevator up to the roof terrace on 5th floor for a great view of Pisa and the tower. Unfortunately no bar there but possible to bring your own bottle of wine. Don't miss a drink in the bar when Bob (?) the bartender is working, 84 years young and has served Frank Sinatra and many more; great stories. Nice big, clean rooms with all amenities. Only downfall was the breakfast, standard continental but as a lactose and gluten intolerant person not much to choose from. Normally there is a fresh fruit salad but here it came from tins. But overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: Can recommend a long guided tour with Roberto and his bicycle carriage (rickshaw). Very interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduomo011, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your really nice review! It's important for us to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable! We love our job and our Hotel and we try always to treat every guest as a special friend having great care of them. Grand Hotel Duomo is a family business and for us it's important to preserve this nature, our warm and homely atmosphere and in the same way to transmit the enthusiasm by which we carry out our task .
We have a gluten free menù for the breakfast on demand and we often serve fresh fruit salad on our buffet, but not daily! For the next time I suggest you to ask to the maitre, we always do our best to answer to each request! Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again!!!
The direction and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We only stayed here for one night having travelled from Florence and were leaving Italy the next day from Pisa airport.
This hotel is right beside the leaning tower. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The bed is hard and there is only pillow per person but I slept sound nevertheless.
We had room 305 which was at the front of the hotel. When I opened the window, I was amazed at the view. There is a safe built into the wall which was great, gave us peace of mind.
Breakfast definitely lets the hotel down….its edible but only just. Most coffees come out of a luke warm machine, Espresso and cappuccino need to be ordered separately and are free (an earlier review said there was a charge)
There were baskets of fruit but the very big rotten pear put me off. Breakfast is served until 10am and at 10am sharp, the trays are cleared….
As said in previous reviews, there is a roof top terrace definitely worth a trip up in the lift…..better still bring your own wine and just sit and chill. This made the hotel for me and the reason I gave it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milosgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Just had a 4 day break with husband to Pisa Italy staying at the Hotel Duomo, great location I could not have picked a better location really close to the tower.

On the 5th floor on the roof terrace I had seen the pictures on the websites they look great but the real view is quite magical, the sun was just setting and the view looked like an exquisite painting.

You could tell the hotel was probably a grand hotel in its day, this is not to say that its horrible now - it has that old Italian charm with the chandeliers, the grand piano and the old telephone booths still in the same condition just like in the old movies.

Lovely little area around the tower very busy during the day with lots of siteseers and quiet late on its nice to just walk around and view the church and tower in more detail, all the restaurants around are very good and the food is fantastic with good service, just check on the menus as most charge 15% service charge on top and a few do not.

I always leave a tip but I'm not keen on this being added its just something that bugs me a little.

If you want to get about do get the train from Pisa centre to Florence its a must, takes just under an hour and costs around 32 euros for two return.

Florence is beautiful the The Basilica di Santa Maria Cathedral is so stunning I thought the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona was fantastic but we think this is much more you need to go to see for yourself.

So many lovely buildings and squares to walk around and stop for a bite to eat, weather was 33c while we walked around got a bit hot but great excuse to stop and try the lovely Italian ice-cream !!!!

The tour bus based in Pisa the red colourful one is a bit of a let down, we paid 30 euros for a 45 min tour which you can hop on and off for 24 hours, we managed to go past the Airport 4 times in one day !!! we had to laugh but felt like we had been stung a bit as the bus was 2 euros each and we got everywhere quite easily so way up what's best for you as a family of four or more it seems a lot that you could be spending on other things.

One day we got the bus to Tirrenia for 2.30 euros return if you want to see the seaside, nice breezy walk and a spot of lunch.

Also get off and have a look around near the river just before you go into Pisa centre there are lots of little back streets with little cafés and shops lots of students and really quite lovely.

Pisa is a lovely little break to visit for a few days not too long a flight and the transfer from airport to Pisa is 15 - 20 mins.

I have to say after visiting Sorrento and Capri last year I def have been bit by the Italian bug and will try to see much more of these lovely little cities so get booking and have a look you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel to be honest I just booked a classic double, I wasn't sure of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tilly071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just spent three nights at this hotel and found it very satisfactory. We usually stay in 5* luxury hotels but went for this one because of its location. If you accept that Italy have their own version of star rating then you know that this would be 3* standard anywhere else . It is steps away from the Piazza dei Miracoli, shops and restaurants. We were given a room on the 4th floor from which we had a fantastic view of the leaning tower and cathedral. Yes the rooms are small but very clean, the french doors open up to let the sun stream in and the chattering of life going on in the street below. The bathroom was adequate and very clean, having a bath, shower, basin and loo as well as toiletries. To shut out any noise at night, just close the window and shutters and put on the aircon at the lowest fan speed to keep the room at a cool temperature. On the downside, the beds are creaky and not very comfortable but bearable for a short stay, we had breakfast included but it was very basic so we chose to have breakfast sitting outside one of the very pleasant cafes on the street. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel although in need of new beds is very clean. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it is good to use as a base and for the length of time we would spend in the room, size doesn't bother me. It is a 15 minute walk or a bus ride to the bus/train station which run fantastic services at reasonable prices (perhaps British Rail should take a look at how it is done) to anywhere in Italy. Both myself and my husband really enjoyed the whole experience and cannot wait to go back and do it all again and happy to stay at this hotel which really does give you a taste of Italy!

Room Tip: Request a room on a high floor (there is a lift) at the front for great views of the Tuscan hills, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ravella29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This hotel is in a great location but is incredibly run down and smells like an old bar. The room smelled of cigarette smoke which we could manage. BUT the bathroom in our room smelled so much like stale urine that we had to close the bathroom door just to damper the smell enough to sleep. Also, the toilet and shower were both poorly managed. The toilet barely flushed and the shower head had so much lime and grime that it sprayed in all different directions. Considering there is no shower door, the bathroom was perpetually soaked. Thankfully, we only stayed one night and opted to hang out in the airport for an extra two hours than sit in that stinky room for a second longer than needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aplacey987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduomo011, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,
we are very sorry to read your review and to discover that you were disappointed with your stay. We know that some rooms of the Hotel need to be refurbished and this is the reason why we are restructuring the hotel. Probably your room was in the first floor which unfortunately is the oldest one. We are working to improve our accomodation and hospitality service to satisfy our guest ever more and we hope to finish as soon as possible. But all our rooms are daily cleaned and ventilate!
We take care of our guest opinion and we thank you for bringing to our attention some vacancies which we have reviewed with our housekeeping team and which we will solve immediately. We are working since more than 50 years, we love our job and our Hotel which today is managed, with passion and care, from the grandson of the founder and his employees carry out their task with the same enthusiasm as the founder had in the early years, treating every guest as a special friend and having great care of them. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will try us again.
Thank you for your time,
best regards
Natalia Barale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Very close to Piazza dei Miracoli, it has a terrace with a breathtaking view of the Tower and the Duomo. Excellent restaurant, very good food and also breakfast is awesome.They accepted my small dog without problem. The room was small but comfortable except for the bed which mattress was too hard. We went there with a group of students to see the show "The blunts of Science" and the trip was very good. I recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheptel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my mum for one night to visit the Piazza deI Miracoli. We loved the location, 5 mins walk from the Duomo and shops and restaurants just outside.

The staff, were very friendly, we enjoyed prosecco in the cutest champagne glasses sitting in the rooftop bar with views of the sun setting over the Duomo and the Tuscan hills. Wonderful, I wish I was back.

Thank you for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWC156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
816 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £58 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing