We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Terrace Views”
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Duomo
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is a historic hotel with beautiful marble throughout. It is a bit dated, but nostalgic. But the terrace is the most wonderful amenity of the hotel. Everyone can access the rooftop terrace and the view of the tower and duomo is so romantic, especially at night. The restaurant has a very good breakfast, though the coffee dispensing machine wasn't so great, but the food offerings were extensive. We had a lovely meal one evening in the dining room where Andrea tossed and served us a delicious salad table side. Great pasta too. The room was a good size. Ours had a view of the tower. The shower was small and a bit leaky, but the bathroom itself was quite spacious. We also loved the bar and the very friendly bartender who spoke excellent English. Not only is this place close to the tower, but just behind the Baptistry is the bus stop to go to Lucca. There are lots of other nice restaurants nearby too. This stay really was a delightful end for our Italy trip before flying home. If I were to go back to Pisa, I would definitely stay here so I could enjoy that lovely terrace view again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KentuckyRedhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 1,254 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

- The hotel is advertised with parking which when we arrived was not available so We had to park on the other side of the town in a secure parking lot (its not easy to find one in Pisa). Apologies were not forthcoming.

- The rooms are VERY dated - the leaning tower actually looks newer....

- Cleanlyness is questionable.

- Security is nonexistent.

- Staff very unprofessional.

- The only positive is the location.

Overall i would steer as far away as possible...

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Balentino1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The location of this hotel is fantastic- a mere stones throw away from the tower and the other sites around there. There are also many restaurants and shops around the hotel which makes it very convenient . The hotel also offers free wi-fi in the room and can also offer gluten free dishes. The only downside to this hotel is that it is extremely dated. It could do with a revamp. There are no tea / coffee making facilities in the room. I required hot water a few times and was asked to bring down my own bottle or cup to take this back up as they were not able to provide this!

Overall the rooms and bathrooms are reasonably clean and would recommend to those who are looking for a central location over-looking the leaning tower.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Hotel needs updating. Rooms are very tired looking. Our window looked onto a wall! Very dated. Location is good as very close to tower. Nothing special about this hotel other than the location. Transport to & from airport was quick & easy. We visited Florence on the train & that was easy too

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kerry-Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stopped overnight 9 July in Pisa mainly because we were catching a flight back to Scotland the following day.The hotel Grand Duomo is not the most inviting.On our arrival the place was deserted and the chap on reception not the most welcoming.Although the rooms are clean they are without doubt dated and need upgrading badly. The toilet and shower area was very clean with plenty of towels but it too is dated.It must have been a top hotel in its day with marble sinks and facings etc.The room was clean also with the hardest bed we have ever slept on with one flat hard pillow each!Breakfast was also uninspiring with no freshly cut fruit and juice flavoured water again in a dated setting.The only redeeming feature is the hotels proximity to the Tower of Pisa,literally 200 yards away.All in all although reasonably priced this was not a good end to our holiday in Italy!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Magoo809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The Hotel was dated and worn. The rooms were below average. Pillows were flat as pancakes and the general overall cleanliness of the hotel was suspect. The location however was perfect. Stayed there for one night and it was one night too long.

Room Tip: Select another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Meant to stay one night only but ended up staying three instead. Great location as only a few hundred meters from the tower. Take the elevator up to the roof terrace on 5th floor for a great view of Pisa and the tower. Unfortunately no bar there but possible to bring your own bottle of wine. Don't miss a drink in the bar when Bob (?) the bartender is working, 84 years young and has served Frank Sinatra and many more; great stories. Nice big, clean rooms with all amenities. Only downfall was the breakfast, standard continental but as a lactose and gluten intolerant person not much to choose from. Normally there is a fresh fruit salad but here it came from tins. But overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: Can recommend a long guided tour with Roberto and his bicycle carriage (rickshaw). Very interesting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Agneta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduomo011, Responsabile reception at Grand Hotel Duomo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your really nice review! It's important for us to know that we were able to make your stay enjoyable! We love our job and our Hotel and we try always to treat every guest as a special friend having great care of them. Grand Hotel Duomo is a family business and for us it's important to preserve this nature, our warm and homely atmosphere and in the same way to transmit the enthusiasm by which we carry out our task .
We have a gluten free menù for the breakfast on demand and we often serve fresh fruit salad on our buffet, but not daily! For the next time I suggest you to ask to the maitre, we always do our best to answer to each request! Thank you for being our guest, we hope to see you again!!!
The direction and the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#4 of 68 in Pisa
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
831 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Address: Via Santa Maria 94, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £56 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing