We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Kinzica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arriving at this hotel is like entering a time warp and stepping back in time to about 1970. I felt oddly nostalgic as if I were reliving a family holiday to Italy when I was 15 (am now in my 50s) - even the smells were the same! If you prefer soulless, modern hotels like Novotel or Premier Inn - and the chance of bumping into Lenny Henry - then this probably isn't the hotel for you; however, if you're prepared to embrace the experience, with its softly faded furnishings (and staff) from a bygone age, this hotel will not disappoint.

Our room was simple, comfortable, clean with an amazing view: laying in bed looking out at the Leaning Tower (see my pictures) will stay with me forever. The AC - the only thing I saw of this millennia - was very effective - important when it's July and 32c outside...

The breakfast with limited cereal choice, juice, croissants, jams and cheap, shop-bought yoghurts was not brilliant, but actually perfectly adequate. If you're looking for a sumptuous breakfast buffet with traditional English fry-ups and cafe lattes, you will be very disappointed. This was very much a 'continental breakfast'. The elderly Italian waitress could certainly have done with some help and maybe a refresher course in guest awareness; I observed that people arriving at breakfast hovered, expecting at least some kind of welcome and hint at where they could sit but none came. Top tip: just sit anywhere and just ask the lady for coffee. Don't expect to asked.

When dining out at lunchtime or evening I suggest finding a restaurant well away from the main tourist drag where bustling restaurants rush your order as they want you out - bill paid - as fast as possible to free your table for the next customers, so there is little pleasure in eating and relaxing. I strongly suggest walking 5 or 10 mins away from the hotel (in direction of river) and dining at a much less busy restaurants in the quieter streets, who try much harder as they want you to return AND their food is way better.

Sight seeing: I suggest going up the Leaning Tower (open till around 9.30pm) in the early evening when it's cooler and the tourist busses have all departed and the crowds are way less. It's expensive though at 18 Euros each...

Room Tip: Our family room had a separate tiny room for our child, which was brilliant. View down is of an unin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 377chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    177
    151
    56
    33
See reviews for
107
208
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

The location of the hotel was absolutely fantastic, second to none - from our room we could see the tower straight on and about 200 m away. The room was clean and functional and the breakfasts absolutely OK. The staff was very friendly too.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vilve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

A nice place to stay for a couple of nights in Pisa. We travelled with our daughter of 1,5 years old and requested a crib for her. We got a big room (maybe because of the crib?) with a balcony (the only room with a balcony?), so it was perfect for us. And it's litteraly next to the leaning tower.

We talked a lot to Fabio, a guy who worked there. He treated our little girl like a princess and she loved the attention. It's always nice to meet staff who treat you like a friend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gry_Lytjohan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

And great location. Plus everything worked. Unlike the other writers, I got along great with the staff. The knew enough English for me. You can buy beer at the subway next door.

If you want to have the "old world" experience, this place is for you. When I'm in Europe, which is never enough, this is what i want. not over priced either i thought. If you want something new and modern, find something else, but for me to be able to open the windows was great. Most of the glass box hotels don't allow that.

Room Tip: You can get a view of the tower if you ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler_Bill707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The staff was very frendly, guy at the front desk spoke perfect english and had a great sence of humour! Room was clean, had a Tv, phone and safe. There was a laptop with free of use in the common area. Breakfast was ok. View was nice; leaning tower :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piitu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've stayed in some interesting places in my time, but this place....
We were met by the long haired sweaty scruff of a receptionist who spoke little English, which given the trade he is in, I found poor. The room was adequate sized, but basic to say the least. The sky box was taped to the top of the TV and perched precariously. The air-conditioning did not work, which in 30 degree heat was unbearable. The bathroom was grim. The floor tiles were dirty. The shower tray had a crack in it and moved when you stepped inside.
The breakfast room was untidy with empty plates and cups left on tables, so people struggled to find a seat.
This hotel is OK for a quick, cheap overnight stop, but nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulk-0927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Room 42 in this hotel has to one of the best rooms with a fabulous view. We just could not believe our luck when we opened the shutters and found ourselves gazing at the Leaning Tower. The room was great, very clean, comfortable bed, adequate bathroom and with our own balcony to sit on and watch the world go by. Not only that but the bus from Pisa airport stopped right outside and costs €1.20, an absolute bargain. The staff were friendly. Breakfast was ok but this is in no way a complaint as we could not believe the location. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqueline19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#29 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Roma
Hotel Roma
#11 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#19 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Kinzica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Kinzica

Property: Hotel Villa Kinzica
Address: Piazza Arcivescovado 2, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Kinzica 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Kinzica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinzica Hotel Pisa
Hotel Kinzica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing