We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”
Review of Hotel Verdi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Verdi
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This place is run down, dirty and not worth the money at all. Don't go there! We have stayed at many budget hotels around the hotel, and in most cases you get what you pay for. But at place you would expect a lot more based on the price.What a dissapointment. It's obvious that they benefit from tourists who only vist Pisa once.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johansen1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

If you are looking for a place to bunk down for the night just to sleep after running around sightseeing, this may be the place as it is centrally located. It all depends on the purpose of the hotel. Don't expect much but better than sleeping in a tent or at a hostel, you'll do fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yori O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

I booked this review based on its Trip Advisor ranking. We checked into the hotel and left after reviewing two rooms with similar issues. The rooms are run down. The carpets are heavily stained and dirty. We were given another room and similar issues were noted. One of the washrooms had a hair drier fixed with duct tape. The same bathroom had broken shower doors. The door had been kicked in at an earlier time and the door jambs had not been repaired. The two rooms had lamp shades that were heavily stained.
We had requested a room with two beds. One bed was on a normal bed rail. The other bed was a box and spring directly on the floor. The hotel is not being maintained and it does not appear that anyone is trying to address any issues. I received numerous mosquito bites in the lobby while using their computers which further added insult to injury.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00happytraveller00_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Good bits: I found this hotel to be in a quiet location and near lots of places to eat. It was about a 10 minute walk to the tower and about 10 minutes by car to the airport. The room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. You also had free air con and t.v.

Bad bits: The room was dark and dingy. The carpet was filthy, discolouring and had several stains. The toilet seat had a chip in it and the size of the shower could just about fit a slim person. Not only this but the walls inside the bathroom had damp and the paint was peeling. The main light in the bedroom was really dim and the side lights did not work either. It felt morbid. The hotel itself was lifeless. The breakfast buffet which they offered was limited and most definitely not fresh: it was not worth the money I paid for it.

Considering how much I paid for this hotel I was expecting a basic standard, but I'm afraid it did not even meet this. It is beyond my comprehension how this hotel even achieved a ranking of 8 on the trip advisor list. One night was definitely too many.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Centi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This hotel could be so much more than it is with a little effort. General building areas and rooms are tired though OK for one night which is all Pisa really needs. Staff though certainly did not go out of their way to add a friendly smile! Best thing, fairly cheap!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markadlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We dont know Pisa and we didnt pay a lot so we were pleasantly surprised by the location and look of the hotel when the taxi dropped us of at about 10.30pm. We dumped the bags and headed for one of the numerous Piazza. When we returned to our room we went straight to bed so it wasnt until the next morning we started to explore. We went down to breakfast and to be honest I wasnt expecting a lot and my expectations were fully met. There were fresh croisant, continental cereals, cheese and ham, fresh friut salad, yoghurt, water, biscuits, tea and coffee, it was ok. We stayed for four days and over the days the fresh fruit salad disappeared, then the pots of yogurt and then the water was reduced to one bottle of still and one bottle of fizzy water, but in fairness it would be replenished if you asked. (but you had to ask!)
The room was right above the front door and was a reasonable size, the TV only played foreign channels, BBC world news would have been good. It was reasonably clean up to the height of about 6 ft but anything above that had not been cleaned for some time, the rooms had very high ceilings. The bed was comfortable, and the room was serviced with clean towels every day. I had a problem with the safe on day one and despite repeated requests this was never sorted. ( I think a safe is a necessity) on relection even if it had been fixed there would still be a problem as it was located in a flimsy cupboard and not even fixed to the cupboard, so any thief could have walked away with it.
Staff varied from very helpful to uninterested, all were polite.
At the end of the day we decided to stay, stop complaining about the safe and breakfast and enjoy what we came for Pisa, Florence, Lucca and the Andrea Bocelli concert, which was great.
I dont think I will be revisiting the Verdi Pisa.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copppertop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My wife & I stayed here for two days at the end of June.

As usual we selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews but this one fell way short of our expectations..

From our experience I am not really sure why this hotel has so many decent reviews.

The hotel is located close to within Pisa centre and the leaning tower and many restaurants.

I think most hotels offer good location as Pisa is a very small place to walk round.

The double room we stayed in was dark & small and overlooked by unsightly residential apartments that were very close. This gave no privacy at all so the shutters were almost closed all the time we were in our room. The lighting is really poor and the room had an unclean. depressing feel to it.

The breakfast was very poor serving stale breads and machines for your drinks.

On the plus side the people on reception especially the lady were very friendly & helpful but we were happy to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delboyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#54 of 68 in Pisa
379 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#24 of 68 in Pisa
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
428 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Minerva
Hotel Minerva
#33 of 68 in Pisa
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#23 of 68 in Pisa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verdi

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 5-6, 56127, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: £48 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Verdi 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Verdi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verdi Hotel Pisa
Hotel Verdi Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing