We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #21 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

fantastic surprise to get to a hotel and find out its like a museum.old but well looked after .start with the roofgarden and go down floor by floor and see the great thing exibited from piture frames ,furniture porcelain. very friendly staff good breakfast with a big selection.best value for your money.fantastic location near all interesting sites.we would stay there again for sure

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nico k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    416
    222
    114
    105
See reviews for
173
565
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We (family with 2 children) stayed at this hotel on our way to Tuscany with a 1 night stop-over in Pisa. It’s beautifully located by the Arno river in the middle of the city, 10 minutes walk from the central station and 10 minutes by taxi from the airport. The hotel itself is a charming old building with stone stairways and tiled floors.

We had to go through a lenghty registration procedure on our arrival after midnight (with two tired children!!) which was quite annoying. Especially since I had to do some of it over again the next morning because they didn’t get all the info they needed.

We stayed in a room with a shared toilet and bath outside in the corridor which was fine for us. It was clean and had a sink and comfortable beds. It was also quite cool because of the stone floors and dark shutters. Breakfast is excellent with a lot of variety. The hotel also has a beautiful rooftop terrace where you can enjoy your coffee or drinks.

The sights of Pisa are within walking distance of this hotel, and I recommend it as a base for exploring Pisa.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_S_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2011

Great location, easy to get to from the airport. Fabulous staff, helpful and friendly. Struggled for hot water but it was warm enough in Summer to do without! Exceptionally good value with a superb breakfast. We would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I booked this hotel because of its cheap price and close proximity to the train station which I needed to travel from the next day. I knew what to expect because I had read all the previous reviews of this place before I booked it. It certainly has character, lots of interesting public rooms to browse around and the staff were reasonably friendly.
My room was a simple single room with shared bathroom down the hall which was a bit of a pain but as I was only staying the one night, I thought it was ok. The bathroom seemed clean , bedlinen was fresh so no complaints there. My room was quiet since it didn't face the river. I had a look at the terrace where drinks were served and was a bit disgusted to see such a mess. There were several tables with dirty glasses and overflowing ashtrays just lying there. Nobody was making any attempt to clear away anything and the next morning it was still the same.....I think this hotel needs to buck up its ideas a bit .It may once have been a grand hotel but there is only so long that guests will put up with this illusion of grandeur...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doaknic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

On the plus side, it's quite well located. However, I'm not sure that fact outweighs the sense that the whole place needs a bit of a lift. It just feels a little tired and worn - perhaps that's only to be expected in such an old building. The stairways are quite grand, and I suppose the rustic rooms have their charm, but it felt more like staying in a hostel than a hotel. Certainly it's quite expensive given the level of accommodation.

As my brother noted below, his room had bedbugs, which, to be fair to the owners, has now been rectified (in room 206 at least- don't know about others). It's to the credit of the hotel that they've put right something which went wrong, although I can't help feeling it could have been dealt with better at the time of the problem.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in Pisa so can't really say if the Royal Victoria is any better or worse than other hotels in the area, although I wouldn't stay here again that's for sure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilkij86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed for only one night so we were close to the airport for our departure flight. The reception area is quaint and like much of the hotel is literally like going back in time. There was a mix up with our reservation - Expedia's fault not the hotel. The hotel wouldn't budge & we had to pay an extra 15E to upgrade from a twin to a triple room. The room itself was nice - lovely big, old furniture and high ceilings. The bathroom was a 1960's hell - we hated it but it made us laugh!! The bath/shower was horrid but we grinned & bared it since it was only for the one night. Location wise - excellent. 5 mins (if that) from the airport, overlooking the Arno & 2 minute walk to the lively student bars & cafes. Breakfast was adequate with the usual buffet fair. The atmosphere was odd to say the least - nobody spoke, but we didn't let that stop us chattering with our 3 year old. The dining room definitely needed a bit of life injecting in to it that morning!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turnipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We stayed here in mid August and really enjoyed it. It's more for the quirky than the creature-comfort loving, so if you're the type that's happy to sacrifice atmosphere and character for guaranteed 15 degree aircon then this probably isn't the place for you. But if you love quaint furniture, a place with history and friendly proprietors then I'd recommend this place. Breakfast was also really good - wide range. And my room had an amazing view of the river.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeTownHelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
1,547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing