We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #23 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“charming”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stumbled on this hotel on a short break to Italy, although we only spent one night we felt we d stumbled on a treasure . The staff are incredibly friendly . We were staying in a traditional room and we felt we had walked into another world, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    407
    220
    111
    104
See reviews for
166
554
52
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I totally agree with all the previous positive reviews - this historic and charming hotel is full of character, provides a very central and easily found location (we walked from airport as there was no bus due into town... took 20 minutes at night) and provided us with a very pleasant and comfortable one night stay with an adequate breakfast for only £50 in September. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the roof terrace provides a calm oasis with lovely views (and a bottle of pinot grigio with snacks for only 12 Euro!). bus stops outside with shuttle every 15 minutes to airport (1 Euro ) and Leaning Tower / Basilica a lovely 15 minute walk through the old town streets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: en suite standard or superior rooms would be a better option for more than 1 night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Amazing hotel oozing character and charm. The roof terrace is stunning and you can order a very reasonably priced bottle of wine with complimentary snacks to relax with. Certain parts of the hotel are laid out as it would have looked in the 1900s. It was lovely to browse around and just soak up the atmosphere.
The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and charming. The breakfast was great too - plentiful and something for everyone.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersona2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carradale, scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

If you are a Hilton/Holiday Inn/Marriott kind of person, do not visit here !
If however, you like old historic buildings, splendidly located and run with charming, dedicated staff, this could be for you.
Sit in the reading room and imagine Charles Dickens scribing there. Imagine Theodore Roosevelt and his entourage bustling about noisily.
The old visitor's books are a revelation.
Accept the hotel for what it is, and one day you might just realise you were visiting Europe's historical past in a most astonishing way.
Think Raffles hotel in Singapore before they tarted it up, think Gabriel Garcia Marques and 'Love in a time of cholera', and you might begin to understand the experience.
We will go back again God willing, to that room with balcony overlooking the river Arno, and hope it doesn't change too much.
 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hebridesferryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for one evening on the start of our travels through Italy. This is hotel is in a lovely old building right in the heart of Pisa. We where able to walk from the airport to the hotel which took approximately 40 minutes. The rooms where adequate with comfy beds but the bathrooms where not the cleanest and although there is a toilet on each floor the shower was a few floors up. Reasonable for a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoFar12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey England
Level Contributor
296 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The hotel is a wonderful old building in the heart of Pisa and has been a hotel for centuries. In the past this was a grand hotel which would have been lavishly furnished. Previous guest include the likes of Charles Dickens, Winston Churchill and various royalty.
The hotel has fallen on difficult times and the décor is not what it once was. The furnishings are, unfortunately, more Argos than baroque. Nonetheless, this is a wonderful opportunity to stay in this old hotel for very reasonable rates.
The room was large and the bed comfortable and everything was clean.
Breakfast was an extensive continental affair with lots of choice.
All the sights of Pisa and the rail station are within ten minutes walk.
I would recommend the hotel.

A couple of doors down from the hotel there is a very nice little pizza/pasta restaurant and a gelateria, used almost entirely by locals. Very nice, cheap food and wine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top rear are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silverpablito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlawn, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We have now stayed here together three times; my husband for a total of five times. He loves it! It is in a wonderful location; right on the River Arno, directly across the river from the post poffice and within very close proximity to the central shopping areas, the Tower, Cathedral and Baptistry.
The hotel does have self-serve "breakfast"; the usual European meats, cheeses, yogurts & other items which I could not make out. And, of course, the bread.
Upon our arrival, the bathroom light was not working, but by mid-afternoon & a second request to the front desk, the light bulb was replaced. The staff are extremely courteous and friendly. But, the hotel is dated and is badly in need of updates. Do not get me wrong, the place is very clean but very old looking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side tend to be a bit noisier than those in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bokunhandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
381 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
1,776 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing