We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old world hotel in heart of Pisa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely old world hotel in heart of Pisa”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. The hotel has elegance and you get a good feel for the past. Location is great, round the corner from some great bars and restaurants. Breakfast is basic but tasty. Good for a couple of nights.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    407
    220
    112
    105
See reviews for
168
555
52
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loule, Portugal
Level Contributor
332 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from Pisa and must say that this hotel is simply brilliant ...great location on the river and it's right in the venter between the train station and the leaning tower

The hotel is nearly 200 years old and has been owned and managed by the same family . It is worth asking the manger about the hotel and he and his daughter will tell you everything about the history of the hotel and it's royal connection.... You will be surprised how many kings and queens have stayed here.

It is a brilliant hotel and well worth the visit when in Pisa

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gerard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel in May 2013 with my wife and daughter. Hotel is located in a historic building, in very convenient location and for reasonable price. Unfortunately, I was not aware of consequences while using their car park.
My good memories from long weekend in Italy have been overshadowed by 125 Eur fine imposed by Municipality of Pisa for entering restricted traffic zone (my car was captured by street camera).
I drove through the restricted area solely to access the Hotel Royal Victoria car park (there is no alternative route to get there). I paid for the car park on top of the room rate (30 Eur) for peace of mind (mistakenly!) because there was no visitors car park available at the street.

Here are reasons why I blame the hotel for misleading information and lack of professionalism:

1. Hotel's staff did not inform me that traffic restrictions apply to the hotel's guests.
2. Staff member showed me a way to the car park through the restricted area without any warning.
3. Staff member ensured me that guest of the hotel are entitled to drive through like local residents.
4. Hotel's staff did not send details of my car to the local police at the time of my stay (even though there is procedure in place to avoid fines on local hotels residents).
5. Hotel's reception offered refund of the cost of the penalty under condition that sufficient prove of stay will be provided. This is despite an obligation to keep records of visitors (i.e. for reissue of the invoice).
5. The evidence was provided and reception have avoided contact since then.
6. The refund has been never actually paid.

If you consider booking your accommodation with this hotel, be careful and avoid using its car park. Otherwise, you will be charged a fine by local authorities (they have 18 months to do so) and if you will drive hired car there will be additional administration fee of 35 Eur for sending your details to the local police.

Have a nice time in Italy and avoid troubles

Room Tip: Hotel is a bit noisy over night due to busy roads around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
leicester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

A well presented hotel, the rooms are what I think of as typically Italian, classy and clean. Breakfast was a wide variety of fruit, cereals, breads, huge croissants, cheese, ham and yogurts. The position of the hotel is great, 20ish minute walk to the leaning tower and about the same to the railway station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ensure you have chosen the correct option, we found someone had not read properly and booked shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vesparose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Royal victoria hotel has so much character and authenticity, and from the moment you walk in, it feels like you're stepping back in time and getting a feel for what Italy is really like. The staff are so friendly and just want to advise you on the best attractions, restaurants etc. The room was beautiful and even though, it wasn't the biggest, for the price we got it for-it was a steal! Breakfast was the best we had on our entire 13 day trip around Italy with a great selection of anything you could ever want.

Such a great experience and the best way to experience authentic Pisa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony which overlooks the amazing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The location is good and the staff are friendly. The room is very basic, but it's okay since it was also pretty cheap. There were lots of internet problems - one day it didn't work at all, and the hotel staff didn't believe us when we told them. Once they rebooted the router and got it going the next day, it dropped out quite a lot and was fairly slow

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_plus_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Göteborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Old hotel in centre of Pisa. Good location, very beautiful big room. One thing that we don't liked, was that information says check in time is from 12, we arrived at 2 pm and the room was not ready. At 4 we got our room... Also I booked a quiet room but there was a lot of sounds from outside. Breakfast was quite booring. But in general; nice hotel that I can recommend if you like to live in an old hotel with beautiful rooms and great location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sommarsolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
406 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
1,779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
1,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing