We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this beautiful charmer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
Ranked #24 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Loved this beautiful charmer”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

One night in Pisa-
This hotel is gorgeous! So many of the public rooms look like something from a film set in the 1800's. This history here is quite rich. I expected an older hotel to look dated and not so retro chic as it was! This beautiful aesthetic was in the lobby and many other rooms that you were free to explore. Piano rooms, telephone rooms, etc. Balconies on every floor you can walk out and admire the Arno River just below.

The location is superb- being on the river is very romantic in the evenings--it looks like Venice or Florence but less crowded. There's a bustling piazza a few meters away which is great for drinking with locals at night. And in the day time you can easily walk to the main sighs in ten minutes.

However, the actual room we stayed in did not reflect this style. It was a very simple, basic room. Not particularly romantic as you would expect seeing the lobby, the public rooms, etc. However, it was quite comfortable and even had a little air conditioner wall unit which was a very happy surprise. There was a small tv. I had gotten a very good rate here on Venere of 60 Eur for a double with a shared bath. But we had our own bathroom in the room after all! Love it when that happens.

The breakfast was another big treat. The rooms used for breakfast are so charming and the Italian style buffet is quite good in my opinion. They made fresh cappucini to order (or whatever hot beverage you want) , delicious There was meat, cheese, cornetti, fruit, nutella, etc.

The staff was very helpful with maps, calling us taxis, etc. The front desk felt like 4 star treatment, especially when I compare to staying in an actual 4 star hotel in Rome and getting rather gruff service at that desk. I did, however, notice a couple was arguing with the staff about not liking the hotel and wanting to cancel their reservation without penalty because it was their honeymoon and they weren't happy here.I was very curious, I almost wanted to ask them why they didn't like it! Maybe they were expecting more luxury in their room for a honeymoon?

My mom recommeded this hotel to me, she stayed here by herself (she is a middle aged woman).

Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank butfoodcomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    420
    224
    115
    110
See reviews for
176
572
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Classic, spacious, cool and well-run grand-tour era hotel. It hasn't got a business centre. Or a swimming pool. Or a spa. It was the best hotel for anyone who wants to escape the modern world without sacrificing things like good service, cleanliness and efficiency.

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank olinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

I can't imagine experiencing Pisa in any other way now that I have stayed at the Royal Victoria. The view from our room overlooking the river set the stage for a very interesting short visit to this quirky, ancient town. As others have mentioned, the Royal Victoria is quirky itself. The rooms are full of antique furniture, frescos on the walls, and almost too much space. I loved it though. The old, wide staircase and the little rooftop space gave the hotel so much ambience. I do recommend this hotel. It's not the height of luxury or service, but it is a comfortable hotel and a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medorand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

This hotel is from a bygone era with lots of character, charm and presence sitting alongside the River Arno in the centre of Pisa, ideally placed for the sights, shops, restaurants and station. The bus stop, 50 metres from the front door runs direct to the station and airport.

The hotel has a small roof garden where one can enjoy a drink in the evening, one of the hotel's evening aperitifs perhaps, or a coffee or two. The so called 'traditional room that we enjoyed was full of period features and furniture, of a good size and also overlooked the river.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful as were the breakfast staff. All we spoke to talked good English. The breakfasts were excellent, buffet style with all the usual 'continental' offerings, certainly plenty to keep going until late in the day!

Take a stroll around the hotel to see displays of old pictures, traditional furniture, flower stands and other displays in the stairwells and one or two large lounge areas.

For an evening meal try literally next door at the small restaurant, great pizzas and a reasonably choice of other dishes, although strangely not a great pasta menu. Skip the desert and go next door to that for a delicious ice cream and join the many students and others who are enjoying the same!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueBoxsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaSpezia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The Royal Victoria is closer to a museum than a Hotel. History is all around you and it feels you become part of it when climbing up to the terrace through wonderful rooms.
The service is very good and friendly. Obviously you cannot expect the latest technology gadgets at the Royal, but you will forget that these even exist.
We had a room overlooking the Arno river that made our stay even more romantic.
The only thing that is a bit complex is the directions to the car park and getting the car back out.
For me there's no alternative. When in Pisa I'm going Royal.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Devonair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We have stayed in there for a night when we visited pisa. The hotel is quite old but being maintained very nicely. This hotel is 10 minutes walk from pisa station and also to pisa towers. It is located just infront of the river so you could have a nice atmosphere. The rooms are really spacious and the furniture and heating systems are quite old but well maintained. the rooms were very neat and tidy and very artisitc communal hall. the Breakfast was really very good and rich variety of foods available to choose. The receptioist were quite helpful. They didn't have restaurant in there, so we had to search in the night for the food.

Overall good hotel for the family visitors.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarun053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We arrived at the Royal Victoria for the start of our two-week cycling tour of Italy in early June. Upon arrival the receptionist/manager was efficient, friendly and extremely helpful - offering the use of their garage (and tools) to re-build the bycicles following our filght. The room was wonderful (they had upgraded us simply because they had the room available). Beautiful hotel, very clean, interesting and fantastic location - right by the River Arno and within walking distance of the main attractions. Food was EXCELLENT. Staff were the best we encountered on the two-week trip which included staying at 10 other hotels in Tuscany (several considerably more expensive than the Royal Victoria). Beautiful terrace and spacious rooms throughout the hotel. This is not a modern chain but a wonderfully historic building and a joy to stay at. The bathrooms are in need of a facelift but a small point amidst an oasis of positives.

The hotel kindly stored our suitcases and we received the same excellent service upon our return two weeks later. The room we were allocated this time was just as nice as the first. Whenever I visit Pisa I will stay at this hotel. I honestly cannot recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LancasterCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#11 of 68 in Pisa
1,560 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria Hotel
Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti 12, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3 star in the city centre, the Royal Victoria Hotel is the only accommodation overlooking the Arno River, at only 950 meters both from the Leaning Tower and the Central Train Station. It is the oldest hotel in Italy, dating from the 11th century (,) and is owned by the same family since 1837. The hotel has a 19th century style, with different types of rooms, each with private bathroom, heating, direct-dial telephone, free wi-fi and multilingual sat-TV. All rooms have hypo-allergenic fixtures, suitable for non-smokers (,) and 85% of them has independent air-conditioning. The building – which also has a lift – has a parking within premises, available only with reservation, at a fee. A rich Continental Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of the room. Bar service is provided both in our Reading Room and up on the Roof-Garden. Public areas and business meeting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing