We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from 4 * Hotel! Rude barman! Noise and shouting staff night and early morning!”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far from 4 * Hotel! Rude barman! Noise and shouting staff night and early morning!”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed from 4th util 8th September 2011.
All started OK with a lift from the airport, then lady at the reception wasn't too welcoming straight away asked for both passports mine and my husband's!
Room 214 was big enough with spacious bathroom with a big window and no curtain on it only shutters, found it annoying...
had 2 twin beds pushed together, wasn't too comfortable! Free water from mini bar was a nice gesture.
please bare in mind they offer lots of "free" labled staff, can t complain about water from miniabr or transfer, but

FREE tasting downstairs wasn't really free, cheap markiting trick! With very grumpy staff looking at you every time!
barman actually came up to us and with the rude attitude barked "order drinks!!"
beer or wine!!" so we just left, why bother trying local food if staff so welcoming?!

Lots of shouting and noise form the kitchen and back yard! late hours and early morning!!!


far from 4 star hotel! and on the way back taxi man was late for 15 minutes from the time we booked, plus had to share the taxi and stop at the train station on the way to the airport.. glad we were in time leaving lots of time to spare!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your feedback. Your opinion is very important for us and we try to learn from every single constructive input. Unfortunately I am not able to reconstruct now, if 6 weeks before in room 214 the housekeeper forgot to put the curtains, but if he really did, I am begging for your pardon. Please notice that reception is available 24 hours/day speaking 3-4 languages, maybe they could have helped you out. I am surprised to see our free food offers to be interpreted as a "cheap" Marketing-trick, at least I would see it as an "expensive" Marketing trick as we offer "free"!! local products, not stuff from supermarkets or wholesalers but selected topnotch delicacy from local producers, providing tuscan excellence and tradition matured over decades or centuries. Pasta Morelli, Tartuffi Saviani, Tuscan Oil from Luca and San Maniato, this all for free and daily, I travel a lot for business and pleasure, but I rarely have seen this in 4-star hotels over Europe. If you didn´t like the attitude of our staff, we deeply apologize and assure to have an special regard on this. Our shuttle service is free - so please - also for following readers, don´t be surprised if you "must" share the car with other persons, it´s only a 5 minutes ride to the airport, everybody has his own seat and usually the guests are very educated, likeable and appreciate a short small-talk on the way home. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please feel free to get in touch with us. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    940
    1,038
    329
    95
    46
See reviews for
480
1,122
195
192
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We arrived at the airport and telephoned to use the free shuttle. The person that answered the phone spoke excellent English and told us where to meet the shuttle. It arrived 10 minutes later and we were whisked to the hotel. Our room wasn't ready because we had arrived early but we were able to leave our bags.

Our room was comfortable with a large clean bathroom with all of the niceties that you would expect to find. Tea and coffee making facilities, a hair dryer and free WiFi.

Breakfast was very good. Continental options, cereals, Bacon and egg as well as toast.

The hotel is probably not the cheapest that you could stay in but we did get a reasonable rate by booking in advance and it was good value for money.

We would definitely stay again if we came back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceri74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for choosing our hotel and for your nice feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed your time with us us and you appreciated our services. Early booking is indeed a good idea as we offer highly competitive rates for advance bookers on our website. We would be very happy to welcome you soon again and are always at your complete disposal. Have a good time and best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bologna Hotel last Friday night to be close to the airport. It is spotlessly clean. The bedroom and bath are set up in the most efficient way. The staff is welcoming and helpful. The location is central to the shopping/restaurant area and is a 20 minute walk to the Tower of Pisa. My compliments!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetotravelabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your opinion with other travellers, and also thank you for your nice compliments. We are glad to see you had a good time with us and would be more than happy to welcome you soon again in our hotel. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to get in touch with us. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stouport on Severn
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Stayed at Bologna Hotel for a long weekend in October 2011 with friends. Hotel is very conveniently located on a oneway street near to the river and the shopping centre. We chose to take the local bus from the airport which dropped in a nearby street (Bus Stop Crispi 2). We were allocated Room 213 on the second floor which overlooked the street. The street can be a little busy at times and there is some noise from passing traffic, but this stops during the night, so does not disturb you. The hotel's facilities are excellent and we could not fault the standards of service and cleanliness. Some nice touches were - free water and cakes when checking in, free transfer to train station and airport, free walking tour of Pisa and free WIFI.
The only issue we had was the size of the breakfast room - if you eat at peak times, such as 9.00 am, the room is very busy and you may have to wait for a table. Excellent selection of food for breakfast, but don't expect a full English.
The took advantage of the fee walking tour and would recommend it. However, the tour does not include entry into the Leaning Tower or any of the other buildings and I would suggest you prebook entry into the Tower, otherwise you could have a long wait. Tickets are timed entry. Would recommend the Bologna Hotel and Pisa.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the Hotel to avoid any noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your nice feedback. We are happy to see enjoyed the free guided city tour we offer. We are planning to promote this also for the coming season 2012. Hope to see you soon again. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2011

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The staff were so friendly and helpful, it was a pleasure to stay there and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and lots of choice.

The shuttle to the airport and back as well as to the train station and back was certainly and added bonus and made our stay easier.

Recommend you making a trip to Florence which is so easy and quick on the train, can be only 45 minutes! The hotel staff helped us so much. It was worth the trip.


Great place!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz_Paradise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying with us and for sharing your experience in this forum. Also thanks a lot for your nice compliments towards our staff, they follow this forum constantly and I am sure they will very much appreciate your comments. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don´t hesitate to contact us. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This was our first trip to Pisa. We found this hotel after quite a bit of searching on various web sites (incl. TripAdvisor.co.uk). We ended up booking the hotel through a discount web site called hotelsclick.com which I would recommend. The rate we got was 102.50 GBR, which was about 40 GBR less than the hotel's lowest advertised rate.

As for the hotel itself, it is in a convenient location on a quiet street. It is about a 20 minute walk to the main tourist attraction, the Piazza de Maricoli. It is also just one block over from a main shopping district. The rooms were very clean, well decorated and designed.

We were only there one night and perhaps the best surprise was the breakfast buffet in the morning. We have stayed in alot of hotels around Europe in the last 12 months. Almost all of them offered breakfast, and the Hotel Bologna gets my vote for the best of the best. The fruit was fresh, good selection of breads and pastries, cereals, coffee and teas, and scrambled eggs and bacon. It was wonderful. Almost wish we had extended our stay in Pisa just to have another morning at this hotel.

One other much appreciated benefit if you are driving is off-street parking is available.

If/when we go back to Pisa, we will be staying at the Bologna.

Room Tip: Use a discount web site to book your room (hotelsclick.com) rather than booking directly with the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My friend and I stayed here for one night at both ends of our holiday so that we were close to pisa airport and could relax the night before we flew home. We liked the hotel very much , the room we had was lovely and breakfast was good, the staff were all very sweet and helful. The hotel is close to the main shopping area of Pisa and also very close to walk to the leaning tower, but the icing on the cake is the pick up and drop off to the airport or the train station, so no need to drag your suitcase anywhere, just ring the hotel and they come and pick you up..... great. very happy with this hotel and will certianly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0brien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for sharing your experience here in this forum. We are very happy to see you had a great time with us and that you liked also our shuttle-service. For following readers we would like to specify that shuttle-service is available 7-days/week from 07.00 am until 9 pm. Have a good time and hope to see you soon again. Best regards. Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,679 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,811 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#7 of 68 in Pisa
396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing