We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Scarborough,UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Hotel Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Hotel Bologna is in a quiet sidestreet in Pisa. The hotel offers a good standard of service and cleanliness. The buffet breakfast is a really substantial offering and sets you up for the day ahead exploring Tuscany's many sites. The only thing that I found annoying was that the reception staff made you wait if an Italian guest wanted to speak to them. All in all though i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for nice feedback and for your visit in our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again. Best Regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    1,010
    319
    91
    42
See reviews for
470
1,096
184
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fuengirola, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

I stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights my departure being on the day the Ash problem arose from Iceland, but I was one of the fortunates to find accommodation in a different hotel for the next 10 days as the Bologna Hotel was fully booked.
However, my stay at the Bologna did not go too well really, being a solo traveller, I had booked a single room but the room I was given felt more like a cell as the window had bars and was about 8ft high up so you could not see out and the wardrobe had hanging space for items no more than 45cm long(?).. very weird because even a man's jacket couldn't fit. Anyway, I immediately went back to reception but the best they could offer was a move in the morning, but as I was going on a trip to Florence in the morning I said not to bother. However, the noise from the bakery on the second night was just unbelievable, so much so when I telephoned reception during the night the receptionist could hardly hear me, and I am not kidding! (Funnily enough I did not hear the bakery noise on the first night?) Anyway, on my departure day I did ask the Manager to come and view my room pointing out the problems, ie window/hanging space, and to give him his due he "insisted" I be refunded for one night which I was certainly not expecting as I was merely pointing out the lack of comfort/design? OK that's the complaints part over, now for the good news: I would like to sing their praises for the help and assistance I received from the Reception staff even after moving out of the hotel as they allowed me to use their computer! Overall, I think I was unlucky in the room I was given, probably because it was a single room, but the hotel itself is quite nice for Pisa and the breakfasts are fresh and substantial, and all staff are welcoming and professional, so yes I would recommend this hotel for your stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed here one night before a long journey to our final destination. We were looking for a good quality reasonably priced hotel in a central location, but tucked away from the main tourist sights. The hotel fulfilled these expectations - it is an old 'palazzo' and well-looked after.
We liked the general decor, it is frescoed by a very talented young artist, we liked the staff and the location was perfect, out of the way but near the river and within walking distance of restaurants, bars etc.
Our room appeared nice on arrival and we were happy with it, but it was in a part of the hotel that you had to get to by going outside and there was no lift up some narrow stairs. There was a porter but it took so long that we had to get the luggage ourselves, the staff apologising saying they had had a rush, so one negative point at the beginning. However the main problem with the room was its proximity to a bakery - this was noisy all night and also there was the smell of baking - could be nice but not in the early hours - even with the window shut and the aircon in it was still noisy. So not much sleep. We didn't complain but decided that another time we would ask for a quiter room.
We would go again but we would ask not to be in a noisy room.
It is a lovely hotel and the breakfast is good in a beautifully-decorated room, and the staff are friendly. There is also a good priced hotel minibus to the station and airport. One couple had found a raised, secluded terrace and had taken their breakfast there - a good idea if the weather is nice. The bar is open in the evening, if a little overpriced even for a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your feedback which is important for us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and our staff. We are in close contact with the bakery in order to resolve the noice coming from their site which regards only 2 rooms facing their bakery. We are confident to resolve this matter quickly. We would be very glad to welcome you in future and are at your complete disposal for any further request. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Having spent two weeks in Tuscany and returned home yesterday, we stayed in this hotel on Monday night as were due to fly home from Pisa on Tuesday.

The hotel is ideally located, within ten minute walk of train/bus station. The check in staff were friendly and efficient, the room itself was spotless and very well presented, breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice and good quality.

If in Pisa again for any reason I would book to stay here again without hesitation. I would also happilly recommend to anyone.

If

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Redfella, thanks a lot for your nice review. We are glad to see your enjoyed your time with us. Should you need any assitance for travelling in Tuscany, please don't hesitate to contact us.
Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Just returned from 3 nights at the Hotel Bologna. We were looking for a base to explore Pisa and Florence and it was ideal. Hotel is about 10 minutes walk from the main railway station, about 15 minutes from the Leaning Tower and a 10 minute taxi ride from the airport in an area with shops and bars close by. We tried restaurant Il Nuraghe opposite hotel one evening - their tourist menu at 13 euros was good value. Would also recommend Trattoria San Omobono for great reasonably priced food. Hotel was very clean with a good buffet breakfast and helpful staff. Hotel shuttle is not operational at the moment but there are some nice touches like free bottles of water in the mini bar which were replaced daily. Only snag with room was noisy street outside but there was air conditioning. Florence only an hour away by train but we were glad to be staying in Pisa away from the hordes of tourists. We also went by train to Viareggio on the coast which was less than half an hour's ride. Would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffBluebird53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for chosing our hotel and for your nice feedback.Hope to welcome you again in future. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed at the Bologna in Pisa for two nights on our way to Florence, the service we received was excellent, the reception staff were friendly and efficient and the staff at breakfast in the restaurant were helpful.

The rooms are only only small but clean and well decorated, the shower was efficient and always hot. The little terrace outside was a bonus in a city hotel and a good place to relax with a drink. Breakfast was busy as the restaurant is not very big, so you may have to wait at busy times.The hotel bus provided a good service to the airport, a little pricey, dearer than the taxi, but roomy for all the cases and the driver was friendly and helpful.

Twenty minute walk to the leaning tower, but only 10 minutes to the main shopping area with cafes and bars, near the river for an evening stroll.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LincolnshireBetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Valued Guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback and for staying in our hotel. Our management and staff follow this forum every day and it's surely a perfect motivation to see that our work produces propositive results. Should you travel back to Pisa we are your complete disposal. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
246 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

This was simply one of the best hotel experiences we have had for many years !
In my opinion this has some of the best staff I have met in the hotel industry (these comments are from someone who travels regularly and not free with accolades !)
Hotel is well situated to the airport (use the shuttle ,12 Euros well spent)
Many restaurants are close to walk to ,In fact Pisa is a small city ,So everything is walkable.
Hotel is clean ,rooms a good size ,breakfast adequate and all for a good price.
When next staying in Pisa ,this will be our choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceilings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing