We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Great hotel whit beautiful rooms and vere good service. I paid 45 euros for a dubbleroom/night whit brekfast and that vas a VERY good price. The hotel was beautiful and romantic. The staff spoke english and were very helpful whit tips of restaurants and places too visit. I can recommend this hotel if u go to Pisa. Dont think the small town of pisa has a better one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrilleofMarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for your feedback. We are glad to hear you felt good with
us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    998
    316
    90
    42
See reviews for
461
1,084
183
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Wales
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Booked 3 rooms for us & some friends. Not in the nicest of Streets but not far from airport, station or Tower. Rooms were spotless with good bathroom facilities. Lovely selection of items for buffet breakfast, which was included in room rate. Bought drinks from supermarket & sat on terrace b4 going out for dinner. Would highly recommend Hostaria Le Republiche Marinare restaurant which was literally 1 minute walk from hotel & rated as the No. 1 in Pisa!!!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Troylee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are happy to see you enjoyed the relaxing area on our terrace. In summer time it serves also to have breakfast or simply read a book and plan your daytrips. For any further request we are always at you complete disposal. Best regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

we travelled with AandD whose review we endorse (excellent hotel) but warn that there are limitations on wifi access. although this is free, it's range and reliability are quite limited. the theory that it extends to rooms is doubtful
however, the hotel was excellent

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauntlettandhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for your feedback. Wi-Fi internet is absolutely free of charge and works well. Also our management works with Wi-Fi (and not in LAN) in order to have always an eye on funciontality. One repeater (of 20) was defect last week, but already replaced it and every room has Wi-Fi available. Hope to see you again and best regards. - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Our group numbered 22, and without exception we all enjoyed the Hotel Bologna. The rooms were small to medium in size but had everything - and modern and very clean!
Breakfast was superb, there really is something for everyone! Avoid the 9.00 rush if you can and the four willing breakfast room staff will even give you a coffee of your choice!
The reception staff are most helpful - speak lovely English - ordered the taxis to the airport and came outside to ensure we got the correct ones. Don't do what we did and overload the lift - it takes a long time to calm down!
The Hotel is in a one way street so it is easier going to the station (a ten minute walk) or to the airport, than arriving. But overall, this hotel is handy for everything, but just watch your footing on the pavements in Pisa!! We had one day in Pisa, one day in Lucca (funny little platform round the corner at the station) and one full day seeing the Cinque Terre villages by train, boat and walk along Via d'Amore! If you can select a good day for the latter - it will be a day to remember!
Catch the 9.00 express from Pisa to La Spezia then tranfer to the local train, or get up earlier and catch the slower train and save yourself some money!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for nice feedback. It's nice to hear you enjoyed your time in Pisa. Given its central location, our hotel is indeed a good starting-point to discover PIsa and the surounding locations like Luca, Volterra, Firenze and even a day-trip to the cinque terre lasts only 1 hour by train. For any furhter request in future please don't hestiate to contact me. Best regards. - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2010

We've just come back from this "not available at the moment" hotel. The room was clean but very basic. Hotel amenites generally not available - Airport Shuttle - doesn't exist. WiFi - doesn't work. When we asked for room service to make a sandwich, we were told they didn't really do it but the receptionist would go and ask for us. As a special favour, they made us a toastie (which was very nice) and served it in the empty bar. During the whole evening we saw one other couple. The next morning at breakfast - loads of people. The buffet breakfast was really good. If this hotel was rated the same as a Holiday Inn Express I wouldn't have a problem with it but it's NOT 4 STAR. Greatly overpriced. After lugging our case down 2 flights of stairs (no lift either), we were pretty fed up. We also walked from the station as all the literature said the hotel was only 500 metres away - bad mistake on our part - through a not very nice part of town, down unlit streets with multiple roadworks which put us walking down the middle of the road with our case. Next time (but never to this hotel again) we'll take a taxi!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your opinion which is very important for us. Unfortunately the local administration enforced the local hotelliers to madk some administrative ammendments, but we will continue as soon as possibile with the shuttle service. We already changed the Wi-Fi router and internet connection is perfect now. Hope to welcome youa again and sending Best regards. - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

This beautiful hotel is in a style building, located near the center of Pisa, in a quiet, narrow street. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The bathroom is well equipped and breakfast is served buffet style. From the hotel you can easily visit the city on foot, the Tower of course, but also stroll along the Arno River and enjoy the many good restaurants in town.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fralsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Valued guest, thanks a lot for your nice feedback. We are more than happy to know you had a good time with us. Should you have any further request, please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough,UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Hotel Bologna is in a quiet sidestreet in Pisa. The hotel offers a good standard of service and cleanliness. The buffet breakfast is a really substantial offering and sets you up for the day ahead exploring Tuscany's many sites. The only thing that I found annoying was that the reception staff made you wait if an Italian guest wanted to speak to them. All in all though i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lozgaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Dear Guest, thanks a lot for nice feedback and for your visit in our hotel. We hope to welcome you soon again. Best Regards - Luca Gherardi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,576 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Property: Bologna Hotel Pisa
Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini, 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pisa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing