We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Bologna Hotel Pisa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2010

We stayed in a comfort room which was fine and rather big. The bathroom was very small though. We had booked months in advance and got a good rate of 59 euro including breakfast, so booking ahead was a very good decision.

There is a pc with internet in the lobby, plus some couches and a tv.

The breakfast was good and everything was being refilled all the time. There were 2 guys there all the time.

We liked the location, close to the trainstation where we arrived from Florence and close to the center of Pisa as well.

The shuttle service is not yet installed again. There is a legal dispute it seems.
We asked the receptionist to call for a taxi on Sunday morning and the taxi was there within 2 minutes. The price the receptionist quoted was not correct though. They told us between 10 and 12 euro. The meter was at 8,95 and when we got out of the car the driver pushed a button and it was 12.95. Problably someting about being at the airport or luggage.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2011

Valued guest, thanks a lot for your kind feedback. We are happy to see you had a good time with us. Regarding the shuttle-service I hope to come back with (good) news during the first week of january. We would be glad to welcome you soon again, if there is anything we can do for you, don't hesitate to get in touch with us. Best regards - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,585 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2010

Nice hotel in a good location close to main shopping street and not far away from the
Leaning Tower.
Good size room with tea and coffee making facilities.
Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoyoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Valued Guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your positive feedback. We are glad to know you enjoyed your time in Pisa. We now have started to offer every evening tastings of original tuscan products - one more reason to visit the city of miricles again. If there is anything we can do for you in future please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Hotel in quite quiet area within walking distance to train station and historic sites.The rooms our party had were quite spacious and looked out over front of hotel.Breakfast was above average,variety of cold and hot food available. The only problem we had with the hotel was the non existence taxi service that the hotel advertised.On booking in at the hotel we asked about booking it for our return journey as we had early morning flight,before bus and train service started,but were told there was no driver so the service was not available.We were told to come to reception in the morning and they would ring for taxi.We did this and 10 other guests were there too, all waiting to go to the airport.The receptionist said he rang the taxi and non were available.not concerned at all about dozen guests wanting to catch flightsA fellow guest managed to contact a taxi which then ferried us in groups to the airport,which thankfully was quite near. The taxi service was one reason why we booked the hotel so we are quite annoyed it wasnt available and not much help was given by staff either. It somewhat spoiled an enjoyable short trip.This service was still in the hotel literature and website.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seasider67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Dear guest, thanks a lot for your staying in our hotel and for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed our hotel and our breakfast. For the contemporary problems with the shuttle service we deeply regret that the service is not availalbe at the moment due to an unexpected disagreement between the local and national administrative institutions. We advised on all floors and public areas in our hotel about this issue. Our management is working hard and investing quite a lot of time and money to resolve this matter as quick as possible. We are confident that until the beginning of january our shuttles are back on road. Until this time we surely will assist you in reserving public taxi, or you can take the LAM rossa which passes in front of our hotel. Best regards. - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2010

My wife and I went to Italy for the first time to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We selected Hotel Bologna based on good reviews and we had high expectations for our stay there. Our expectations were not only met but in some aspects were exceeded. We were favorably impressed with the hotel from our first night there, and our regard for the facility and staff only grew over the course of our 10 night stay. Our room was beautiful and comfortable, and we enjoyed the view from our window. Those who daily cleaned our room were highly considerate and not at all intrusive and they did an excellent job keeping things bright and clean. The front desk personnel were all highly professional, warmly welcoming, and generously helpful, as were those working in the bar. The breakfast was substantial, with a good selection of fresh and tasty offerings, and the terrace was a charming feature. It was our delight to enjoy the comforts of Hotel Bologna and to come to feel that it was our home and that we were among family there. We hope and we plan to return to Italy, and when we do, we will definitely stay in Hotel Bologna again.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank wmharrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Dear Ipcnorva, thanks a lot for staying with us and for your generous feedback. We are glad to see you felt comfortable with us and would be more than happy to have you as our guests in future. Best regards - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hotel has been a very nice surprise.
It has been recently refurnished with a good taste and it is not expensive at all.
I cannot describe the breakfast because it was not included in the room fare.
All the hotel is very modern and functional and the staff is very friendly and efficient.
Even though not in the real centre of Pisa it is at just 5 minutes walking from Corso Italia the main shopping street of Pisa. Anyway, consider also that Pisa is little enough to visit everything on foot.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Dear Rosario, thanks a lot for staying at our hotel and for your positive review. We are happy to see you enjoyed it. What a pitty you didn't try out our breakfast, it offers a wide range of fresh and genuine products and gives enough energy to have a good start in the morning. If there is anything we can do for you in future, please don't hesitate to contact us. Best regards - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

My 8 year old son and I stayed for one night at the Bologna Hotel. We arrived by car after dark and was offered to have someone park my car in the small courtyard behind the hotel, which I gladly accepted! The room was spotless, yet small, with a small window overlooking the courtyard (with all the parked cars). The bed was comfortable, but it was a bit noisy, from inside the hotel. I couldn't figure out what the noise was...the elevator maybe? The staff was extremely pleasant, offering us advice on getting tickets to climb the Leaning Tower, which was about 15 minutes walking away. Also recommended a good restaurant right around the corner. The breakfast had many choices...pastries, eggs, cereal, fruit, yogurt, toast...very plentiful and fresh.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivingtheGoodLife3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2010

Valued guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for your positive feedback. We would be very glad to welcome you in future. Have a good time - Best regards - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a night and were pleasantly surprised. The staff is friendly and helpful, the location is decent, and the breakfast is fantastic (and free!). The rooms are a bit small, just like a typical European hotel, but they are in good condition. Take advantage of the breakfast and they offer free parking, which was great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammerdroogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca_Gherardi, Owner at Bologna Hotel Pisa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2010

Valued guest, thanks a lot for staying in our hotel and for giving thus as positive feedback. We are happy to see you liked our breakfast. To be transparent and fair with the other users and hopefully future clients I have to rectify your messagge: Protected parking is available inside the hotel area, but we usually charge 10,00 Euros per day. For some reason our reception staff gave you a discount. We hope to welcome you again in Pisa and wish you a good time. Best regards - Luca Gherardi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,836 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,981 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#5 of 68 in Pisa
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bologna Hotel Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bologna Hotel Pisa

Address: Via Giuseppe Mazzini 57, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#3 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £64 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bologna Hotel Pisa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at Hotel Bologna puts you right in the heart of a city that combines the natural beauty of its setting with an atmosphere that remains highly evocative of its medieval heritage. In every room: sat-tv in 4 languages, WiFi internet connection (1 hour free), safety deposit box, mini-bar with free water, hair-drier, adjustable heating, 24/7 room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bologna Hotel Pisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pisa Bologna Hotel
Hotel Bologna Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing