We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean very basic hotel in a great location .Poor value. Would not return.”
Review of Hotel Amalfitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Amalfitana
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 11 October 2013

There's nothing actually wrong with the place. It is clean and functional and very close to centre. But it looks a bit tired and despite location is not good value. But in high season it maybe that it compares well with other offerings.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardw_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is a very basic hotel located very close to the sightseeing area of Pisa and lots of restaurants. Also it is located at a 15 minutes’ drive from Pisa airport. You will get a bed, bathroom, free wireless, airconditioning and an optional breakfast, so a good place to stay for one night. The hotel staff is friendlier and more helpful than I have experienced in several 4 star hotels before. Good job! Everything appeared to be clean as well. The negative? I had a very tough night in a depressing room with almost no sleep at all. There was barely any fresh air and no view at all (window was above a roof and there was a constant smell of cooked food) and lots of mosquitos (there was a mosquito net installed but it was broken so useless). I think that lying on the floor would have been softer than lying on the bed. The TV has a 10 inch display (didn’t even know that they exist that small). The room was also quite dark. I realize I made a big mistake choosing a 2 star hotel, as I am used to 4 star hotels and willing to pay for it. I guess if you are willing to except low standards for a low price then this hotel might be OK given the excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We chose this Hotel on the strength of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location is great, close enough to the railway station to walk, and only a stroll from the Duomo and the Torre Pendente. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. A great choice!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Excellent service, good clean room with well equipped bathroom and great shower. Noisy with windows open but shut with aircon on was no problem. A 5 min walk to the tower complimented this hotel. A super place to sightsee Pisa

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank trigger21655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Hotel Amalfitana is located in the heart of Pisa, just walk distance from Pisa Centrale Train Station.It offers in every room LCD TV and free Wi-FI.To get to the Leaning Tower of Pisa it"s around a few minutes.The staff is very friendly,helpful and they speak a few languages like:English,Polish,Russian and Yugoslavian.
This hotel is small but very cosy and it has a beautiful garden where breakfast can be served.
Definitely we will come back there again.
Polecam Panstwu ten maly,niedrogi hotel o rodzinnej atmosferze i bardzo dogodnym polozeniu niemalze w sercu Pizy.Bardzo ciche,bezpieczne miejsce, wracalysmy pozna noca z wycieczek po Toskanii i spotykalysmy mnostwo mlodziezy, doroslych z ktorymi zawsze mozna bylo porozmawiac i dowiedziec sie wiele ciekawych informacji dotyczacych zwiedzania.Polecam i milego pobytu w uroczej Toskanii.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

As you can tell we thought this hotel was great. The staff were welcoming, helpful and courteous .The room is basic but met all our needs and the Air Conditioning was a blessing. Breakfast was 5 euros and was value for money. The location is superb with the leaning tower just a 5 minute walk away. The train and bus stations are also within easy reach. We didn't book in advance for the leaning tower , we found that by arriving early (8.45 a.m.) we were able get on the 9.00 a.m. slot, The restaurants are varied and all the ones we tried were a delight. We especially liked Trattoria da Cucciolo, a typical Italian restaurant. We also enjoyed the pizza parlour at Piazza Garibaldi, well worth a visit with a friendly service.

Room Tip: No restaurant or swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonandAlison2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Great, reasonably priced hotel in a brilliant location. We had quite a spacious room with high ceilings on the third floor. It was at the front of the hotel but the street is practically pedestrianised so it was quiet. The room was spotless with a good sized bathroom, shower, fresh towels (both small linen and big fluffy ones!). There was fast, free wifi, air con an armchair and a small flat tv. The hotel is in an excellent location in the Centro Storico. A straight, few minutes walk from the tower takes you past the botanic gardens and university faculties to the tower, the cathedral etc. We went for the optional breakfast at 5 euro ahead which we ate under umbrellas in the garden. Bliss! It's a generous continental breakfast with good coffee, warm baguette, fresh croissants, meat, cheese, jams yogurt. The staff were very friendly, patient and helpful and spent lots of time answering everyone's questions. They recommended a great local restaurant Ostario St. Paulo (which is on Via St. Paulo just over the river in the opposite direction of the tower). There was a desk and chair in our room so if you had work / study to do it in pisa it would be a good base from which to do it. They also have coffee and cold drinks for sale downstairs so it would be an excellent place for quiet business meetings!

Room Tip: If you're fussy like me and want a double bed (rather than two single beds pushed together and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#37 of 68 in Pisa
257 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#25 of 68 in Pisa
325 reviews
0.2 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#15 of 68 in Pisa
663 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#52 of 68 in Pisa
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#10 of 68 in Pisa
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amalfitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amalfitana

Address: Via Roma 44, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: £39 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amalfitana 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Amalfitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalfitana Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing