We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best location impossible!!!”
Review of Hotel Francesco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Francesco
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“best location impossible!!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2009

My husband and I stayed for three nights at the hotel Francesco in Pisa during our Italy trip. The location was excelent, less then one minute walk to the famous linning tower, close to many restaurants, pizza places, ice cream shops and souvinier stores. We used the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel and back and we found it very convinient. The room was nice and clean and so was the bathroom. There was a hughe flat screen tv in our room with many channels and free computer with internet to use at the reception. The staff was very friendly, spoke elglish well and gave us some good advise on restaurants and places to go. Definetally is a good value for the price.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliafainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    99
    88
    46
    31
See reviews for
69
136
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

We stayed at the Francesco for two nights and thought it was great. The staff were lovely and it is only a short walk to the major attractions. Our room was huge with an enormous bed. It was clean and although the bathroom was small, it was not a problem. I was pleased that the hotel provided a kettle and coffee/tea in the room and the idea of drinking this out of a plastic cup didn't offend me as much as the sensitive soul in a previous review. There was also a mini-fridge in the room which we used to store water and milk.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sallyfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Unknown
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Room: Stayed in a double room. It was extremely large and very clean. Had a mini bar and television.

Location: A 2 min walk from the leaning tower and close to some GREAT restaurants which are suprisingly cheap considering their close proximity to the tower. The website gives a nice set of directions to walk to the hotel from the station, however if arriving at the station I suggest you take a taxi. All the taxis have meters which save you from being ripped off!!

The hotel has a computer with free internet!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Afrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2008

After arriving from a fabulous 5 nights in a lovely B & B in Florence the disappointment in entering our bedroom for the next 2 nights was immense. Basic, dingy, no pictures on the walls, rickerty furniture and solid bed. We had a kettle in the room and two plastic mugs! The bathroom was shabby and the shower cubicle was tiny and leaked. Only plus to this Hotel is where its located literally 5 minutes walk to the Tower. We took the train out of Pisa on our second day and went to Lucca. Absolutely stunning place and wish we had stayed there (its 30 minutes on the local train). My recommendation would be to stay in Lucca and travel into Pisa for the afternoon.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WorcestershireSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night after a morning flight into Pisa. We arrived at the hotel after a short taxi ride and were able to store our luggage as the room wasn't ready. The receptionist spoke perfect English and was very friendly. She gave us a map of the area before we headed out again.

We walked a few steps up the street and arrived at Piazza dei Miracoli - this is the biggest selling point for the hotel. The location is perfect.

The room was clean and basic although the shower cubicle was very small and leaked water onto the floor. There is a pleasant terrace at the back of the hotel where you can see the famous leaning tower. The hotel doesn't offer breakfast but for 3 euro you can get coffee, juice and a pastry at a cafe across the road. We took a bus to the station as the stop is literally a few metres from the hotel door.

The hotel was fine for a one night stay but I wouldn't really want to stay for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernSoutherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The Hotel Francesco is suitable for a very basic, convenient, one night stay in Pisa, nothing more. The positives were a free, albeit very slow, communal PC internet connection and close proximity to the attractions, which are a couple blocks away. This affords you the opportunity to buy a 5-sight extravaganza pass, taking breaks between meanderings through the cathedral, bapistry, museums and a climb up the Leaning Tower. That is the major redeeming quality of this otherwise spartan accommodation.

However, the Grand Hotel just across the street appeared to be a much more upbeat option, but it likely would have set me back more than the 80 Euros that one evening at the Francesco did. A discounted breakfast across the street at a cafe is another few Euro, but I opted for a walk to the local Pam supermarket, not far past the sights. It was a great place to procure some fruit, nuts, yogurt and water, and it had a bakery if you prefer starting your day with pastries. There was no coffee machine in the room.

Dreary, worn bedspreads and dingy veneer are reminiscent of the rooms inhabited by the down and out in B movies. The bathroom was the smallest I encountered in all of Italy, although the towels were snowy white. The shower''s base was literally about 2 feet square, with swinging plastic doors that consequently leaked water whenever an errant elbow or hip moved them past their ridiculously tight limits. The resultant accumulation of standing water outside the stall didn't flow down the clogged floor drain, rendering the bathroom even less attractive.

One diligent English-speaking ex-pat keeps the place afloat during the day, and her unproficient night clerk replacement is at a loss beyond his native Italian to assist with anything. Be sure to ask your questions during the day.

I thought I had hit the lottery with Room 201, one of the much-touted-in-the-guidebooks rooms with a cathedral-view from a back corner of the terrace. Turns out that the terrace is shared with Room 202 and is likely larger than the rooms' interiors. Hope for friendly neighbors, or the result is a bit awkward. There was a double bed, nightstand and small refrigerator on one wall, and a desk crammed between the entrance and bed. There was insufficient space anywhere inside for a yoga mat.

The air-conditioning was weak, and the hot, humid August weather made this flaw all the more apparent. It was challenging to shower and sleep, two basic components of travel; therefore, I can muster no more than a 2 for this property.

  • Liked — ability to take a rest between seeing the five main sights up the street
  • Disliked — dingy depressing furnishings in cramped room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DC_World_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed one night at the Hotel Francesco during a 3 week trip around Italy and were delighted with our choice due to the hotels fabulous location to the Leaning Tower.

We were lucky to get one of the larger rooms with a shared balcony which had a partial view of the tower if you leaned out far enough. The room also had a safe and good air conditioning unit.

I would definitely recommend the Hotel Francesco if staying in Pisa due its great location and friendly staff. It's impossible to say a bad word about our stay.

  • Liked — Location to Leaning Tower
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireLouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#25 of 68 in Pisa
517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#6 of 68 in Pisa
398 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#19 of 68 in Pisa
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
411 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
728 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francesco

Property: Hotel Francesco
Address: Via Santa Maria 129, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francesco 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Francesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francesco Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing