We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights. The staff were professional, helpful & friendly. My room as on the ground floor & had everytning I needed. It was clean, quiet & the wi-fi worked perfectly in it. There was also a safe in the room & mini-bar which was restocked daily with soft drinks. Breakfast was served in the bar/outside & there was plenty of selection for every taste. The location was great for seeing the sites & handy for several restaurants.

I was apprehensive after seeing some of the recent reviews , but found that for me everything was perfect. I think if you are expectiong 5 star quality such as the Savoy or the one of the larger chains of Hotels then it isn't for you, but it is a charming small Hotel with good standards. Pisa is not a large city , it is small & quirky & I think that of the Hotels available this was one of the better ones , just don't equate 5 star England to 5 star Pisa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suewho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    182
    138
    83
    67
See reviews for
83
385
59
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel, definitely not what we expected. Rooms were small but contained everything you would need. Bathroom was recently installed and was clean and fresh. Pleasant terraced area to the rear. Breakfast choice was excellent and restaurant food was very good. Our room overlooked a very narrow street in front of the hotel and this was quite noisey in the mornings. A room overlooking the back of the hotel would have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 655SusanChambers655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Location is ok, if you want to visit only the Pisa center. But if you can find another hotel then this one it would certainly be better! The hotel is old, small, unpleasant and dirty. The room we had, on the first floor next to the elevator, was what is called the "romantic" room. We don't know what these people mean by romantic, but for us a room with carpets not cleaned in a hundred years, bedlinnen so thin you could see right through, a bed 50 cm from the wall so you had to jump in, a shower without any temperature control(we burnt ourselves) is definetly NOT romantic. Did not had any sleep as it was very noisy, shouting/screaming of drunk people in the streets, so got up at six and had a quick walk to the leaning tower and were back for breakfast at 7.30, waited till 8 but still no bread! We decided to leave, but could not get our car out of the garage as the responsible personel did not arrive yet. We got the garagekey from the very helpful receptionist(he was new, so unspoilt like the rest of the the staff), carried our luggage to the garage and went off leaving behind this wonderfull "romantic" hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvdberre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We're NYers, so real estate priced at hundreds of dollars a square foot is not unusual for us, but at 185 euros, I think this hotel exceeds even New York's ridiculous real estate prices. It was difficult for two of us to unpack our luggage in the room.

The only advantage here is that the hotel is quiet and within a few minutes' walk of the Leaning Tower.

First they tried to convince us that room 308, which had a very large beam intersecting the bathroom mirror, was "romantic." Then we were moved to 206 which at least did not have a beam but had only cold water in the shower and sink. We complained and the front desk said they would raise the temperature so we could have a hot shower! Requests for storing luggage, for taxis, etc., are addressed by three guys who have to decide how to accomplish it, who then ignore and/or forget any previous request from another guest. Any follow-up to the question or complaint is responded to in the same manner until everybody is frustrated, and you feel like you're in a Three Stooges comedy.

The food in the restaurant is good and the service is friendly and efficient, however, we would not stay here again. It feels like the bed and pillows are stuffed with wood shavings (not uncommon in Italy) and, as mentioned previously, it was tough for both of us to get dressed at the same time. We could only open suitcases one at a time. On the plus side, the air conditioning works, the place is clean, and there is an elevator. I should mention that neither my husband nor I are overweight, and are of average height.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Louis XIV would have been happy! Gold trimmed everything, including the doors! Plush furniture, ornate lighting, lots of elaborate trim work and trompe l'oeil painting on the walls, doors and elevator doors! Our room was on the 3rd floor, next to the elevator. We thought the elevator would keep us awake, but it really was the dishwashing room or part of the kitchen on our floor that kept us up. Dishes clanging, carts rolling around and voices yelling. We were pretty tired from our travels and we might have slept through the noise if the bed wasn't hard as a rock. The room was a nice size, Americans should know that there was no hair conditioner or washcloth in the shower. The location of this hotel is terrific for seeing the Duomo, baptisry, tower and camposanto. Very walkable city. The breakfast was nice, a good selection of cerals, yogurts, breads, cold cuts, cheeses and more. The pink fabric draped ceiling in the greenhouse-like cafe was a little much, but it did cut the sun light glare. We tried to connect our iPad to the wifi using the hotel issued login/password, no luck. This seemed to be common in our travels around Italy. When we checked in, the concierge stated we could enjoy a complimentary welcoming drink in the cafe. We were not told this was only for prosecco and were charged for two glasses of wine. We mentioned this as we checked out and the charges were removed, but better communication would have been great. Otherwise, the front desk staff were very helpful with maps, recommendations, information and umbrellas.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor. The noise on the 3rd floor was too much for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My first mistake was to chance a 'prepaid / non refundable discount'. I paid nearly 400 EUR per night and was subsequently offered a room where the bed comprised of two sofas pushed together. There was no functioning air conditioning or wifi as promised. My stay was ruined by having to constantly complain to the staff about the standard of my room. It is however centrally located and if you pay 40 EUR per room per night then it would be about right.

Room Tip: Do not accept room 108 or 208 if you don't enjoy sleeping on Sofa beds. These rooms as well as 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband booked this for us for 3 nights for my 40th birthday. He paid to upgrade to a junior suite. The bed was basically two tatty green velour sofas put together. the air con did not work and the fan did not work in the bathroom. we were moved to the room exactly above ours and it was just the same as the first one. We ended up being moved to a room which was small and did not have a jacuzzi bath which is what we paid for. Once again the air con did not work, so we had to keep the window open which meant I was eaten alive by mosquitos. If I went back to Pisa I would certainly look at another hotel rather than paying extortionate prices for this one which in my opinion is not worth the money. On the upside, the staff were friendly and the breakfast was quite nice. Finally, there is an outside jacuzzi for the use of the hotel guests, however this was not working.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scorgeous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#19 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Property: Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing