We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect too much for the price you pay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Ranked #28 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Auckland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't expect too much for the price you pay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a Junior Suite which doesn't qualify for the term suite but we knew that anyway reading the reviews before we arrived. Service is very good, staff are very genuine. We had dinner at the in house restaurant which although very good was over priced so I would recommend going to the square where the leaning tower is for your dinner. The restaurant is situated in a very nice courtyard where breakfast is also served which is really good too. Scrambled eggs, cold Italian meats both on offer. As like others I would recommend this hotel if you get a good rate which you can do on an advance purchase deal on the hotel's website. Yes the rooms are small but it's clean and comfortable and the Wi-FI works fine and the location is perfect for getting to the Leaning Tower etc. Finally on the third floor there is a delightful sitting room, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrfleetAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    180
    138
    83
    65
See reviews for
83
381
58
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Relais dell'Orologio is in a great location - very close to the Piazza dei Miracoli for the leaning tower and duomo, and also close to the beautiful buildings of the university and old town. Its also in a picturesque old building. Service was good too.

However it is an expensive hotel - we paid €255 for a "romantic" room - so expectations are high, and not quite met. We had a room on the top floor, that was nicely decorated without being amazing. Few slightly less than great features for a hotel of this price - welcome basket (good), but with fruit that was over ripe. Shower with doors that didn't meet in the middle meaning water leaked over the room. Light fitting on one wall with no light, just some cables emerging from the wall.

If you could get a good deal on this hotel I'd recommend it - but only at a reduced rate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonM_and_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were looking forward so much to our stay in Pisa for our thirty years anniversary. Sadly,the Relais dell'Orologio disappointed big time.
We knew the rooms were going to be on the small side but when you cannot even walk around your room and you are unable to open a wardrobe door because the bed is in the way, you begin to wonder.
No decent information about the local area or the hotel was available in the rooms save for a self-congratulatory leaflet telling us that we were privileged to be in one of the very best hotels. The bathroom also had several fixtures hanging off the wall.
Amazingly, there was no hot water until the final morning of the stay. We received no apology or notice - a shrug of the shoulder sufficing to tell us that it was Sunday and that it was difficult to get someone to fix the gas boiler.
The arrogant pricing policy of the hotel was also confirmed when one evening we shared three small glasses of Grappa. There were no prices on display.
At check-out we were presented with a bill for 45 euros for the late night Grappas. They showed us a leaflet of the bar prices and the grappa was priced at 14 euros. (They couldn't even add correctly and the very same Grappa was on sale at the airport for 33 euros a bottle!). That is an immoral mark-up by any standard.
However, when I questioned the bill and was told 'sorry but I am not responsible for the prices', I reminded them that we had not had a hot shower for three days. They quickly waived the drinks bill.
We were then asked to pay the local tax (fair enough) which came to 8 euros. They had no change from from a ten euro note and happily kept the remainder.
Breakfast was included for our booking but beware if it isn't for. It costs 25 euros per person. Again, ridiculously expensive for a breakfast that is just average.
The cost hidden on the back of the wardrobe for this hotel room is 400 a night. If you ever pay this you have more money than sense.
Dell'Orologio seems to be living in a time warp. Italy needs our money and I am usually very happy to provide a tiny amount to a country I love and visit regularly. Expedia need to have a look at this place particularly as it appears in the book of best small luxury hotels of the World. Try comparing, for example, with the Design Internacionale Hotel in Lisbon. No contest!
Oh well - here's to the next thirty!

Room Tip: Comments already made.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swansongted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

I stayed at this Hotel for 4 nights. The staff were professional, helpful & friendly. My room as on the ground floor & had everytning I needed. It was clean, quiet & the wi-fi worked perfectly in it. There was also a safe in the room & mini-bar which was restocked daily with soft drinks. Breakfast was served in the bar/outside & there was plenty of selection for every taste. The location was great for seeing the sites & handy for several restaurants.

I was apprehensive after seeing some of the recent reviews , but found that for me everything was perfect. I think if you are expectiong 5 star quality such as the Savoy or the one of the larger chains of Hotels then it isn't for you, but it is a charming small Hotel with good standards. Pisa is not a large city , it is small & quirky & I think that of the Hotels available this was one of the better ones , just don't equate 5 star England to 5 star Pisa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suewho50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed two nights in this hotel, definitely not what we expected. Rooms were small but contained everything you would need. Bathroom was recently installed and was clean and fresh. Pleasant terraced area to the rear. Breakfast choice was excellent and restaurant food was very good. Our room overlooked a very narrow street in front of the hotel and this was quite noisey in the mornings. A room overlooking the back of the hotel would have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 655SusanChambers655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Location is ok, if you want to visit only the Pisa center. But if you can find another hotel then this one it would certainly be better! The hotel is old, small, unpleasant and dirty. The room we had, on the first floor next to the elevator, was what is called the "romantic" room. We don't know what these people mean by romantic, but for us a room with carpets not cleaned in a hundred years, bedlinnen so thin you could see right through, a bed 50 cm from the wall so you had to jump in, a shower without any temperature control(we burnt ourselves) is definetly NOT romantic. Did not had any sleep as it was very noisy, shouting/screaming of drunk people in the streets, so got up at six and had a quick walk to the leaning tower and were back for breakfast at 7.30, waited till 8 but still no bread! We decided to leave, but could not get our car out of the garage as the responsible personel did not arrive yet. We got the garagekey from the very helpful receptionist(he was new, so unspoilt like the rest of the the staff), carried our luggage to the garage and went off leaving behind this wonderfull "romantic" hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lvdberre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We're NYers, so real estate priced at hundreds of dollars a square foot is not unusual for us, but at 185 euros, I think this hotel exceeds even New York's ridiculous real estate prices. It was difficult for two of us to unpack our luggage in the room.

The only advantage here is that the hotel is quiet and within a few minutes' walk of the Leaning Tower.

First they tried to convince us that room 308, which had a very large beam intersecting the bathroom mirror, was "romantic." Then we were moved to 206 which at least did not have a beam but had only cold water in the shower and sink. We complained and the front desk said they would raise the temperature so we could have a hot shower! Requests for storing luggage, for taxis, etc., are addressed by three guys who have to decide how to accomplish it, who then ignore and/or forget any previous request from another guest. Any follow-up to the question or complaint is responded to in the same manner until everybody is frustrated, and you feel like you're in a Three Stooges comedy.

The food in the restaurant is good and the service is friendly and efficient, however, we would not stay here again. It feels like the bed and pillows are stuffed with wood shavings (not uncommon in Italy) and, as mentioned previously, it was tough for both of us to get dressed at the same time. We could only open suitcases one at a time. On the plus side, the air conditioning works, the place is clean, and there is an elevator. I should mention that neither my husband nor I are overweight, and are of average height.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 308.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkCityStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#20 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Property: Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing