We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, quiet character property, very near tourist attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Small, quiet character property, very near tourist attractions”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A small character hotel with circa 20 bedrooms rooms set within five minute walk of main tourist attractions. Service is very good and the hotel has a pleasant garden at the back and living room on the top floor with good views of the city. The hotel is homely but rooms are small, though do have character. The hotel is quiet but noise can carry in the early hours from neighbouring rooms. Breakfast is very good with even wine on offer but hot food is limited to bacon and scrambled egg.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gentlemanoftheslopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelRelaisd, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Relais dell'Orologio, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Pisa and thank you for your recent visit and your review on TripAdvior.
We are glad to see you appreciate the property and thank you for your comments and suggestions.

Every opinion of our Guests is important for us and we will try to arrive to the higher level of expectations. I was delighted to read you enjoyed our terrace/garden and the service at breakfast.I was sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations with our rooms. Naturally the Relais is an old CasaTorre of the 13th century and we have not the possibility to enlarge the spaces.

However, I do hope to have the chance to welcome you again at the Relais dell'Orologio and please consider me at your disposal.

Best regards.

Carlo Soldani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    182
    138
    83
    67
See reviews for
83
385
59
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is in the old part of town so it is very historical which comes with advantages and of course some disadvantages. Rooms are small and were very warm, we come from Australia so we are used to heat but these rooms were stuffy. Bathroom good, small shower with only 2 of the 4 lights working but for such an old building the wiring must be difficult to repair. Hotel proudly says it has wireless internet in the rooms but we found wireless was only accessible in the hotel lobby or restaurant - no room access. Probably the best of a not so good choice of hotels in an ancient town. Close to leaning tower of Pisa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Indeed, so why only a rating of 3.
For several reasons. Compared to some top hotels I've been to, I cannot give more. I've been in several hotels in Pisa and the Relais dell'Orologio remains still the best one. The style is ancient Tuscan villa style and gives you the feeling you are in something special. Nevertheless, the rooms are basic but very clean. The bathroom is minimal toilet, shower and little tub in one square meter. The door of the shower doesn't shut completely wetting the floor all over. (And this is the case in almost all rooms. As I've been there many times, I have done most of the rooms).
Breakfast is traditional Italian, meaning the choice is quite limited. One has the Tuscan ham and salami, 2 or 3 choices of chees, jam, some choice of bread, scrumbled eggs, youghurt and some sweet stuff. When the weather is fine, you can have your breakfast outside but when it is raining you have to fight for a table inside. Sometimes sharing a table with another couple.
Wifi is not working well as others have mentioned.
Staff has always been very helpfull. Only when at checkout it when there is a large group, it can get out of hand.
Nevertheless I can recommend the Realais as the others that I tried were not up to their level.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Relais dell'Oroglio last week for 5 nights whilst travelling around Tuscany. I have to admit I was concerned after booking and reading the negative reviews on here but I can honestly say we had the most enjoyable stay and didn't experience any of the complaints that other reviewers had left. The staff we amazing, so friendly and helpful and really couldn't do enough to help us with travel arrangements etc (and our Italian!). The hotel Director was around the hotel everyday and at all times of the day and evening making sure everything ran smoothly and the hotel was kept immaculate. The breakfast was lovely, fresh and plentiful every day. We had room 310 on the top floor of the hotel overlooking the garden with a juliet balcony (plenty of fresh air). The room was cleaned immaculately everyday. The wi-fi worked (although was a little slow after a storm one night) but the hotel is so old and the walls are so thick you wouldn't expect a mega fast speed (we know this from living in an old victorian house) but it wasn't a major concern to us. The hotel's location is great for everything in Pisa - train station 10-12 minute walk away, Leaning Tower only 5 mins and shop 5 mins away. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the garden and have juliet balconies with shutters. Nice wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221Sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Pisa is a tiny place granted. lots of history and old buildings, ok. hotel is definitely not 5 stars and patrons should be made aware. wifi does not exists or works. breakfast is kept to a bare minimum. staff at reception look at you when they have the time. i asked the concierge to book me a table at a local osteria. he never did and never told me. we got there and bounced back! by mistake we went into another one just opposite and we ate deliciously. still...not good.

Room Tip: Try upgrading to larger rooms. forget wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is situated only about 5 mins walk to the leaning tower. However, it doesnt fit the 5 star hotel as it has posted in website and right on their front door. The room needs some update and maintain, we had a few light bulbs that was out in our room. The light by the entrance wasnt able to turn off at night. The good things about this place is the location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Courtney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I had really high hopes for this place, given the 5 stars, but unfortunately it didn't live up to them. It's fine, but more 3 star than 5 star, and definitely not as impressive as any of the other hotels we stayed on on this trip. The whole place just smacks of indifference, particularly after experience we had in Florence and Siena - possibly even decay. The shelf in the shower was out of shape so it was useless, the basin in the bathroom was clearly blocked, the lift made a lot of random beeping noises like it was in the middle of a never-ending alarm call, front desk were in no rush to tell us our taxi had arrived, and there was little interest in fixing the wifi that wasn't working - the guy on the front desk was almost on autopilot and just told us "if you get a weak signal, go to the third floor". I don't think it's unreasonable to expect a little more care in a 5 star establishment. That said, the chap in the bar looking after breakfast and welcome drinks was very nice, and seemed to care a lot more about his work.

I can't complain too much because it wasn't particularly expensive, but our stay was pretty average - and made worse by the fact that if your room opens out on to the street, you will be woken up by drunk Pisani at 3am...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.0 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Duomo
Grand Hotel Duomo
#19 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Relais dell'Orologio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Relais dell'Orologio

Property: Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
Address: Via della Faggiola, 12-14, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Relais dell'Orologio 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located really close to the leaning Tower of Pisa, the age-old Relais dell’Orologio is the ideal place to visit the City, its monuments, the University, its museums, its squares, its markets, its shops, its artisan workshops by foot and to move about its province towards Lucca and Versilia. For a romantic getaway, for a honeymoon, to experience art, culture and the humanity of the place, in other words to appreciate Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Relais dell'Orologio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Relais Dell Orologio
Relais Dell Orologio Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing