We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent base.”
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Pace
Ranked #12 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 13 June 2013

As four friends, we wanted a clean and relatively cheap place to stay for our short break in Pisa. One friend had already stayed at the hotel twice before and recommended the excellent breakfast and general cleanliness of the hotel.
We were not disappointed. The standard of cleanliness was high with clean sheets and towels every day and no dust or cobwebs lurking anywhere.
The range of things on offer at breakfast was wide, with lovely fresh melon and pineapple, bacon and sausages, pastries and delicious seeded breads etc. The hot drinks machine was easy to use and gave a good selection of teas and coffees.
The only problem was the bed - I have never slept on such a hard bed that left me stiff and aching every morning!
The staff were really friendly and helpful and went out of their way to give us train timetables etc. The railway station is very close and we visited Viareggio, Lucca and Florence with very reasonably priced train fares.
The walk into Pisa and the Duomo from the hotel is easy and the shops on the way are very interesting. The buzz of Pisa on Saturday night was fabulous yet it felt very safe.
Do not be put off by the old fashioned decor at the hotel- it is a good place to stay. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I would choose the top floor with a view of the airport if I returned. Looking at a wall in the cou...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

438 - 444 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

For what you pay good value for money. Very close to station and the sites. There was a lot of noise at night and our room 420 close to the lift which also made a lot of noise. Very good breakfast staff friendly.

Room Tip: Not near the lift
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desormeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The decor is old and the rooms and facilities are basic, but they're clean. The staff are friendly. The hotel is cheap and handy for the train station (and from there the airport) as well as to the centre of Pisa and of course the tower. That said, it's not a huge city.

The breakfast is very nice and there's a pleasant and friendly bar. The lobby is cool and has comfortable chairs. There is a locked cupboard to leave luggage if you need it. They also sell postcards, calendars etc. Oh, and the hotel staff will give you a map and mark a couple of recommendations for cafes and so on, if you ask them. They'll even tell you which places to avoid because of high prices. Very helpful.

All in all I'd stay again, but if it was a long trip I'd probably choose somewhere a bit more comfortable.

Room Tip: I've heard you should ask for a room on the first or second floor (I got one on the second) beca...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Last refurbished decades ago and showing it.
Clean but very tired. We could hear the actual conversation the people next door were having. The decor in the room was out of the 1970's, not in a cool way. The bathroom was so small I couldn't wash my legs or back in the shower. I couldn't bend down or turn round it was so small. Service was fine, breakfast was ok and staff generally helpful and friendly. Location by station was good for us but it's not for every tourist. All in all, wouldn't return and struggle to believe this is recommended as one of the top hotels in Pisa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazandselima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We decided on Hotel LaPace for 2 reasons: (1) much lower cost than another recommended Pisa hotel and (2) ease of getting to/from the airport with 2 crated bicycles to transport. Number 2 turned out to be a non-issue, as we learned that we could store the bicycles (for a fee) at the "lost luggage" area near the Information Desk at the airport, so we never needed to bring them to the hotel. In any event, this hotel was a great choice in all respects.

We almost missed the hotel because of its location inside a little mall area, just a couple minutes' walk from Pisa Centrale train station. By the way one can take the train to or from the airport in about 5 minutes for less than 2 Euros.

Having found the slightly hidden hotel entrance, we came to really like the location and the facilities. Our room was large, quite in need of a facelift, but clean and functional in every way. The free Wi-Fi was a bit different than other places in terms of how to connect, but the staff patiently walked both my wife and me through the connect procedure.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a very large selection of hot and cold items, and machine made coffee drinks (cappuccino was not bad at all). The breakfast area is also the hotel bar by night, and it appeared from signs we saw that the bar offers a good variety of at least appetizer food.

The walk to the Leaning Tower was 20-25 minutes and seemed quite safe day or night. We found a nice restaurant with sidewalk patio seating in the large piazza just a block or so from the hotel, and there are many such places as near or as far from the hotel as one cares to venture.

Expedia goofed somehow in the booking process, as the room did get billed up front to my credit card even though we requested the "pay in Euros upon arrival" option. As luck had it, we believe we got a better exchange rate by making the payment up front, so no real problem there.

I would use this hotel again without hesitation as a practical and cost effective lodging in Pisa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerjff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

The hotel feels like an old fashioned Italian place, good location close to the station with a great sized clean room. We arrived early but were given our room straight away. After a good nights sleep we were greeted with an excellent breakfast with a large selection of hot & cold food. The Wi-Fi was free if you gave a 3rd party access to your social networking connections, else you were charged.
Like others we found the place hard to find but if you come straight out of the station keep on the left hand side of the road (cross once after the station roundabout) and look down the first arcade you come upon, if you cross the road again you've gone too far.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1FlyingKiwi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

we were worried about turning up at the airport after 2300 and being able to check in so chose this hotel which has 24 hour check in. We liked it. Booked on the Friday to arrive Saturday so most probably paid over the odds but had a nice if dated room with welcome gift of wine plus fruit. Breakfast is excellent, reception helpful. Only downside would be shower was too hot and we couldn't control heat but we didn't report it so our own fault. For what we wanted very central location and would stay there again. If you go take the bus to the coast, we had an excellent day, there's more to Pisa than the Tower.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizb36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,884 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Address: Galleria Antonio Gramsci B 14, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pisa
#6 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £32 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La pace is a family run Hotellocated just in front of the railway station of "Pisa Centrale" where you can find also the Bus Station.Pisaairport is reachable by taxi, city bus, HotelShuttle Bus in 5 minutes.You can reach teh leaning Tower in 15/20 minutes walking across the city center.We do offer 63 rooms with bathroom, telephone, Tv sat, SKY, air conditioning, heater and FREE wireless internet connection powered by Cisco routers.Our is not aluxury hotel but we try to make your stay unique and memorable with our welcoming staff and our Buffet breakfast served every day from 7 to 10.L'albergo La pace e un Hotel a conduzione familiare, situato davanti alla Stazione ferroviaria di Pisa centrale, dove si trova anche la stazione dei Bus per il centro.L'aeroporto e raggiungibile in taxi, autobus, Navetta dell'Hotel in soli 5 minuti.Camminando non piu di 15/20 minuti e possibile raggiungere Piazza dei Miracoli dove si trova la famosa Torre pendente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di telefono, Tv sat, SKY, aria condizionata, riscaldamento e connessione internet wireless GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pace Pisa
La Pace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing