We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the station”
Review of Hotel La Pace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel La Pace
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in early August in room 526.

We easily found the hotel after getting the shuttle bus from the airport to the station as the hotel is minutes from the station entrance. The actual entrance to the hotel is set in an arcade which during the day contains a few 'characters' to say the least. They are a bit intimidating upon arrival but you kind of start to ignore them the longer you stay!

We found the decor of the hotel a little odd and dated but it did add a degree of charm which made it feel a bit more family owned rather than an out of the box chain hotel. We didn't have the greatest view from our room (a dereleict courtyard of some kind) but that really didn't bother us. The wifi signal was ok in strength but did log you out everytime I took my phone away from the hotel but I guess thats just communal wifi for you.

The staff seem nice and were more than helpful for recommending where to avoid and where to go for eating. The breakfast was pretty outstanding with a huge selection to choose from along with a vast selection of drinks. The old boy with the beard (maybe the owner?) did take a slight dislike to leaving items at breakfast but we found this quite amusing!

The room again was pretty dated in it's decoration but again we only used it as a base so really didn't require more, the air con in our room was not the greatest and did struggle to cool the room to a comfortable temperature.

Pisa is a lovely place and this hotel lets you explore the city at your own pace along with the benefit of being able to explore other parts of Tuscany such as Lucca (which is beautiful!) and Florence using the train.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and to be honest we'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't leave your windows open at night as we got badly bitten by mosquitoes!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,577)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Pace
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

294 - 300 of 1,577 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We picked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and were not disappointed. It was a great value choice. The location, a 5 minute walk from the central train station, was great for connections to other city destinations. And the staff at the desk were exceptionally friendly and helpful with restaurant selections and directions. The main attraction of the Leaning Tower was only a 15 minute walk away. Our room was adequate and clean with a bit of local color. The breakfast was good with a wide selection of hot and cold plates at a reasonable 7€ per person.
The entrance is off the main street in an alley and that setting gave us some initial concerns. However these were immediately dispelled as once inside, the hotel lobby was attractive and functional. We stayed two nights using the hotel as a staging point from our train ride to & from Florence and our flight to & from NYC from the airport in Pisa.

Room Tip: Choose the 7th floor as it offers good views of the city and the tower.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Rich L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here for 8 nights in August because of the Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel is less than 5 minutes away from the station which is why we stayed here.We made day visits to Lucca, Sienna, Viareggio, San Gimignano, Florence and Montecatini all by train.

All the staff are friendly, helpful and have good English. The breakfast buffet offers an excellent selection and we ate in the bar three times in the evening. The choice was limited but reasonably priced.Our bedroom was pleasant with air conditioning and wifi. The hotel is rather old fashioned in style but that gives it charm.The hotel gives you a map of Pisa and a list of restaurants. We tried 4 of them, they were all of a very good standard.
The Learning Tower of Pisa is about 25 minutes pleasant walk away. Pisa is more interesting than it sounds.The airport is reasonably close to the hotel and the hotel will send a shuttle bus to pick you up which we did.
The hotel is situated in a slightly run down area near the station. The entrance to the hotel is down a shabby arcade opposite an internet cafe and men stand outside it but the area appears to be reasonably safe.
My review only confirms what many others had said about this good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Didsbury_Shark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Having been to Pisa before we decided to choose something near the Railway station as we were travelling around by train and didn't want to drag suitcases into town, it fitted the bill perfectly. Rooms were extremely quiet because it was tucked away in a little arcade, plenty of convenience shops nearby for stocking up on water etc. Nice welcome and very helpful staff. Rooms were a good size, extremely clean and very practical. The walk into the centre is about a 20 minute ramble with lots to see en-route. We would definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for something reasonably priced and that has good transport connections.

Room Tip: Breakfast looked very good, but we didn't have it, there were 5 of us and we wanted a less-expen...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravelBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel situated next to the station which has trains going everywhere!
Staff very friendly, speak excellent English and will advise and help you.
Breakfast fantastic! Such a selection and you can have as much as you want. The breakfast really sets you up for the day.
Rooms very comfortable and have air conditioning and wifi.
Short walk to the leaning tower.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TessO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We booked this hotel through a travel agent and although we read the reviews after it was booked we weren't concerned that we had made a bad choice. Location wise the hotel is very handy for the train and bus stations. As is stated in other reviews, it is possibly not the nicest of areas but just across the road is a lovely square. The hotel's facebook page indicates they are refurbishing the rooms, it would appear that our room (125) was still to be done. The room was clean but the bed was very hard and it squeeked. The bathroom had a shower over the bath but the shower screen didn't stop the floor being soaked every time we used the shower. There was only one electric socket in the bedroom and our adapter didnt fit in it so I had to charge my mobile in the bathroom using the socket the hairdryer was plugged into and this only worked when the light was switched on. The view from the window was not pleasant, a grubby unkempt garden that looked like it hadn't been touched for years, we kept the shutter closed ! Breakfast was really good, plenty to choose from and plenty of it. We would stay here again although hopefully in a refurbished room.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel La Pace is close to the central station and contains basic, comfortable rooms for a good price including wi-fi. The hotel isn't in the nicest part of Pisa, but the staff are very friendly and it is only a 30 minute walk to the leaning tower through pedestrianised streets. Luggage storage is also available once you check out which is handy if you plan to travel late in the day. Great value hotel in Pisa.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rc5061991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,885 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Victoria Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Pace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Pace

Address: Galleria Antonio Gramsci B 14, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pisa
#6 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range: £39 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Pace 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La pace is a family run Hotellocated just in front of the railway station of "Pisa Centrale" where you can find also the Bus Station.Pisaairport is reachable by taxi, city bus, HotelShuttle Bus in 5 minutes.You can reach teh leaning Tower in 15/20 minutes walking across the city center.We do offer 63 rooms with bathroom, telephone, Tv sat, SKY, air conditioning, heater and FREE wireless internet connection powered by Cisco routers.Our is not aluxury hotel but we try to make your stay unique and memorable with our welcoming staff and our Buffet breakfast served every day from 7 to 10.L'albergo La pace e un Hotel a conduzione familiare, situato davanti alla Stazione ferroviaria di Pisa centrale, dove si trova anche la stazione dei Bus per il centro.L'aeroporto e raggiungibile in taxi, autobus, Navetta dell'Hotel in soli 5 minuti.Camminando non piu di 15/20 minuti e possibile raggiungere Piazza dei Miracoli dove si trova la famosa Torre pendente.Tutte le camere sono dotate di telefono, Tv sat, SKY, aria condizionata, riscaldamento e connessione internet wireless GRATUITA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel La Pace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pace Pisa
La Pace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing