We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what I was expecting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not quite what I was expecting”
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The hotel is situated in a largely residential/commuter district of Pisa, about 20-30 minutes walk along very busy roads into from the centre. It seems quite a medern building, although a few parts need attention. It's really designed and located for the convenience of the business traveller, or people just passing through for one or two nights, such as airline cabin crew.
Liked:
1. Friendly and helpful staff.
2. Good choice of breakfast.
3. Complimentary chilled water in each room.
4. High standard of cleanliness.

Disliked:
1. Very basic bedrooms.
2. Poor maintenance in the bathroom (Room 211).
3. No wifi access in the bedrooms.
4. No leisure facilities, not even a patio or garden. Would have expected a swimming pool at a 4 star hotel, or at least some sort of terrace/garden or outside area.
5. No guest/visitor information in the individual rooms - means you have to keep asking at reception for basic information, such as what time breakfast is served, etc.

Room Tip: No suggestions about this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moonbase599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    277
    155
    50
    19
See reviews for
131
234
30
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I was at this place with our entire family, the rooms are great and the hotel is very clean. It is in close proximity to the super markets and bus stop. A little pricey, but not surprising. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csrikanth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We spent one night in this hotel after landing late at Pisa airport.
The hotel had plenty of parking.

Check in went smoothly and staff was polite.
The room was large with a US king (UK super king) bed that was clean and comfortable.
There was a tv, desk, chair, sofa in the room.
The bathroom was also clean and spacious.

Our rate included a complimentary breakfast. This was typical Italian, with pastries. Also fruit, yoghurt, cereals, juices were provided. Unfortunately the scrambled eggs in the buffet were cold.

There was free wifi in the lobby area. Would of been nice to have it in the rooms too as this was inconvenient having to go downstairs each time we wanted to check our emails etc.

As we arrived late we just used the hotel to have a convenient location for the next day when we headed off to Tuscany. So we didn’t get a chance to see what else was around.

We would probably stay here again if we were only staying in Pisa for one night as the room, breakfast were all satisfactory and the location was very convenient for setting off in the morning. If we wanted to stay in Pisa longer, we would most likely look for something more central.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italian_kilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It was Ok - but was a a Business Hotel rather than a family hotel and was a bit away from the centre of town

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwidave82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Weeeell. Talk about looks being deceptive. Up we rolled in our car. Mmmmm, looks good. Nice modern(ish) looking hotel. Nice clean public areas. Nice, pleasant receptionist who speaks great English. Free parking. Passports, credit cards, room key...

Then you get to the room. And it reeks of cigarette smoke. I mean reeks. I don't mind smoky pubs but this was just reminiscent of when you'd visit folk and they had yellow-tinged ceilings and walls from all the cigarettes they smoked without ever opening a window.

Back down to reception - I'd like a no-smoking room please. 'But sir, ALL our rooms are non-smoking'. Oh yeah? Well how come mine has an ashtray in it and reeks of cigarette smoke.

Anyway, nothing doing, you're not getting moved, I'll send up the cleaners to spray some stuff about. Which, to be fair, she did. And that worked. For a bit.

Then you notice a light fitting is hanging from the roof on wires. And the paint is bubbling off the wall backing into the bathroom.

And so on and so forth. And it wouldn't be so bad if the room was cheap. But it's not. And then the smoke starts coming through the AC again. I'm convinced there's a bunch of chain-smokers hiding in their air-conditioning unit.

Couldn't wait to leave.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
gig harbor, wa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed in the Hotel Repubblica Marinara our last day in Pisa. We had stayed in a different hotel the previous days-the Repubblica was full and could not accomodate us.
I was immediately unimpressed. The lobby is lovely but our room wasn't ready. The clerk said 1/2 hour and proceeded to forget about us. We inquired 45 minutes later and she was shocked we were still there! The room was just average and had seen lots of wear and tear. The cable T.V. wasn't functioning and the cord had been pulled out of the back. My husband reattached and we had some basic channels. No movies on demand. When I inquired the clerk gave a curt, "No movies, " and hung up on me. We walked across the street and found a basic cafeteria for pizza and salads. Nothing else was around. The hotel restaurant is very pricey-not family friendly. We took a cab to the city center for about $10.00 to have dinner and walk the Piazza one last time. The hotel did a nice job calling a cab in the evening and putting in an order for a cab in the morning at 4:00a.m.
They didn't even ask if we enjoyed our stay. Go to the Hotel Terminus. Close to train and walking distance to everything-and newly redecorated and clean. This is not a four star.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lumac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Communal areas – very welcoming, not a very large bar but lovely coffee.
Restaurant – dined on the first night of our stay, starter of Parma ham was 10/10 and main course of steak was also very good.
Bedrooms – not a 4* in my opinion. Let down by air conditioning (we changed rooms after first night). Rooms did not cool lower than 24C according to thermostat!! Bathroom and bedroom very clean with comfy bed and complimentary bottled water in fridge.

Not sure we would stay at this hotel again as a little too far out of town, but as we only paid approx £90 a night. We were generally happy with our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: front of hotel faces main road. if widows are open - can be noisey. ask for a room at back of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,656 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#6 of 68 in Pisa
1,777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Repubblica Marinara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Repubblica Marinara

Property: Hotel Repubblica Marinara
Address: Via Carlo Matteucci | Angolo Via Romboli, 56124, Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Repubblica Marinara 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Repubblica Marinara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Repubblica Marinara Hotel
Repubblica Marinara Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing