We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and simple”
Review of Hotel Capitol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Capitol
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Capitol for two nights. The location was in walking distance from the train station am the Leaning Tower (both about a 10 minute walk). The lobby was very nice, but the rooms are sparse. It is a three star, but unlike other three stars I have stayed in Europe, it did not have a safe in the room, or refrigerator. It did have a nice hair dryer but the shower was ever so small! There was air conditioning and the bus to the airport was a block away.

A couple of negative notes, the breakfast was very wanting with processed packaged muffins and cakes. The staff spoke little to no English, but I do not mark down for that as I am a guest in their country! The staff was friendly and accommodating when they were at the counter - which wasn't often!

We were grateful that they allowed us to store our luggage and use the lobby as we had a very late flight.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laney1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

Front Desk staff did not speak English, it was very hard to communicate.
Neighborhood did not feel safe, so we tried to cancel the room, but they would not let me.
We decided not to stay anyhow.
Would NOT recommend.

Room Tip: Choose another property, or better yet, make the drive to Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank TPGCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Good hotel if you want to spend a couple of days in Pisa. Very central, just a few minutes walk from the tower. Nice restaurants in the area. The breakfast area is very small, but the hotel has not many rooms anyway.


  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We hadn't heard great reviews about this hotel and were expecting the worst.

The hotel looked pretty shabby form the outside. More like a block of flats. First impressions weren't too bad but after a while we realised that the room was pretty basic to be honest. Our shower was broken and the hair drier also broke too sending electric sparks out. The heating was clunky and we couldn't control it. It was just general heating for the whole building which meant our room was freezing in the evening and boiling in the morning.

Breakfast was not good. Very limited choice, paper plates, tiny room etc.

Only some of the staff spoke English, however they were all really helpful and accommodating, booking taxi's for us and whatnot.

Location wise though, it was great. Just a 10/15 minute walk from the train station, close to the airport and just down the road from the tower. If you're only looking for a basic place to rest your head then it would do.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room as the lift only fits one person and a case and if you have two bags the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_g_2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Marten A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Hotel had good parts - clean rooms (but seemed to have resident midges as i got bitten so much i ended up in pisa accident & emergency dept having antihistamine injections to soothe the huge blisters that resulted!) Staff were v. sympathetic and gave me a plug in insect repellant, but i also heard another guest say they had got bitten overnight too, so dont know if the rooms need fumigating! The walls were also paper thin and got woke up numerous times (i'm a heavy sleeper too) so had to invest in ear plugs! The location is good, the breakfast ok by continental standards, would definately not stop there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snailsnipes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

After trying to decide between three hotels that were around the same price of EURO90/night (Hotel Francesco, Hotel Verdi, and Hotel Capitol), we decided to book our two-night stay at Hotel Capitol because it had a courtyard parking (not on the street and no permit needed since it is right outside the restricted parking zone). We were somewhat pleased with our decision, but if we were not driving, we would not have chosen this hotel.

The room was quite plain, but for a triple room (double bed with a single) it was roomy. The bathroom was clean, but extremely small. The room also has a large closet with a removable key if you wanted a safe (it isn't a safe, but could do the job). The hotel is supposed to have Wifi, but it is an extremely weak signal and we were never able to connect (even in the lobby). The hotel offers breakfast and it was good--non-Italians need to remember that Italian breakfasts are never very extensive. It consists of bread, rolls, yogurt, cereal, pies, apples, juice, water, and a coffee/espresso/cappuccino machine. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and helpful--upon arrival we were given a map and some advice.

The "parking lot" was more of a very small paved backyard. It fit maybe five cars comfortably, and once those spots were filled people parked along the driveway which made getting in/out a hassle. Everyone needed someone to spot the car as it backed along the drive. I would not bring a large car to this hotel. The standard European-size car can do okay, but anything bigger than a mid-size car will have a terrible time.

The location is very good--about a ten-minute walk to the Tower/Church/Baptistry, and it is also close to the piazze and nearby shops. It is in an ideal location for those driving to Pisa because it is just before the restricted car zone where it seems almost impossible to find street parking.

The only truly bad thing about this hotel is the noise. The elevator, busy staff, noisy neighbors, and barking dogs outside made sleep very difficult--at all hours. Both nights (until 11:00 pm) and mornings (6:00 am) there was tremendous amounts of noise. If the hotel addresses this issue, I would probably stay at this hotel again.

Altogether, our stay was good since we simply wanted a hotel to sleep at--no frills. I would suggest to look at other hotels that are just as reasonably priced if you are not driving. If you are driving, I would suggest getting a hotel with parking because it seemed as though the hotels closer to the tower (such as Hotel Francesco) had extremely limited parking which could be solved by a ten-minute walk instead of frantically trying to find a space.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Astor
Hotel Astor
#38 of 68 in Pisa
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#33 of 68 in Pisa
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#24 of 68 in Pisa
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Primavera
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel
Leonardo Hotel
#52 of 68 in Pisa
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capitol

Address: Via Enrico Fermi 13, 56126, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: £38 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Capitol 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing