We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Comfortable and Convenient Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly, Comfortable and Convenient Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of four and used it as a base to tour the city and region. It was a great bonus to be so close to the airport and railway station - and there was also car parking for the car we used to tour the rural areas.

Above all this was a hotel where the welcome was warm and genuine and where the staff went out of their way to be helpful in every way. There is even a great little pizzeria within 200 metres. If there is a drawback it is the very unprepossessing nature of the area - the hotel is a bit of an oasis of elegance in a shabby area.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mewero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dellaspina, Proprietario at Hotel Alessandro della Spina, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mewero,
Thank you for leaving his comment on the TA community.
We hope to have it again as our guest.
King Regard's Pio and Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    405
    83
    17
    11
See reviews for
124
536
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

What a wonderful find this small friendly hotel is! It is beautifully furnished with immaculate spacious rooms. The staff are more than helpful with great English! Brilliant location, just a short walk from the station. The breakfast was lovely and plentiful with loads of choice, something for everyone. I would definately recommend this hotel and intend to return in the future. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: We had room 103 which had a massive sunny balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ange W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
277 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Angela and Pio could not have been more welcoming or helpful. We stayed three nights and enjoyed our time in the hotel.

The location is good - easy for airport and railway station. Terrific if you don't have a car and want to catch the train to Lucca for example.

Rooms are large, clean and very nicely furnished.

Breakfast was equally good.

So why the qualification in the headline. For me the bed was just a little bit hard - but I am picky. With the window open it was a bit noisy, although in the summer with window closed and air-conditioning on the excellent double glazing would solve this. The room was too hot for us until we turned the heating off and opened the windows. Angela and Pio could save themselves money on their heating bills by putting thermostats on the radiators in the hallways.

There is a lovely seating area downstairs where we could sit, have coffee and do our emails. We found the internet connection a bit slow in the bedroom. It was a great place to sit, read and relax with a drink after sight-seeing too.

A good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david-the-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Had an excellent stay at this lovely hotel. All the staff were so friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Hotel room very clean, comfortable and spacious (we were a family of 3). Breakfast was plentiful. Great location, just a 5 minute walk into the main shopping area and a 15-20 minute walk to the tower. We walked to the hotel from the airport which was great, no need to use taxis at all. Near to the station too which is great as you can take a train straight into Florence - which is a must. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed overnight and wanted somewhere near the railway station and airport. It's about 5mins walk from the train and so easy to find. Airport takes 5mins by taxi and cost us E7.50. The hotel inside is so lovely - polished wood, beautiful flowers, nice furniture. The room was similar with brass fittings and an excellent size, the en suite was very large too. We walked to the leaning tower following the directions of the manager and it took us 30 - 45 mins along interesting pedestrian streets. We're not so young either! Fitter people could do it quicker. Breakfast was plentiful (continental) and the couple who manage it were so helpful and friendly - it was a pleasure to stay there! We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JethroDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Clean, spacious and conveniently placed. Note that car parking is not included in the base price, but still cheap enough. Great care has been put in appearance and décor. Breakfast is good but not excessive. Double rooms seem always to have showers, rather than baths.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeOnMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This is a lovely little hotel within walking distance to everything. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, happy to give us tips on places to eat and places to go.

I dont understand the reviews that say the location is unsafe, we walked around at night and never felt unsafe at all. Its a 5 minute walk to the river.

The room we had (103) was spacious and had a lovely balcony. I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,577 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing