We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Level Contributor
249 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Picked the hotel because of location to train station and airport. It is sort of a boutique hotel that occupies the first two floors of the building. We arrived before check-in (14:00) and they let us leave our luggage there while we dropped off the rental car and did a walk about of the city. They have a shuttle service to the airport which is 5 minutes away. The train station is a short walk as well. Located a few blocks from the old city center it is convenient to explore a part of town that most tourists miss. If you head across the river Arno and continue NW you will be at the leaning tower and thousands of tourists. The rooms were typical size for Europe with a modern bath and toiletries. Daily maid service provided fresh towels and other essentials. The staff was very friendly and accomodating including getting my boarding passes printed the night before we left. All the staff spoke English and politely corrected my Italian when needed. The breakfast had a little something for everyone. Although it was repetitive there was enough variety that you could have something different each morning. There was an outdoor courtyard for dining. The total experience was enjoyable and I would return here if visiting Pisa again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcarmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    407
    83
    17
    12
See reviews for
124
541
33
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I felt a little like I was in a Seinfeld episode at this hotel - like the episode with the soup Nazi . . . Don't get me wrong - this hotel is a great property - very nice decor and furnishings. With spacious bathrooms - wow! Close to the train station - but a LONG walk to the Leaning Tower. Nice courtyard with tables and chairs to enjoy the outdoors. WiFi is included with the room - but you had to continually re-log in with a lengthy username and password - which they changed each day. That was annoying. BUT - not as annoying as the water issue!!! Breakfast is included with your room. On our second morning there - the hotel clerk literally told me to stop drinking their water at breakfast - that they had other guests that might like water!!! Initially when I had gotten up to get some water - there was only about half a small juice cup of water left in this plastic water bottle in a bucket of ice. I emptied the bottle and asked if they had more water. The hotel clerk took the bottle hurriedly, went into the back and filled it up from a tap I believe - because the bottle she brought back was not completely full and the lid was not sealed. I didn't mind this - the water tasted refreshing - and so if they refill a plastic bottle to give the illusion of "bottled" water for guests - that is fine with me. So I go back to get more water as I am a morning water drinker - and the clerk confronts me telling me that other guests would like water too - not to drink all the water!!! Wow!!! That was a damper to start my day! Sooooo - nice rooms, nice decor, clean - yes - but courtesy and service were tacky and lacking!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are available on the ground floor so you don't have to deal with stairs unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found the hotel, 400m from the train station great for our quick stop over in Pisa. The staff is absolutely wonderful and could not have been more helpful. They speak excellent English. Our room was large by European standards, very nice bath. Decor may be a little dated, but not worn. Great breakfast spread; they even have some gluten free goodies if you ask. Yes its 25 minutes to the tour but you walk down a pedestrian only shopping street, cross the Arno to another no car street before a short walk to the tour. Very nice walk.

About the area around the hotel. There is a block or two that have the appearance of a less desirable part of town. but as someone who walked all around the neighborhood at night I found it very safe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiarmuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight, prior to flying back to UK & found that this was a comfortable, quiet hotel that was within easy reach of the airport. It was also easy to walk to the shopping areas of Pisa & to find the excellent restaurant recommended by the hotel for a delightful evening meal. The continental breakfast was tasty & generous. Good value & comfort.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Staying two nights after checking TA whilst we look round Pisa having stayed in Florence. Very helpful owners.. Very friendly . Large rooms . Big bathrooms. Continental breakfast.Even lent us an umbrella as it rained as we went to dinner...real benefit being in the centre and so close to the station of Pisa Central

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvana90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel had a very pleasant and kind staff. We booked a standard room with a king size bed they voluntarily upgraded us to a huge junior suite without us even asking!
I have stayed in many European hotel rooms, which are typically small compared to American standards, but this was huge!! The room had its own fireplace, a large desk, automatic electric blinds, a big shower and bidet.
There was free wi-fi all throughout the hotel.
They offered a very nice complimentary breakfast with cappuccino, coffee, juice, bread, pastries, cereal, yogurt and fruit.
The location is walking distance to the airport, train station and tower of Pisa.
I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjsoccer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We used this hotel as a stopover on our way to Cinque Terre, but wished we'd stayed longer. Everything was perfect. The staff, the room, the ambience. Nothing was too much trouble and they were so friendly.
Perfect location, 15mins taxi from airport (7 Euros), short walk from train station. We will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazsmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing