We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Ranked #2 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An oasis of calm in a busy city”
Reviewed 25 June 2009

This proved to be the ideal venue for a seven-night bed and breakfast stay in Pisa, from which we visited various other tourist spots in Tuscany, including Florence, Lucca, Empoli, Siena and Viareggio. The hotel is near the airport (but no noise noticeable from it) and the railway station, from which lines with frequent, cheap, uncrowded trains radiate in every direction. Hence our 5-star rating for location. Had we been visiting Pisa just to see the cathedral (with its leaning bell-tower), we would have rated the location lower, but there is much more to Pisa than its famous tower, which few would have heard of if it didn't lean! We recommend the book "Pisa Itineraries", by Luca Bertini for exploring Pisa on foot - available from the cathedral bookshop and elsewhere.

Before our visit, we were confused by the conflicting reviews of the Galileo Restaurant, which the hotel recommends. We now think that these might be caused by the fact that there are two Galileo establishments under the same management. The restaurant, whose full dinner menu also includes pizzas, is at 6-8 Via San Martino, while the pizzeria is round the corner at 12 Via Silvestri. Both are of high quality and can be approached from Via Giordano Bruno, which is opposite the far end of the "arcade" Galleria Don Luigi Sturzo, diagonally across the main road from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Septuagenarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    411
    85
    17
    12
See reviews for
125
547
34
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2009

We just stayed for the night , on our way to Elba . Very friendly personnel, rooms good standard, some antique furniture ,

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BAT4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2009

A nice enough place for a short stay, but not sure why it's the #1 favorite in Pisa. Located on the corner of a busy commercial street and a quiet residential street, it is handy to the train station and not far from the airport. The duomo and the Leaning Tower are a bit of a hike if you're walking, at least 20 minutes to a half hour. The walk is interesting enough, since it's along the main shopping street, but I would opt for a taxi or a bus next time. The staff is courteous and helpful. I was there only overnight, to see the tower and then catch a flight home the next day. The room was comfortable and had the basic amenities, nothing special, although it was a good size compared to many European hotels. Despite the busy street close by, it was quiet. I would stay here again for an overnight if arriving or departing from Pisa, but if coming to see the sights, I would want something a bit closer to them.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This hotel was a lovely place to catch our breath and beat the initial jet lag.
Pisa wasn't originally on our Italy itinerary, but the airfare was so much cheaper than Florence that we decided to stop here first and see the handful of sights before continuing on our trip. We arrived much earlier than check-in, but were greeted warmly by the front desk gentleman (speaking very good English) and allowed to store our luggage while we went out to see the leaning tower and other sights.
Our room was small, but well appointed and spotlessly clean. Comfy bed, nice crisp fresh linens, classy modern bathroom fixtures and amenities. There is a comfy sitting area off the lobby, next to the charming breakfast room. The buffet breakfast was ample and good quality & selection -- yogurt, fruit, cereal, coffee made to order, juices, breads, and baked sweets. This was a lovely experience, and a very good value. It's also quite close to the train station, which made it exceptionally convenient to continue on to Florence and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2009

Stayed here only for a night, but it was clean spacious and the location was fabulous. Was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Definitely worth the price. Breakfast was great. Overall a wonderful experience

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CBCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We were looking for a place centrally located in Pisa (in walking distance from the tower), with free parking, and reasonably priced. This hotel certainly fit the bill, and we were very pleased with our choice for our 1-day stay. The hotel was nicely adorned and came with a decent "continental-style" breakfast included in the booking price. The bed was comfortable and we were provided with a baby cot for our infant child. If we were to come back to Pisa, we would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cspoe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
482 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2009

We had a one night stay at the Hotel Alessandro della Spina in late March 2009. We arrived by train into Pisa Central and the hotel is about a 5 minute walk away. This was our first trip to Pisa and to Italy.
I had orginally booked into another hotel closer to the railway station was put off by bad reviews concerning people hanging around outside. We felt perfectly safe at the Hotel Alessandro della Spina.
The female receptionist spoke good English - even reminding is to put our clocks forward one hour as the clocks went forward that night for summertime.
We stayed in Room 111 which is next door to reception on the ground floor. There was some minor noise from Reception that could be heard from the room but this didn't last much later than 10pm and we heard nothing the following morning.
Our room was in close proximity to Viale Francesco Bonaini which turned out to quite a busy road. We awoke in the early hours (2-3am) and estimated that about 400 cars per hour (on a Sunday morning) were using the road. It was made worse because we had a window open to cool the room down (we should have turned the radiator off the night before !)
The decor is very nice and we were very impressed by the quality of the furniture.
The selection for breakfast is rather poor - cheese, ham, joghurts and cereal - even when compared to other hotels we have stayed at in Europe that only serve continental style breakfast.
It took us about 20 minutes to walk to the area wheher the Leaning Tower is located and the hotel is about a five minute walk to the main shopping area. It's also possible to walk from the airport to the hotel in about 15 minutes !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeldergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alessandro della Spina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alessandro della Spina

Property: Hotel Alessandro della Spina
Address: Via Alessandro della Spina, 5-7-9, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#4 Business Hotel in Pisa
#5 Family Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alessandro della Spina 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alessandro della Spina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alessandro Della Spina Pisa
Alessandro Della Spina Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing