We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked a quadruple room for a family of four through Easy To Book for a one night stay before we flew home the next morning. It seems either the hotel never got the confirmation or just double booked. Either way our room was not available. To be fair they did their best to accommodate us in two doubles (not connecting or even next to each other) and reduced the rate to something approaching our original deal...not ideal having to have a child each in bed with us in seperate rooms on our last night in Tuscany though.
As for the hotel....looks modern enough and the reception area is ok. The rooms are a little tired to say the least though. One of our rooms (109) had very unreliable air conditioning (took an age to get it to work and then woken up in the middle of the night by loud clanking sound, so turned off)...2 of the 3 electrical sockets were hanging off the wall in a dangerous manner and the private bathroom down the corridor had a leaky toilet and a shower door that fell off with ease. The other bedroom (107) gave off a bad smell....think it was coming from the bathroom but cant be sure.
On the plus side, decent location for airport, station and Duomo/Leaning Tower within resonable walking distance. Staff were friendly enough and the complimentary beer for the mix up was most welcome on a 40 degree day!
In short...I'd book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

My girlfriend and I had an excellent week away in Italy in July & would recommend the Hotel Astor as an ideal place to stay. We spent seven nights there & we were very well looked after. Its location is very close to the town centre & only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants and shops. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in giving advice on where to eat and places to visit & the wifi in the hotel was most helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Astor to anyone looking to stay in Pisa. Many thanks

Matt & Sarah, Belfast

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel was ok. The cleanness should been better both in the sleeping room and at the bath/ shower. Service was ok. We had just little contakt, and that was ok. Just 10 minutes to walk to railway station. It was also easy to walk over the brigde and follow the streat to the tower, ca 10-15 min to walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Anne210455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Comfortable central hotel easy walk from station and pleasant walk to the tower. Staff friendly and english speaking. Restaurants nearby, parking is ok in street.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djpend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed only one night in this hotel and we found it very clean, with a nice bathroom. The room was equipped with mini LCD TV, hair drier, soaps, shower gels, telephone. They accepted out late arrival.
As drawbacks: bad view on the window, no free Wifi.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george2210_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We booked directly through the hotel back in August for a one night stay in October, the booking was confirmed via email.

Upon arrival, the front desk staff told us that there was no room for us as they have got the date wrong (expecting us a day before we were due to arrive). However, the front desk staff was not sounding apologetic at all and was very rude to us, asking us to 'go stay somewhere else', he even had the door open asking us to leave!

I suspect they double booked themselves and was refusing to take any responsibilities. Definitely worst then terrible. BEWARE travellers, book somewhere else as this is a scam!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
7  Thank globe_trotter_20112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sal76s, Direttore at Hotel Astor, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

Even if the book was made in the wrong day,we have placed clients in a hotel (3 stars, same property) at the same price!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This hotel was basic, the stuff was helpful, the location was good- however the rooms were a bit small and weren't tidied that often by the staff. In my opinion, Astor Hotel is alright for travellers who wonder around during the day, however I wouldn't recommend this hotel to people who would go to Pisa to relax and would prefer spending some more time in the hotel. To be honest the prices were quite low in relation to other hotels in this area, so what you give is what you get!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Astra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Pisa
B&B Hotel Pisa
#16 of 68 in Pisa
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#36 of 68 in Pisa
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#13 of 68 in Pisa
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#15 of 68 in Pisa
378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#41 of 68 in Pisa
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 22, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range: £25 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing