We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Astor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Astor
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great choice hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Picked this hotel for its convenience to all of the main attractions of Pisa and easy walking distances. A good choice for a no frills value for money hotel.
Would stay there again!
Great location.
Clean rooms.
Helpful staff

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2paint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    57
    77
    31
    38
See reviews for
49
99
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Pros-
1) Near to train station
2) Cheap

Cons-
1) Internet is not available in rooms. You have to come out in lobby.
2) Mosquitos in room
3) English staff was not available during night. Communication problem.
4) Room was small.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Vikrant U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Unwittingly we arrived in Pisa at a busy time so relied on the Tourist Information Office to find us a room for the night. Having tried the more popular places, they booked us into Hotel Astor, a 2 star hotel not too far from the station. Our room was on the ground floor and both the bedroom and bathroom were very small. Functional but not a problem for one night, but we wouldn't have wanted to stay much longer. The room was clean and quiet. No breakfast is included in the price, but there are plenty of places nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pawl tat-Targa, null, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

I start by saying that we booked this hotel in April for a 3 day stay in september but when we arrived they only booked 1 twin room when we were a group of 10. We had to spend the first night 8 in a room of 4. The next day we were given another 2 twin rooms without a bathroom when we had paid for rooms with bathrooms. The cherry on the cake came when we went to settle the bill because they refused to give us the refund for the rooms we had paid for (which had to have bathrooms). Instead of apologizing for the mistake which was entirely theirs they said that they were doing us a favor by giving us 2 twin rooms. please stay away from this hotel we did not expect luxury because we know that we did not pay for it but at least a bed on which to sleep yes.

Room Tip: do not go to this hotel full stop
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vashti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Milano
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

The place is conveniently situated very close to the old city center, 15 minutes walking from the Tower. Coming by car, you can enter the closed center without being fined by giving the reception your car plate after the check in.
We stood in a 4 beds room with 2 small children. It was simple but well equipped, with a perfect shower, air conditioning and TV. The stay was quiet, nice and completely hassle free.
They have a small bar, where I got (for free) some warm milk in the evening for my 2 years old child. Breakfast is nothing special (croissant, coffee, milk) but very cheap (you pay only what you actually take, we spent 5 € for 3 croissant and 2 coffees. We had a problem with our car in the morning, and the man at reception was helpful and very, very kind (and also very patient and sweet with the tired and getting-nervous children...). Surely this will be my place next time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serez1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Booked a quadruple room for a family of four through Easy To Book for a one night stay before we flew home the next morning. It seems either the hotel never got the confirmation or just double booked. Either way our room was not available. To be fair they did their best to accommodate us in two doubles (not connecting or even next to each other) and reduced the rate to something approaching our original deal...not ideal having to have a child each in bed with us in seperate rooms on our last night in Tuscany though.
As for the hotel....looks modern enough and the reception area is ok. The rooms are a little tired to say the least though. One of our rooms (109) had very unreliable air conditioning (took an age to get it to work and then woken up in the middle of the night by loud clanking sound, so turned off)...2 of the 3 electrical sockets were hanging off the wall in a dangerous manner and the private bathroom down the corridor had a leaky toilet and a shower door that fell off with ease. The other bedroom (107) gave off a bad smell....think it was coming from the bathroom but cant be sure.
On the plus side, decent location for airport, station and Duomo/Leaning Tower within resonable walking distance. Staff were friendly enough and the complimentary beer for the mix up was most welcome on a 40 degree day!
In short...I'd book elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TS68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

My girlfriend and I had an excellent week away in Italy in July & would recommend the Hotel Astor as an ideal place to stay. We spent seven nights there & we were very well looked after. Its location is very close to the town centre & only a couple of minutes walk to all the restaurants and shops. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful in giving advice on where to eat and places to visit & the wifi in the hotel was most helpful too. We would definitely recommend the Hotel Astor to anyone looking to stay in Pisa. Many thanks

Matt & Sarah, Belfast

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#49 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#18 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#40 of 68 in Pisa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#11 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#33 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astor

Property: Hotel Astor
Address: Via Alessandro Manzoni 22, 56125, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astor 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing