We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A bad experience”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We stayed one night at the Grand Hotel Bonanno and it was not grand in any way. The location is quite close to a railway line and as mentioned by other reviewers, you need to walk through an unpleasant underpass to reach the tower and main areas. The hotel is tired and in need of refurbishment. Our main problem was that we had a room at the end of the hotel near to the railway line so had a disturbed night due to the noise of the trains. We ate in the restaurant as we did not want to walk through the underpass late at night. The food was below average and service poor. I cannot see how this is a four star hotel and would highly advise people to stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far away from the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KMLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    273
    605
    354
    101
    41
See reviews for
304
679
42
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed going and coming from Tuscany, arriving and departing from the airport, which was close by. On a whole is was a good stay. The rooms were comfortable and basically quiet. My only real complaint is that the receptionists could have been a bit more personable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papa-Stavros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed one night with my husband. Just wanted to see Pisa tower on our way to Milano. Hotel was nice surprise, room was clean and modern, air-condition was powerful ( important on hot summer). Breakfast was plentiful, bacon, eggs etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kallio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed here on business last summer. In the room the bed was unmade, bathroom filthy and somebodies clothes were still in the wardrobe! I proceeded back to reception and I was given another room, but had to wait for it to be cleaned.

After the bad first impression the rest of my stay was fine. The hotel was exactly what I needed as the rooms were clean and comfortable allowing somewhere to recharge before onward journey. The hotel is located in a good location near to Piazza del Duomo / leaning tower and walkable from the station (although I got a taxi). The breakfast was fine and the receptionist also helpful. Main road/tunnel outside which you have to walk through if you decide to take a stroll to the leaning tower is a bit dodgy with the traffic.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

In arrival - no Porter or offer from the sullen desk clerk to help us with our cases- what sort of 4star hotel is this? The clerk (this was mid-day Monday 23rdJuly if anyone from the hotel reads this). Was most disinterested, waving us vaguely in the direction of the lift. Equally galling is the so called airport transfer which doesn't run until 9.00am for 10 euros, a taxi cost 12.70? 4 stars for what?
Breakfast poor-only regular guests were offered individual coffees, rest of us had to do with stuff out of the urn.
Room tiny with a tiny tv. Garden is a joke. Great views of the railway line, the underpass and the nice car parks.
Avoid. I would not send my worst enemy here. Walking into and out of Pisa ( you cannot drive in because of the ZTL) is only via a graffiti strewn unlit underpass - very daunting for anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pisa hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belfast
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed for one night in July at end of trip to Tuscany. Had booked a family room and was delighted to find out it was actually interconnecting double and twin rooms- great!
Dinner in restaurant was very good though menu was not extensive. Good selection at breakfast. It was a 10-15 min walk to the Leaning Tower.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Pisa town planning has probably not been too kind to the Grande Hotel Bonanno. With a main railway line on one side, a road underpass in front (covered in graffiti) and a housing complex to the rear. However, it is situated in a quite part of Pisa, about a 15 minute walk to the Piazza del Duomo. Our reason for staying was to visit Piazza del Duomo and the Andre Bocelli concert at the Teatro del Silenzio (Theatre of Silence) in Lajatico and for this reason it was ideal - we only using the hotel to sleep in. Breakfast was typical continental fare.

One small niggle - the male members of staff were friendly and helpful but the one female member of staff on reception we encounted was brusque to the point of being rude.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tongham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,708 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#9 of 68 in Pisa
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
752 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Repubblica Marinara
0.4 mi away
Allegroitalia Pisa Tower Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Property: Grand Hotel Bonanno
Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba 17, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing