We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite what we expected.....but the location is good for the tower” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Bonanno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Bonanno
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Northerner who lives in the south
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected.....but the location is good for the tower”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is old and a little worn. However, it met my expectation of a safe walk to Pisa. We were off of a wonderful hotel experience in Rome, so after taking the train from Rome to Pisa it was a bit of a let down. However, for ONE night it was fine. We ate at the hotel out of convenience. We were there May 2013, but I am just catching up with my reviews.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momof2andawife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    565
    319
    87
    37
See reviews for
289
606
38
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great front desk service, room and facilities modern and clean.
Location great for Leaning Tower and other attractions, very good breakfast.
On site free parking and free WiFi in all areas.
Enjoyable stay, would recommend for short stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelique H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great location and friendly staff. We hot two rooms when we booked a family room which was a good. The air conditioning didn't work through the stay. Tried to get if fixed but couldn't for the duration of the stay. Despite the free wifi offer it The air conditioning didn't work through the stay. Despite the free wifi offer it never worked in our rooms.never worked in our rooms. Not a 4star facility in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gimajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Elm, Texas
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Location was good and within walking distance of tower. We paid for a family room so I was expecting 1 room with enough beds for 4 people. Instead we got 2 rooms with an adjoining door. It was nice. Free breakfast was very good and had bacon and eggs which is a rarity in Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

.......... it's not a 4 star hotel. We stayed here for one night on our way back from our trip to Florence.. The bedroom was basic, dated and the shower was adequate. The breakfast was good and the staff very helpful. It's a 20 minute walk to the tower or the old town and don't let the underpass put you off. We stayed on the first floor, overlooking the main road and the traffic noise wasn't evident. Overall, good for one or two nights, but not more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeebeeKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skaun Municipality, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Thought booking at a more expensive hotel would improve the quality of the beds.....Nope.
Rooms were nice and clean, but old. The breakfast was strange....not what you expect from an expensive hotel like this. Lots of ways to improve the quality.....
Whatever you do, don't eat dinner at the restaurant. We tried 3 times, and we didn't get what we ordered, meat was boiled instead of cooked, vegetables were so soft you could eat them through a straw :( .
They do have a nice backyard, but that doesn't help when the hotel is so far away from the city.
Remember to wear good shoes when going to Pisa, the pavements are hard to walk on.....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicaj70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crieff, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Don't let the underpass outside put you off: the location of the hotel, in a quiet suburb, and its helpful staff make it a real 'find' in Pisa.

We were settling into our room at the Grand Hotel Bonanno less than 15 minutes after getting into the taxi at the airport, and even better, less than 20 minutes after that, we were staring up at the amazing Leaning Tower, having strolled into the town from the hotel. We didn't need a taxi again until it was time to head to the airport again four days later.

Breakfast was great (though not the coffee, surprisingly). Despite our room's air-con being rather temperamental, we were nonetheless very pleased with it, as from our little balcony we could see the top of the Baptistry, and even the flag on the top of the tower, so go one floor up, and I reckon you'd have a view of that as well. (Our room was 223).

You also have a train station 5 minutes walk from the front door. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms at the front of the hotel will have Tower views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZenoAktagamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.7 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.0 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#5 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.9 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#10 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Bonanno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Bonanno

Property: Grand Hotel Bonanno
Address: Via Carlo Francesco Gabba 17, 56122, Pisa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#11 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Bonanno 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Grand Hotel Bonanno is just 800 mt from the Leaning Tower and the old town center, strategically placed near the main road of access to the town. The Hotel has 89 rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, Sky TV, minibar, hair dryer and safe.Furthermore the hotel has a free private parking area, perfect for your trip in Tuscany. Monuments, university, railway station, motorway, the Galileo Galilei International Airport, and the Congress Hall are not far away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotelopia so you can book your Grand Hotel Bonanno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa
Hotel Bonanno Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing