We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Olesna, Vysocina, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

This hotel is the right choice if you travel by train or by plain. It is 200 meters to the train station, It is 10 minutes on foot to the airport. If you would like to visit city, it is not problem too, you can reach the leaning tower in 20 minutes.
The hotel was clean with friendly staff. We have the doubleroom with a balcony and a privat bathroom. There was a hairdryer and a tv.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    142
    90
    24
    24
See reviews for
77
146
27
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford,England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

A very acceptable BB family run establishment which met our requirements. Arrived late and in darkness but still an easy 20 mins walk (max) from the airport. Although nothing appeared to be open in the locality we found that on turning left out of the hotel you soon came to a lively Piazza with many bars and food outlets. Stayed only one night prior to visiting family in Italy but still managed to fit in a quick viewing of the Leaning Tower just a pleasant stroll away.

Room Tip: We paid extra and had a bathroom. It was better than expected.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LsaKingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Located 300m NE of train station so a good spot for tired feet. Rooms are basic but clean. Shared a bathroom although some rooms have their own. Do not get a room on the street side.
Some handy eating places near buy. One called Da Filippo makes excellent pizzas.
The hotel does not off much more than a room. Nowhere to sit and relax unless your room
Nothing flash but also not expensive.
And aircon does not work.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N43W16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Both of the staff that I dealt with here were super friendly and helpful. The location is great. Literally 2 minute walk from Pisa Centrale train station. 5 minute walk to Pisas shopping area. 15 minute walk to The Leaning Tower. The room was a bit small, but I didnt go to Pisa to stay in the room the whole time. The room and bed were comfortable. I would stay here again. ...I also highly recommend sampling the little restaurants and coffee bars around the area. Some of the best food and coffee I had on my trip to Europe.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott_H403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this hotel as the late flight into pisa meant we missed the train to florence. Its located near the central station and easy to find, the rooms are fairly basic but comfortable and clean theres also a good continental breakfast thrown in.. Great stop over hotel

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at Hotel Moderno for 1 night at the end of a trip to Tuscany, as a base for exploring Lucca and Pisa. It is in a really good location 1minute from Pisa Centrale station, and very easy to find when getting off the train with luggage. We were greeted with a very warm welcome by a lovely lady (probably in her late 20s, or early 30s, I didnt catch her name) which gave a great first impression. The room was fine, big enough for a night and a clean bathroom, though the bathroom was quite cold with no heated towel rail or heating facilities. The heating in the room also wasn't very strong, and we were quite cold at night with the heating on the highest setting (at the beginning of March). Breakfast was fine, but it was all sweet, so not great for savoury lovers, but it was fine to set us up for a morning of exploring around Pisa. The older lady around the breakfast area at the hotel was also very friendly and always offered a smile. The room had a balcony which we didn't use but I can imagine would be lovely in the height of summer. The hotel was about a 20mins walk to the Leaning Tower and 10mins or so walk to the river, so it's was nice on a warm sunny day which we had, through Corso Italia which had some lovely cafes and restarants. After check out, we left our luggage in their cupboard, and when we came back we were instantly offered to use the WC so we could freshen up, which was a nice touch as we didn't have to ask! We could then walk the 15minute walk to the airport from the hotel, which was very handy and better than spending money on the train. I would stay here again for a brief trip as the staff were so friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

This hotel is excellent value for money. The rooms are comfortable and clean and everything works as it should. I think it's a family run business and the staff are very friendly and helpful. English is spoken. It's about a 15 minute walk from the Tower and the airport and a 5 minute walk to the station if you want to visit Florence or Lucca etc. The self service breakfast is absolutely fine. Very affordable.

Room Tip: No need to get a bus to or from the airport if you have hand luggage only. It realy is that close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pisa hotels
1.0 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#10 of 68 in Pisa
411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#12 of 68 in Pisa
1,548 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#8 of 68 in Pisa
1,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#49 of 68 in Pisa
212 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
2,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Property: Hotel Moderno
Address: Via Filippo Corridoni 103, 56125, Pisa, Italy (Formerly "Albergo Moderno")
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Moderno 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very close to downtown and Business. 110 meters from the train station and terminal bus . 400 m from the convention building , 1 km from the "G.Galilei" Airport. Reception open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Pisa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing